A searchable version of A Record of Shelford Parva by Fanny Wale

A Record of Shelford Parva was written and illustrated by village grandee Fanny Wale in the early 20th century. It was the first dedicated history book about Little Shelford.

The book includes colour and black and white paintings, drawings and photos of Little Shelford in the 19th and early 20th century. A Record of Shelford Parva was never published and the only copy is kept in the Cambridgeshire Archives.

searchable version of A Record of Shelford Parva can be found here.

To read a second version of the book, called A Record of Shelfords Magna and Parva including hand-written notes by Fanny Wale, click here.

A full A-Z index of the book has been created. It mentions former England football captain Arthur Dunn, famous garden designer Lawrence Johnstone and war hero Sid Dockerill.

This copy of Fanny Wale's book came to me from my mother.

The original hand-painted book is in the Cambridge Folk Museum. (it is now in the Cambridgeshire Archive.)
Fanny Wale lived at Studio Cottage for many years,

where she must have written and illustrated this book.

J.B.A.

(J.B. Altham)

INTRODUCTION TO RECORD OF SHELFORD PARVA

The Great Shelford Station on the Great Eastern Railway is only 3 miles south of Cambridge. Its
appearance is old fashioned, and as none of the best buildings of the parish of Shelford can be seen
from the station, passing strangers are apt to suppose that the district around the station is thinly
inhabited, whereas in fact there are several large villages within 3 miles.

This record chiefly describes Shelford Parva, which is I mile distant from Shelford Station; it is written
by Miss Fanny Lucretia Wale, and the illustrations are copies of her own sketches, or of photographs.
Miss Louisa Wale supplied the information and illustrations connected with the Wale family.

Leave the station by the gate to the west and on your left you will see steps going up a bank to the
garden of the Station Tavern which stands back from the road, near the entrance to The Shelford Coal
Company's Yard - whose buildings line the Station road down to the shop of Freestone the Baker,
where the Station Road crosses the high road at right angles. At the right hand corner are a row of
villas standing parallel with the main road - built by Charles Gee Junior in 1892-3 ~ behind them
gardens and a meadow full of flowering shrubs occupy the space up to the station. Opposite the villas
are private houses; the corner one inside a brown wooden paling was built in 1905 by Mr A.E.
Kimpton who was killed in a railway accident in 1906, and beyond, this side of the road is edged with
new houses, villas, and shops, most of which have been built since 1900.

Opposite Kimpton's house is an old Public House called "Rail and Road" and behind it is a large
colony of modem houses built since 1900; one of them is a wooden house from Norway.

Miss Headleys have a school in one house in a field, half way to the river, behind the grove of trees -
and inside the high hedge is a small house called the Woodlands which belonged until the year 1900 to
the Maris family. Next is the entrance gate to house and grounds of F. W. Macawley Esquire behind a
hedge - then come several houses built by Robinson carpenter since 1870, and then Old Cottages,
Pratt's Livery Stables, and tea gardens. Here Station Road merges into High Street.

THE STATION ROAD FORMERLY CALLED WOOLLARD'S LANE

At the corner, where Station Road runs across the Cambridge and London main road, there stands a
Public House called "The Road and Rail", in 1914 it is kept by Whitrnore, who married an Austin. The
signboard is well painted and well framed. The house was built about 15 years after the first train ran
from Shelford to Cambridge, in 1842. That was, of course, considered a wonderful event and all the
inhabitants of the neighbourhood flocked to see the train start and proceed at the terrifying pace of
twelve miles an hour! An old man on crutches considered it an invention of the devil, he was heard to

say, "If we were meant to go so fast, the Lord Almighty would have given us a different kind of

legs."

From "The Road and Rail" towards Shelford Parva, Station Road was then called Woollard's Lane.
Behind the house called the Woodlands (at present inhabited by Dr W.O. Magoris) there was once a
cottage, inhabited in 1842 by a man named Stallion who was the night-watchman; he was hanged upon
the gallows because he set fire to, and destroyed, twelve homesteads in Shelford Magna, in order to get
the reward of fifteen shillings which was given to the first person who gave the alarm of "fire". After
the death of Stallion, this reward was discontinued. The barns being all built of tarred wood and
thatched, a fire-engine could not arrive quickly enough to save them, though one was kept at the
"George and Dragon" Public House in Shelford Magna.

It is interesting to note on the map that a common then extended from Shelford Magna to Cambridge,
and the small farmers fed their cattle on the common and walked to marked every Saturday, only three
miles. In 1914 it is four miles by road round by Trumpington, and a motor bus from Sawston runs to
and from five times a day, return fare eightpence. Small houses are being built all along the Cambridge
and Shelford Roads, and the common is cut up into allotment gardens.

At the west end, Station Road merges into the main road of Shelford Magna. The signpost directing
north to Cambridge, and west to Shelford Parva is at the right hand, corner and on the left corner 

within iron railings is the once British School, now used as a meeting room, and in winter the Shelford
Badminton Club have games there.

Facing us across the main road are a row of cottages called Jubilee Terrace, joining the high white
brick vicarage wall, and opposite on the left are two old Public Houses called "The Swan" and "The
Peacock", and on the right a red brick house with many windows. Behind a low flint wall, next to this,
is a white brick house and then some thatched cottages with doors sunk below the level of the road.

Beyond "The Peacock" are the grounds of a picturesque house called The Grange, whose gardens
stretch right away to the river Granta above the flour mill. The Grange is now occupied by Mrs Carter
Jonas (whose husband died in ), with her son, Owen, and daughter, May. Mr Carter Jonas was
related to Jonas Webb, a distinguished agriculturist, whose statue, which was formerly in the
Cambridge Market Place, may now be seen in the Corn Exchange. The eldest son of Mr and Mrs
Carter Jones, Marshall Jonas Esq., lives in Chaucer Road, Cambridge.

Mr. Carter Jonas bought The Grange from Peter Grain Esq whose family had lived there for several
generations.

The Grain family have many memorial tablets in the Church. Mr Peter Grain died at The Grange in
1898. Mr Corney Grain who was famous as an actor and entertainer, for many years before his death
in 1905, was Mr Peter Grain's nephew.

Written 1914
FW

Under an etching of the Church dedicated to Saint Mary the Virgin in which the tower has fallen down
there follows (information written 1908):

The Chancel Screen was restored and painted by Mr Donald Ramsay, son of the parish doctor, in
........ The Revd. Anerim Lawson was Vicar from 1885 to 1904, he made the churchyard a lovely
garden and placed a new statuette of the Virgin in the old canopy over the south porch.

The National School stands at the north-west corner of the churchyard: it is supported, in 1908, by
voluntary contributions. The present Headmaster is named Charles Smith: he is also the organise and
choir master. The Headmistress, Miss Quarry, has only been here a short time and is about to leave
because the Committee have decided to have a mixed school. A Miss Hinton was Headmistress there
for a number of years and went away in 1901. The infants' Headmistress has also been there for a very
long time: her name is Miss Harrington. Most of the children from Shelford Parva go to the National
School, and nearly all from Shelford Magna, but a few go to the British School: some children come
from Stapleford and several from Newton - two parishes, joining the Shelfords, with populations of
about three or four hundred souls. The population of Shelford Magna in 1908 numbers 1,050 souls +
about 600 in Shelford Parva. The Revd. T. Orpen was Vicar of Shelford Magna from 1905 to 1911.
He built a Vestry on the side of the Tower and gave the parishes an Institute.

The population of the larger parish is very changing. It is really a suburb of Cambridge and every day
new houses and villas are being built. In the smaller parish it is not easy to get building ground for new
houses; but labourers' cottages are sometimes built and more are much wanted. Six new cottages were
built in 1909 at Shelford Parva by the builder W. Marshall- rent 4s. 6d. a week.

Opposite to the School path are new cottages and some old ones with overhanging top storeys. They
are inhabited by people belonging to very old local families: Mr & Mrs Powter (Peter) and Mr & Mrs
Dean, Parker, Scarr, Arnold and Granger. Mr & Mrs William Gall in the brick house.

Arthur Turtlebury has been gardener for the Rectory and churchyard a great many years - he was born
in the Pound Yard at Shelford Parva.

THE GLEBE FARM

There is also a picturesque, reed-thatched house in a garden belonging to Mr Arthur Tress Grain. He
bought it in 1802(?) from Miss Howard; she held it copyhold, and Mr Lawson helped her to free it; Mr
Grain took it in bad condition and restored it to its present comfortable appearance. In 1902 this house
was given to the Parish by the Vicar, the Rev. T. Orpen and in 1908 it was used as a Club for men. It is
there that the fire engine was kept in 1842, and in this same year it was also a Public House called "St
George and the Dragon".

The Public House was kept by Mr Roger Gillingham, son of the Rector of Shelford Parva, who was
then living at the Manor House. Gillingham married a woman of no fortune and so displeased his
father that he disinherited him. There are several descendants of this family still in Shelford Parva
bearing the same name, and "The Wigmore Pedigree" refers to them. Mrs Roger Gillingham was born
a Prior, of Shelford Parva.

The architect, Paul MacAlister, altered and improved Ramsay's house; it is a low rambling house at the
other side of Mill Lane. For many years it was inhabited by Dr John Alien Ramsay who died in 1893
at the age of 84 years. He had a large family of sons, and one daughter, who married her cousin Mr
Elwis of . The garden of this house, with paling and trees, extends to the Turnpike corner.


A good kitchen garden, and tennis courts, are bounded on the east by the Mill Lane, and a meadow to
the south; an old mulberry tree grows at the entrance corner. Dr and Mrs Harvey, nee Jordan, hired the
house in 1912 and left it in 1913 and then came Capt. and Mrs Littledale.

On the opposite side of the road is a block of houses belonging to Mr Lofts of Shelford Parva. These
houses were built in 1738 by Mr Burgess (who also built some houses in Shelford Parva, in "The
Terrace"). He kept a school for small boys, and two or three of the sons of General Sir Charles Wale,
K.C.B., used to be taken to school there by their nursery maid, Dennison Butler. They were conveyed
in an upright wicker basket upon wheels to prevent them from running into the river at the shallow
place near the bridge where the school boys paddle to this day. The garden of the Burgess houses are
bounded by the road, the river and the wall of Gunnell's Farm. This is the Glebe Farm, and it has been
farmed for a long time by a widow named Gunnell; her son married a Miss Headley.

In the three Burgess cottages live Mr & Mrs Turtlebury, he died in 1912. He was horse-keeper at the
Wale farm in Shelford Parva for many years; and next door live Mr Cater, a policeman, with wife and
children; and also Thomas Plumb, gardener to the Rector of Little Shelford.

Mr. Lofts altered the wall of his garden at the Turnpike corner. It was jutting into the road where the
Turnpike gate used to be fastened to it, and narrowed the road. He put it about6 feet back in 1910, for
the convenience of motor cars.

Written 1912

Caption to FW drawing of Turnpike Cottage:

The Turnpike Cottage stood against the paling of Dr Ramsay's garden and across the road. An old
soldier named Howe lived there in 1859. He had only one leg, and wore his red tunic - his duty was to
take toll from every conveyance passing through the gate. There was a tariff board on the cottage, an
artist who had been sketching it went to read the notice and saw that 2 pence were charged for every
Ass drawing. Jonathan Andrews, who was a carter to London, with a team of 4 or more donkeys, he
always lifted some of the donkeys into the wagon to pass through the turnpikes.

This gate and cottage were removed in 1871 when the County Council took over the care of the roads.
In March 1911 the steam roller is crushing granite into the centre of the road instead of flint stones of
the district.

In 1298 a hermit named Lucas lived near the old wooden footbridge. One penny was charged to each
person passing over the bridge.

 

WEST BRIDGE IN SHELFORD PARVA - EAST BRIDGE IN SHELFORD MAGNA

The wall between the bridges bounds the Manor House property, belonging in 1903 to Miss Mary
Walton - on the wall between the bridges there is a black line to mark the boundary of the two
parishes. The triangular meadow is in both parishes. About seventy years ago the boys of both
parishes used to meet and fight at the boundary line - now, in 1903, they all play football and cricket
together and go to the same church school at Shelford Magna. Before the bridges were built part of the
stream of water ran under the west bridge, and turned to the right, along where the road now is, and
turned north at the east bridge as it does now. The ford must have been here - and there was a long
wooden footbridge - under which, tradition says, a hermit used to live, but nobody can tell me much
about him. The Turnpike was near the east bridge. The wall was built in . lames Austin of
Little Shelford helped to build it, and he told me that the foundations had to be eight feet deep in the
river mud - and the road had to be raised above flood level. After that the water all flowed down the
stream past the Manor House until it was dammed up by Pallavicini in 1600 to make a moat round his
house. The owner of the flour mill at Great Shelford found that the dam interfered with his work - so
he made a straight cutting from the perch hole corner to the east bridge - and the greatest quantity of
water since flows that way. In spring after a heavy fall of rain the water rushes down from the Essex
hills too quickly for the river to carry it away, and the Granta overflows all the meadows at Shelford
and right away to Cambridge - there is a system of windmills, down the fens near Ely which pump up
the superfluous water - so that the floods only last about twenty four hours. Mr Charles Gee aged 76
told FLW (in 1900) that he remembered the flood water coming right up the road as far as the church at
Little Shelford, and when a boy he had several times skated from Little Shelford to Great Shelford
church. The spire of Shelford Magna church is seen in the picture - also the roofs of the Glebe Farm.
Written in 1903

PATH TO THE MILL

On passing through the door in the garden wall of Shelford House, you find yourself standing on a
patch of rough grass under fine elm trees, growing in a grove on the left and there is a yew hedge,
bounding a kitchen garden, on the right. Facing you is a grove of fruit trees, through which the little
stream is flowing in a conduit of tiles. The depression of the ground, under the fruit trees, shows that
they have been panted over an old fish pond, and there is an old pump by the side of the pond. We pass
round the far end of the fruit trees, through a grove of elm and plane trees, and find ourselves upon the
river bank. Here we get a charming view of the triangular field and the two bridges, with the spire of
Shelford Magna church in the distance. This branch of the Granta is gradually silting up with mud
made by the fallen leaves. There is a dam made by Pallavicini about 1560 at the Manor House garden
down stream, which holds the water up in dry weather; and the Miller also dams up the water above
this point so that the river is subject to tides, it flows from south to north.

Near here this stream takes a sharp turn, and in the corner is the Perch Hole. It is supposed to be very
deep, and it was here that Archbishop Whately used to throw a casting net to catch real fish, not human
ones, when he was visiting his son-in-law, Charles Brent Wale, who also was very fond of fishing.
Upon the bank are some large elm and chestnut trees upon whose stems are carved the names of
various members of the Wale and Willis families. The banks are here boarded up to prevent the river
from undermining the trees.

KING'S FLOUR MILL AT SHELFORD MAGNA

The Granta stream rises from several sources in the parish of Audley End.

In the Biographical History of Gonville and Caius College, vol. Iv, compiled by John Venn, Sc.D.,
F.R.S., R.S.A., Senior Fellow and President (page 80, paragraph 1614) the history of Great Shelford
water mill, you will find "the College bought for £2,000 from the executors of C. Rogers, the Manor of
Buristead and the King's water mill".

The Manor was held of the King's Manor of East Greenwich "in fealty of free socage, and not in chief
or knight's service". The mill was also held as a fee farm of the Manor of Greenwich by the rent of £6
a year.

(Paragraph 1627): "The College also bought a pasture close adjoining the mill, and another little close
adjoining the mill called Charity's Close, in the year 1614."

This mill was worked by a water wheel and the water was dammed up behind the mill, but now the
corn grinding is done by modern machinery and the workmen are summoned to work by a hooter. The
present miller is named Pearce, he has lived in the picturesque Mill House for a great many years; his
predecessor was named Living, and he had an aviary containing parrots and many other birds in the
charming garden behind the mill.

The above view of King's Mill is taken from the footpath on the Little Shelford bank of the brook
leading to the overflow pool between the two Shelford parishes, where the Granta is banked up above
the mill.

There is a group of cottages opposite the Miller's house; the workmen living there are named Cox,
Churchman, James Jordan, Arthur Jordan; and further down the narrow lane in two new cottages live
Farrington and Young. In the old cottages near the high road live widows Giffard, Hancock, also
Pearson and Rogers.

Mrs Giffard, who was Ester, daughter of R. Elbourn of Shelford Parva, died this year.

In 1870 many fowls, ducks and pigeons were feeding round about the mill and a barking dog lived in a
kennel under the big elm tree.

Written 1914

THE BRIDGES AND WINDINGS OF THE GRANTA TO DURNFORD MILL

The Granta rises at Audley End and flows North to Cambridge.

The overflow from Great Shelford flour mill and the river Granta form the boundary line between
Great and Little Shelford parishes on the east side of the three meadows belonging to Shelford Hall
estate, which extend to Dernford Mill; on the west side they are bounded by a brook of clear water
which rises at Whittlesford. It forms three islands as it passes through the woods and finally joins the
Granta near the waterfall at the end of the island called Cylon, not far from the old summer house at the
end of the Hall park. A cart road over a bridge communicates with a grass field called "The Stone
Diggings" on the other side of the wood where there are larch plantations, and at the south end of the
field is a road for cows who go from the Hall Farm to feed in the second meadow. Pollarded willows
grow all along the banks of the brook, and masses of large blue forget-me-nots, also wild hop vines
twining up the trees, and an echo lives in the tall elms, pheasants also live there, and in all the sunny
corners of the wood there are crowds of sweet blue, red and white violets; a great many cowslips also
grow in a far corner of the meadow near a little ditch whose waters flow across to join the brook.
These waters come from the other side of the Granta passing under it through a tunnel which Thomas
Wale allowed to be made for the accommodation of Thomas King of Dernford Dale in 1796. On the
other side of the little ditch the ground is uneven and gravelly, many cowslips and other wild flowers
grow among maiden-hair grass; here the Cow's Road passes by a bridge over the brook and through a
gate in the hedge into the second meadow; more cowslips grow here and in the marchy corner between
the little ditch and the river there are many king-cups. Further on is another little ditch and the river
across to the brook, and near it a bridge and a gate opening into an arable field which is one of a long
strip of cultivated land filling up the space between the meadows and the Whittlesford Road. There are
larch plantations on this land near the brook; these fields also belong to the Shelford Hall estate.

This illustration shows the many windings of the Granta as it approaches Demford Mill. A Mr Nutter
once owned it, then it was a flour mill and subsequently it was used for making leather by Mr Evans of
Sawston, and now it is deserted and falling into ruins, though the once merry wheel is still in working
condition it is doomed to perpetual silence in its gloomy dank cave, a sad type of so many human lives
which begin with useful energy and end by force of circumstances in premature gloom. This third and
last meadow is very uneven and looks as if gravel pits had been made there in bygone times, probably

 

it was one of "The Common Meadows" of ancient times; it is covered with short grass and many kinds
of wild flowers.

A Senior Wrangler from Cambridge got drowned in this part of the Granta river, he was bathing and
his head became fixed under the stump of a decayed willow beneath the water in the mud.

In the days when mills were worked by water wheels the miller kept the sides of the river well banked
up to raise the level of the water, and thus obtained a good fall upon the wheels, but in 1916 this
storage of water is no longer necessary and the cattle have trodden down the artificial banks to their
natural level.

Behind Dernford Mill are some cottages in one of which lived one of the miller's workmen named
James Brand - Sarah Jennings. They had two sons who lived to manhood, and nine daughters, seven
of whom died young from typhoid fever; his final catastrophe was losing his arm in the machinery
which ground the corn. When he walked into his cottage without an arm his wife cried out, "Oh, what
will become of me and the children," and Brand said to a Me'd, "That hurt me more than anything." A
subscription was raised which provided the poor man with , very good cork arm, but he either could
not, or would not, use it; the only work, therefore, that he could do was leaf-sweeping, and he spent the
rest of his days in the Hall garden and plantations brushing the gravel paths. One day a stranger who
had also lost an arm passed the front gate and entered into conversation with lames Brand, who made
him a present of his beautiful cork arm, but he never heard whether it was a help to the young man.
lames Brand was a tall, handsome man, and he wore a very old and picturesque blue coat; a gentleman
asked him how long he had worn it, and he replied, "I can't remember zactly, but it wore tunned tow-
and-twenty year ago." In those days if an old workman began to wear his Sunday coat on week days
she was called an old gentleman because it was a sign that he could not work any more, therefore his
Sunday coat would last his time.

The usual wages of an agricultural labourer were only eleven shillings a week, and most of the cottages
had only two rooms and a small outhouse with a garden not large enough to grow vegetables in; the
rent of these cottages was one shilling, or one shilling and sixpence a week - in the Shelfords they were
built of sun-dried blocks of white clay and whitewashed and thatched with straw; very few of these
small cottages remain standing in 1916.

The Granta was cleared by German prisoners in 1917.

At the end of this third meadow we come to the boundary of the Wale property, which is a high
blackthorn hedge; but the parish of Shelford Parva extends further and contains part of the Glebe Farm.
A footpath from Stapleford runs by the side of the hedge, due west, and joins the Whittlesford Road by
the side of the stackyard of the farm. The farmhouse is called Frog Ball. At one time it was hidden
from the road by a very high, well-clipt blackthorn hedge.

The names of Gee and Lecester are well remembered in connection with this house.

Opposite the white farmyard gate there is a broad cinder cart road, going south west in the direction of
Newton, which it never reaches.

One of the fields is named "Guadeloupe" in memory of the taking of that West Indian Island from the
French, when General Sir Charles Wale was made a K.C.B.

A little farther along the Whittlesford Road is a milestone marking 49 miles to London, and 6 to
Cambridge, and beyond on the opposite side of the road are the Ley Groves Cottages, built by Hamer
Towgood Esq.

(Written 1912 and 1914)

The people who live in these cottages are:

No. 1 William and Elizabeth Rivett. Their son, Harry, who works on the Meadow's

farm married Edith Pluck, they have one son, George. William and Elizabeth's other children
are Agnes, Alice, May and Willie.

 

George and Charlotte Darley, he also works on Meadow's Farm. Their son

George is married and has six children; another son, Arthur, is married and they have a
daughter, Mary, who is not married.

 

No. 3 Ernest and Sarah Smith Taylor, who also works on Meadow's Farm; they have
four children, William, Reginald, Bert and Olive.

 

NO.4 Robert and Louisa Purkiss, he also works on Meadow's Farm, and their
children are lames, Mary, Julia and lane, who married Albert Harradine.

 

No. 5 Nelson Andrews, who married Alice Teversham; he works on Meadow's Farm

too. She works at the Paper Mill. They have three children, Fred, Roy and Gwendoline.

 

No. 6 Ambrise Godfrey, who married Laura Stickwood; he also working on
Meadow's Farm; their children are Dorothy and Reginald.

No. 7 Bertram Dean, he married

Farm also; they have no children.

,and works on Meadow's

 

No. 8 King Fletcher, he married                                             ; their son, Henry, works on

The road, their daughter, Annie, works at the Mill, and their daughter, Alice, is in London,

 

No.9 George Darley (another one) lives here, he works on the railway, and married

Harriet ; they have six children, Horace, Ernest, Reginald, Evelyn, Gladys and
Baby. In 1914 they all moved to Linton to live; this cottage is now shut up and used as a
store-house for Mrs Towgood.

 

Behind the cottages is a meadow with a grove of trees, and a road going over the stream and river,
which is the south boundary line of Shelford Parva. This road goes to the Paper Mills at Sawston,
which belong to Hamer Towgood Esq., who lives at a house opposite Frog Hall which he calls "The
Sainfoins".

 

On the other side of the bridge over the Granta and near to it stands a row of cottages known as "The
Splash". In one of them lives Mr Pettit who is the eldest brother of a numerous family belonging to
Shelford. Further particulars about this family can be found on page 71 of this Record.

 

THE SAINFOINS

 

The Sainfoins is so called because the trefoil of that name is much cultivated in the fields round about,
the house stands well back from the road and is approached by a densely wooded carriage drive ending
in a gravel sweep at the front door which had a green verandah over it in 1860. That has been
removed, except that part of it which is over the sitting room windows on the south east side to this
day, also there still remain the two ancient Ilex trees in the shady garden where there are two tennis
courts and a croquet lawn. There is also a good walled-in kitchen garden, and several conservatories.
(Wisbey of Stapleford is head gardener, and old Rogers and William Jackson (Senior) and young
George Lewin are also gardeners.) The coach-house and stables are conveniently near the house on the
west side, and the excellent loose-boxes and cow-houses stand further back.

 

Hamer Towgood Esq. bought his estate in 1860 from Colonel R.C. Wale, his carriage with a
handsome pair of horses is a familiar sight to the inhabitants of the surrounding parishes. Mr Towgood
has been well known as a successful exhibitor of horses and cows, his animals have gained many
prizes at the cattle shows. Albert Pettitt was horse-keeper and Mr Meadows managed the Sainfoins
estate and also the Glebe Farm adjoining, he lived in the entrance lodge until the death of Mr Towgood
in January 1914, who is buried at Shelford Magna, near his only son. Then Meadows went to live in
Frog Hall and continued to farm the Glebe, with the help of his wife and two sons, named Arthur and
Ernest.

 

Mrs Towgood was a Miss Chapman from Yorkshire, she is leaving Shelford and will be greatly
missed by all the working people. The paper mills at Sawston belonged to Mr Towgood who has been
a great help to the churches of Sawston, Whittlesford and Shelford. The mills are very well managed
and a great number of people are employed in them from the surrounding villages; it is to be hoped that
they will be kept working by their present owner, Mr S. James Towgood, nephew of the late H.
Towgood Esq. The whole property including the paper mills is valued at £106,49 odd.

The Sainfoins was originally built by a Mr Hensen, who was a Fellow of Sydney College, Cambridge.
He lived there with his mother and sisters, it was then quite a small house; probably Mr Beals bought it
from him for he lived there, and made it larger. Mr Beals lost money in horse-racing, and was obliged
to hide in the kitchen flue for about a week while the bailiffs were about; his manservant, Ansel, fed
him and reported what the bailiffs were doing. (Ansel was of the Terrace in Shelford Parva.) There
was a Mrs Beals, Miss Kate and Master George. In 1812 Mr Beals paid rent for message, building
and land to Charles Wale Esq. A Mr Wrotham also lived in the house after the Beals, then Clares Brent
Wale Esq. who was a barrister lived several years at the Sainfoins. He married Henrietta Whately, a
daughter of Archbishop Whately of Dublin. He was then a Poor Law Guardian of the Chesterton
Union, his five eldest children were born at the Sainfoins, and the youngest and posthumous son,
Frederick, at Clarens in Switzerland.

C.B. Wale Esq. had a fight with poachers and was so badly wounded that he never recovered from this
injury, and in he sold his property to his younger brother, Colonel R.G. Wale, and went t live
in Switzerland where he died, and is also buried there. He left a widow, one son and four daughters.
The elder son, Charles Brent Wale, died of fever in Rome.

The Sainfoins house and land were then let to several people for short periods. Dr Ficklin lived there
for some time; his brother, Major Ficklin, also a bachelor, lodged for a short time in Shelford Parva, at
Rose Cottage, and is buried on the north side of the Church. Dr Ficklin died at Linton in
Cambridgeshire.

The Sainfoins house contains four reception rooms and nine bed and dressing rooms, it stands well
away from the road in its own mature and shady ground. The whole property extends to 16 acres 1
rood and two poles, also one field of arable land containing 10 acres 1 rood 12 poles. This field has
been let form £12.5. O. This property was sold in June 1914 by auctioneers Dilly, Son and Reed, for
two thousand pounds, to A.H. Peart Esq. of Peterhouse, Cambridge, who hired Westfield House from
F. Platt Higgins Esq. who had gone into camp with his regiment. Early in November the improvements
were nearly complete, and fires were lit to dry the building, but at 4 o'clock on the morning of
November 17th a cowman going to his work discovered that the house was on fire. The alarm was
given at once, but it was too late, all the inside woodwork was burned and only the walls remained
standing. The Pearls have restored the house and live there in 1920.

(Written 1912-1914)

THE WHITTLESFORD ROAD (Often called Whitser)

The curves of the Whittlesford Road are beautiful, and it has grass borders on either side and low thick
hedges. The gravel soil dries quickly. There is a small but old Scotch fir standing at the corner of a
lane which branches off at right angles, due west, and passes a small pond, named Bradmere. There are
worn out clay-pits at the end of this lane, and a bridge over a clear stream running north, which joins
the Granta at Hauxton. The road is called Clay Pit Lane.

The meadows on the right of Clay Pit Lane belong to F.M. Platt Higgins Esq. who bought Westfields
House, and grounds, in 1903 from Mrs Smith.

i~B~'yond the Clay Pit Bridge is again Wale property, the arable fields and plantation belts extend as far
as the Obelisk Hill west, and to the Newton Road on the north, and round Westfields house and garden.

JUNCTION OF WHITTLESFORD ROAD AND HIGH STREET

There is a signpost near Westfields where the Whittlesford Road divides into two branches, the one
passing the house is called High Street, and it goes through the most populated part of the village. A
triangular field of grass occupies the space between the roads. There are good oak, ash and elm trees in
it.

The Whittlesford Road branch has a very wide margin of grass, and the Stone Diggings field, also the
cow walk down to the meadows near the Shelford Mill, are on the right  of it. There are broad belts of 
larch and forest trees between the road and the park of Shelford Hall. On the left is a fine avenue of
elms across the field from one road to the other, and the next little field has many pollard elms; the gate
opens exactly opposite the large farm, with thatched barns. This field was anciently called the Maltem
Close. All these fields are bounded by old blackthom hedges, and a new one was planted on the north
side in 1910 to divide the Maltern Close from the gardens, which are hired by the people in the Terrace
Cottages. Up to 1850 this ground was divided into two fields, farmed by Mr Dawson, and called "Card
Gab", bought from Thomas Mitchel.

The land belongs to the Misses Wale and Mrs T. Wood, and the cottages to William Marshall the
builder.

STONE DIGGINGS AND COW WALK

It was in the middle of this field (where larch trees are now growing) that parts of a skeleton were
found, in May 1904. Pharoah-Hacker was digging stones and found it in a sitting position only two
feet below the grass. There were enough bits of skull, teeth and arm bones to be examined, so Doctor
Wherry and Professor McKenny Hughes came from Cambridge to see them, and decided that they
were the remains of a Saxon woman. Beside the bones were two brass shoulder brooches, in good
preservation, a metal buckle, and bits of a rusty instrument, also a number of painted amber beads.
These things have been preserved, but the bones were reburied and the Church Service read over them.

Caption to photograph of Back Lane, Little Shelford (High Street):

War was declared against Germany 16th August 1914. The Navy and Army Roll of Service is on the
notice board at the end of this road near the blacksmith forge.

The corner of a tent behind this hedge is where George Gillingham lived until he died of consumption
in 1915.

This road is called Back Lane for about a quarter of a mile and then it becomes High Street because
there are houses and cottages on either side of it for about another quarter of a mile till it merges into
the Church Street at Blacksmith's corner.

THE RED COTTAGES - KING WiLLIAM CLOSE

On the same side of the road which is known as High Street, and near "The Westfields" is a row of five
cottages, in groups of three, and two together, which were originally built of wood and painted red,
with red tiled roofs; they are now faced with white brick. They belong to Henry Gee, at his death they
were sold to Charles Jennings.

The first cottage has a small garden between it and Westfields, and here lives the widow of an old
soldier, named George Gillingham, with her youngest daughter, Agnes, and a grandson named Freddie.
He is the son of her eldest daughter, who also married a soldier. Another daughter, Susan, married a
gardener, and a son named George is wandering about, and another, Edward, a soldier, came home to
Shelford in 1914 on sick leave. He died in 1915.

Mrs Gillingham is an Irishwoman. George Gillingham met her when he went to Dublin with the
Cambridgeshire Militia during the Crime an War.

The second cottage is inhabited by Joseph Payne, a widower, who has several children in Australia.
The Paynes are one of the oldest families in Shelford Parva. These three cottages have only a yard at
the back, and a high hedge bounding the grass fields, belonging to the Hall Farm which is further on.

In the next two cottages which are larger live, in the first Mr and Mrs Lloyd, with five red-haired
children; Lloyd being cow-keeper to Fordham the farmer: in the second, Mr and Mrs Mead and
children; he is horse-keeper to Litchfield. Both these families come from distant places.

These two cottages belong to Mr Granville Austin and were built by a man named Ryder, who farmed
some land in Little Shelford for many years.

Behind all these cottages are the fields of grass and arable land with belts of trees belonging to the
Misses Wale and Mrs T. Wood, as far as the Obelisk Hill to the west, and there joins on the property of
Harold Hurrell Esq. All along this lane growing in the hedges are fine elm trees, and pollard elms in
the fields, and then comes to garden round the large farm house with a green slat paling along the road
and formerly some tall Irish yews over the gate, which were removed in 1912. The house is of white
brick with a tiled roof, there are plenty of large rooms inside and the farm yard is quite near to the north
west side. There are two large straw-yards surrounded on three sides by six(?) tall black tarred wooden
barns with thatched roofs, the largest barn to the north is used as a stable for a great number of cows
who go to feed in the meadows near Dernford Mill. Beyond the big barn is the stack yard. It is
bounded to the north by another big black barn, hired by the farmer and cattle-dealer Charles Jennings,
with a narrow strip of grass field running as far back as the brook which joins the Granta in Hauxton.
A black slat fence edges the road from the Hall Farm to the residence of Colonel T. Wood, R.A., who
married Miss Mildred Wale in 1908.

There follows a photo captioned:

WESTFIELD, SHELFORD 1915

This photo shows the modem addition to the old house which is covered with creepers. The interior of
the house has been altered and a porch placed over the north entrance door.

The names of the Platt Higgins boys are Dennis, Brian, Patrick, Michael.

This house was probably built by Michael Foster who lived in it for many years. He was connected
with the clever physiologist Sir Michael Foster who built the house called "Nine Wells" at Great
Shelford, and died there in 1870, leaving a son named Michael, an M.D., who is married and has
children.

Mr Foster of Westfields was a non-conformist and objected to paying tithes. He made a charming
garden round his little house and planted thousands of primroses of all colours under the group of
quivering poplar trees on the south side of the house; the Christmas roses also are still luxuriantly

, blooming in the walled-in kitchen garden on the west side of the house, on the south are several
meadows reaching as far as the brook, well shaded with trees of various kinds. There is a half-circle
drive up to the front door on the north end side of the house, with two gates opening into the road, and
the stable yard gate also near them. Inside the yard is stabling for several horses and a cottage for
grooms. Captain and Miss Perrin lived in this cottage. They were Mr Foster's adopted children; he
departed this life in 1870 and then Miss Perrin married a Naval officer named Bonfoy; she became a
widow and died in 1913 without making a will, only expressing in written letters a wish that her
brother should inherit her fortune, but both Captain Perrin and his son were dead, so the daughters
claimed the money. The Italian and English law being in opposition, there was a family dispute which
was finally settled by compromise among the English relations in 1914. Eventually the Westfields
house and grounds were bought by Mr Smith, a haberdasher of Cambridge, who frequently came there
with his wife. He enlarged and improved the house and it was hired by various people for short
periods. Mrs Eglysias (the mother of the landscape artist) with a young son who was a good cricket

player lived there for a few years, and a Mr and Mrs Lomax were there for a short time, also Captain
Reginald and Mrs Hall for a period; during his residence in this house, and another in High Street, he
was a great help to the Little Shelford cricket club which had then, and still has, its cricket pitch in the
park of Little Shelford Hall. Mr Smith (Arthur William) retired to the Little Shelford churchyard in
1901 and his widow put up a handsome marble cross to his memory near the south entrance gate; the
Westfields and grounds were afterwards sold (in 1903) to Platt Higgins Esq., who had married Miss
Humphries. They are sti11living there in 1914 and have four little boys (see above) before they began
to go to public schools. Mr Platt Higgins kept a good many hunters, and his groom was named Dyne;
when the horses were sold he retired from service and established himself as a bootmaker in Great
Shelford and also a Preacher at the Little Shelford congregational chapel. He was succeeded by Sidney
Plumb who also worked in the garden with the old gardener, Morley, who now lives at Stapleford; at
one time he and his wife and family lived in the cottage next to the King William Public House in

Little Shelford. In 1914 he gave up working at Westfields - George Mansfield with 1.F. Eaden Esq.,
who came to live there in 188? With his wife, Margaret, nee Close, their first daughter, Grace, was
born there and the second daughter, Margaret, was born at his father's house in Cambridge. Her
mother died immediately after her birth, and subsequently her father married Isabella Margaret Willis,
and bought King's Farm from her uncle Colonel R.G. Wale and went to live there in , taking
Mansfield with him (George).

(Written 1915)

The Wigmore Pedigree was arranged by Sandcroft Randall Esq. who gave a copy to Miss F.L.W. and
she has copied this portion concerning the Gillingham family.

"Ann Wigmore who was buried at Little Shelford in 1720 was daughter of Gilbert Wigmore Esq., Lord
of the Manor and Patron of the living of Shelford Parva, She married the Revd. Roger Gillingham,
Rector, Lord, Patron, of Shelford Parva of Sidney Sussex College, Cambridge."

Gilbert Gillingham married a Shelford woman named Prior and they had a son named George
Gillingham who married an Irish girl whom he met when he was in Dublin with the Cambridgeshire
Militia during the Crimean War and their children are named 1. George (died 1915) 2. Henry 3. Julia
(=J. Child - Frederick and 3 others) 4. Susan (= Miller) 5. Agnes (Stanley 1. Fortin).

LITTLE SHELFORD HIGH STREET

HALL FARM

The names of the tenant farmers who have lived at this farm from remote times are as follows:

William Clear, "Gentleman" Howard, Marking, Denis, whose cook married John Andrews the brother
of Jonathan Andrews, and her brother was drowned in the ship "London" which turned turtle in the Bay
of Biscay. Miss Dennis was a very nice-looking young woman, and I think there were other young
people they lived at the farm with for several years, and their successor was Mr Wiles, one or two of
whose family were married at All Saints' Church; they are kindly remembered by the inhabitants of
Little Shelford.

Some other tenants hired the farm for short periods but the agricultural depression was making itself
felt in corn-growing districts and at last it was difficult to find a tenant for the Hall Farm, therefore
Colonel Wale was obliged to let his residency in 1885 to some people from Australia named Hallet,
who remained there until they lost most of their fortune in the Australian bank failures.

Colonel Wale and two of his daughters moved into the commodious Farm House bringing with them
the Hall gardener, John Riches, to be bailiff at the farm, and his wife (who was a sister of Stubblefield,
the Newton carpenter, and two (or 712) young children. When the Wales moved into Ivy Cottage, John
Riches and family went to live in Elm Cottage with his father, John Riches senior, who looked after
cows and other animals at the farm. He and his son and daughter-in-law all died at Elm Farm.
(?Cottage), and their tomb-stones are at the east end of the parish church. Their eldest daughter, Cissie
Riches, went to be confidential maid to a widowed lady named Boycott; the second daughter, Annie,
married a ship's steward named Haines, and Nelly and Alice became trained nurses. The eldest son,
George, married a Whitmore of Great Shelford, and went to live in Canada near his younger brother
Charles, who had bought some land and married a Canadian woman.

Jirn Brazier who was hump-backed, and his sister Martha once lived in Elm Cottage, they were the
children of "Old Brazier", who was coachman to General Sir Charles Wale, K.C.B., and since the
Riches family have quitted Little Shelford, Elm Cottage has had several other tenants. Miss Joiner the
sister-in-law of Mrs Ernest Rogers lived there several years, and now it is inhabited by the Larkins,
whose eldest daughter Winnie has married Victor Dickerson who became a soldier in 1915.

The photograph on the next page shows the farm stack-yard, beyond which to the south the fields
extend for about a mile and to the Obelisk Hill on the west, and there are belts of trees and larch
plantations on this land. In the stack yard there is a deep well which was bored deep down to the blue
clay in 1909, the surface soil is sandy-loam, above gravel, and chalk. A wooden hut contains an engine
for pumping up water to the farm and house; it also grinds food for the cattle.

 

In the Maltern Close near the cart gate once stood a big black barn and a house, both burned down
about the year 1851, it belonged to Seward Lofts who had a brewery there, Colonel Wale bought the
field about that time. The Howards and Lofts were connected.

On the eastern side of Maltern Close there is a narrow field with a cart gate opening on to the
Whittlesford Road. There are fine elm trees growing in the hedges, and making an avenue up to the
house and cottage which form two sides of the yard called "King WiIIiam Close" - there are stables
and outhouses on the opposite side which opens into High Street.

The King WiIIiam Public House was hired by Hudson, the brewer, until 19lO, when it was found to be
superfluous, and at that time there was a dearth of suitable dwellings for working people, so the Misses
Wale to whom this property belongs paid a compensation to the brewer and converted the public house
into a comfortable private dwelling and let it to John Jennings and his son, William, who are wood
trawlers; the attached cottage was also enlarged and improved; John Jennings' mother and father once
lived in it. Morley, the gardener of Westfield, also lived there for many years with a wife who was a
first-rate cook; they had a family of sons and daughters.

The grandfather of John Jennings was supposed to have come from a well-to-do family because he had
some parchment documents with red seals upon them which he used as firelighters one cold winter.
His name was Thomas Jennings, and he had six children by his first wife; probably Frederick, George
and Alfred Jennings were some of them. Thomas Jennings' second wife was Sarah Kemp, a widow
with ten children. Their son Joseph Jennings - Frances Harris, 1. Sarah - James Brand; 2. John -
Annie Moore, his cousin; 3. Harris - a Baynard. 1. Florence - John Pooley; 2. Wiliam - Annie
Chapman; 3. Cissie. George. Reginald Edward and Richard John.

The Brand family is mentioned on the Durnford Mill page of this Record; there are none of them living
in Little Shelford in 1916.

The Terrace gardens are on the west side of Maltern Close and separated by a hedge. The pathway
through them connects the Whittles ford Road with High Street. There are cottages on one side with
little gardens in front of them.

PLOUGH MONDAY

An ancient custom was continued in Little Shelford until about 1900. Upon the first Monday after
Twelfth Day the plough-men decorated with bunches of ribbon danced through the streets drawing a
plough, the last man was called Bessie and he carried a wooden spoon to collect money which in
Roman Catholic times was given to keep the plough lights burning before the images of patron saints in
the churches.

On the north side of Maltern Close is a small house called Elm Cottage, late Elm Farm. It is
surrounded by a garden and enclosed on the south and east by a flint and brick wall, and joining the
Terrace allotment gardens which extend to the Whittlesford Road. This house was re-constructed by
Colonel Wale who caused the two thatched cottages to be altered and a brick addition to be made on
the south east end.

There is a yard with stables on the north side of the house, and one gable end of the original thatched
cottage touches the road with a small entrance gate beside it. Tom Austin built the old cottages. A
very numerous family named Elbourn were brought up in these cottages; they were not related to the
blacksmith, Elbourne.

ELM COTTAGE

Richard Elbourn ofGt Shelford m. Rachael Wisbey of Dux ford

Children: Mary m. Richard Carter; Elizabeth m. William Brazier; William m. Anne from Balsham; Joe
m. Elizabeth Giffard; Henry died Australia; Edward m. PoIIy from Fens; Emma m. WiIIiam Webb;
Esther m. John Giffard; Eliza m. John Dare (child Josh. Dare); Susan m. Ransom; Henry Carter m.
Anna Austin (children Florence, Henry & Gertie, Arthur).

12.

R. Elbourn farmed some fields near Frog Hall and also the land near his dwelling which before his time
belonged to Thomas Mitchell, whose memorial tablet is on the east end of the parish church. He
married the widow of Mr King.

Elbourn sold his property to Dr Ficklin, M.D., of Linton, Cambs., who after some years sold it to
Colonel Wale, and he converted the fields into allotment gardens. A footpath joins High Street to the
Whittlesford Road passing between this strip of land anciently called "Card Gab" and the broken row
of whitewashed and thatched cottages called "The Terrace", late "The Thoroughfare".

Colonel Wale sold the cottages, but not the gardens, to Peveritt, the shepherd, who passed them on to
his son-in-law William C. Marshall, and an arrangement was made that each person should hire the
garden opposite his own door. The small thatched cottage next to Elm Farm was built by Tom Austin,
it belonged first to John Dare, then to Watts of Cambridge, afterwards to Mr Burgess who married Miss
Maris of Great Shelford. (He was a preacher at the Congregational Chapel built by Marshal! near the
Camping Close.) This cottage was not sold. It is inhabited by Pharoah Hacker who married Ada Prior;
their children: Eliza (m. Bateman), Alicia (died young), Dorothea, Peter (children Freddy, Flossie,
Ernest baby), David (children Albert, Connie and 1 other), Nathan (a munition worker 1916).

The present tenant of the Hall Farm, John Fordham, came from Fen Ditton in 1889 accompanied by a
delicate wife and a daughter named Fanny, also a young son named Ernest who subsequently married a
farmer's daughter named Robinson from Downham in Norfolk - they started housekeeping in the
house built by Mr Lockhart on the sit~ of the old Horse Shoe Public House i.n. Church Street, and two

                                                                                                                                                                                                   

little girls were born there; they migrated to a farm near Wisbech, and Lizzie Ward went with them as

nursemaid. In 1911 Fanny Fordham married Granville Austin who was chief engineer on board a P &
o steamer, and they hired the house called "Ingleside" from Miss Finch. John Fordham furnished it for
his daughter, but she never lived in it for Mr Granville Austin had to return to his ship and Mrs
Granville Austin returned to nurse her mother who was in a dying condition. Then she also was taken
dangerously ill, and her husband on receiving the news threw up his appointment and arrived in
Shelford just in time for the funeral of his bride on the 24th July 1912. Mrs Fordham died about a
fortnight later, and is buried beside her daughter in the north west corner of the old churchyard. The
Rev. Stanley Austin, Granville Austin's younger brother, assisted the Rector at this funeral service; it
was his first appearance as a clergyman in his native village. Mr Granville Austin left Shelford for a
short time, but returned to West End House which he inherited after the death of his mother, and lived
there for a short time to prepare it for letting. in 1915 John Fordham married his second wife,
Violet Rogers of Little Shelford.

Mr Suward Lofts who lived in Maltern Close had a son whose name was Shadrach Meshach and Abed-
nego.

The wounded Belgian soldiers who lodged with the Larkins in 1915-16 were: 1. Henry Vanhoute
whose wife and (?7) children were brought to him; 2. Adolph le Ford; 3. Pier Michel; 4. Victor Moss
who worked in Col. Wood's garden. And other convalescents who lodged with the Elbourn's were
Peters who had lost one leg and Utlsbrooke - also a friend named Victor Smellert, came to visit Peters
in Cambridge Hospital.

OLD PETT'S YARD

Quite near the road, and north to the Terrace, is a large thatched cottage built of clay bats,
whitewashed, and enclosed in black slat palings. It is inhabited by Bowey Andrews and her brother
James, who is gardener to Col. Wood who owns the house across the road. Two children, John and
Mary Andrews, live with them, and they have many married brothers and sisters dispersed about
England. In 1914 Jim Andrews married Mary Smart who had been parlour-maid to the Rev. E.T.S.
Carr at Little Shelford Rectory, and Bowey Andrews went to live with Miss F. Prest at Shelford Parva.

Mr Burgess built this cottage. It now belongs to G.F.O. Bagnall Esq. whose father-in-law, J. Dunn,
bought it in 1909 from Mrs Pett, a widow who married Thomas Pett. He was a carrier to London, 50
miles distant by road. His horses and wagons were kept in the yard beyond the house. The yard is now
a garden. A row of two-roomed cottages also stood there, five old women lived together in one of
these cottages, and a couple with five children in another. These cottages have been pulled down and
two large barns also, a man named Laddy Austin, with wife and children lived in one of them. (See

 

Austin pedigree, page ?. A woman named lane Kett owned one cottage in the group and lived in it

until she died in 1890 and left some money to a woman named Northfield.

LITCHFIELD'S YARD

A man named Jonathan Andrews lived here who kept 20 donkeys for trawling trees.

The garden and yard next to Old Pett's Yard belong to the carrier and farmer, Francis Litchfield. His
stables are near the road, and his cart may be seen in a shed. The yard gate is on one side of the stables,
and a small gate on the north side leads to his cottage, which is joined to the back of a large house, once
called "The Carrier's Cart Public House". His mother lives there with her third husband, Fred
Dockerill. Her first husband was lames Litchfield, and her maiden name was Mary Anne Brazier, from
Pampisford. Their children were Frederick, WiIIiam, Francis and Elizabeth; and Francis has children
Frank, Rupert, Nelly and Annie. The second husband was Edward Watkins, he was a carrier and a
publican, they had no children.

THE CARRIER'S CART PUBLIC HOUSE

This house was built by WiIIiams, the carpenter, and served with ale from White of Whittles ford. Then
Phillips, the brewer, had it, and Fred Dockerill bought it from him in 1884 when the license was taken
by the County Council, there being too many public houses in the parish.

Francis and Mrs Litchfield (nee Goat) and two sons, Frank and Rupert, and a daughter named Nelly,
live in the cottage. The eldest daughter, Annie, married Elias Townsend, in 1911, and lives at White's
Farm, which is farmed by Litchfield and hired from the Misses Wale.

Dockerill's and Litchfield's premises are pink lime-washed, so also is the next house belonging to
Charles Jennings, who has a yard at the back of his house, and a bakery, where his step-son, Ted
Moore, made bread until the year 1909 or thereabouts. He also keeps the public house next door,
called "The Plough", which supplies fine ale and stout from Jarman of Meldreth.

Mrs Edward Moore was Sarah Rayner. She has one son named Bertram Edward Moore.

Charles Jennings bought his house from Mrs Living of King's Mill, Shelford Magna; and a Mrs
Gaythom, nee Living, died in No. 1 cottage in the Terrace, Shelford Parva. Clara Jennings, daughter of
Charles Jennings, went away when her father married his second wife, Katherine Press, in 1910; Albert
and Joe Jennings, his sons, are farmers at Whittlesford.

Charles Jennings' first wife was the widow Moore, with children Edward and Annie; she was the
daughter of the lame soldier Howe who was toll-collector at the Shelford Magna turnpike gate.

Next to "The Plough" are sheds in a garden which surrounds a small white-brick house with a slate
roof, belonging to Whitmore of Cambridge, and let to Capt. Reginald Hall, who with his wife, is in
Africa. The house is sub-let to a commercial traveller and his wife, named Harris, with many young
children. A high black fence hides the garden from the road, it was originally cultivated by a good
gardener named Butler. Mrs Swatman and daughter lived there for a short period, she was sister to Mrs
Dunn who lived at Kirby Lodge opposite.

Then we come to a row of clay-bat, white-washed cottages, with tiled roofs, standing quite at the edge
of the road, with yards and gardens behind, and one small, thatched, four-roomed cottage standing far
back, usually inhabited by an old widow; Mrs Robinson lives there now, the widow of an Army tailor,
and her predecessor the widow Mansfield. Earlier still a chimney-sweep named Taylor lived there with
nine children, and then a widow named Mansfield.

Mrs Robinson buried several children in India, and the youngest, Mary Anne, died at Shelford Parva,

and the only surviving son, Robinson, is a railway clerk, and married.

In the first cottage of the row live George Pettit and his wife, Bertha nee Ellum, and three children,
Beatrice, Lilian, Bertha Monica, Frederick Ernest. There are also several girls out at service. Pettit is a

job-gardener and handyman. Other children are Clara, married J. Green; Edith, Emily in Australia,
Alice and Daisy, the latter was trained by Mrs Wood and is now a cook at service in Shelford Magna.

The second cottage is inhabited by Mrs Moore, the widow of Alfred Moore, nee Jaggrod, and her son,
Alfred. She has several other children, WiIIiam in America; Charles, Thomas (dead), John in
Newcastle, and Sarah. Mrs Moore goes about charring, and cledans the church, though she is 70 years
of age, for her son is an invalid, and cannot always get work, he fought in the Boer War.

All these cottages belong to Mrs W. Marshall.

Charles Jennings died in 1915 aged 82. The small farm hired by him belonged to M.P. Wale in 1700
and was farmed by WiIIiam Rider. He had two sons, John and William, and two dayllghters, one of
them married Whybro the carpenter who was also church clerk. Grandfather and grandmother Rider
lived in a cottage opposite Kirby Lodge. She was celebrated for making old women's bonnets and
dress tops. WiIIiam Gall subsequently hired this farm. There was then a large thatched cottage in the
yard near the village street.

(Written 1912 and 1915)

LOW BROOMS THE RESIDENCE OF COLONEL T. WOOD, R.A.

Mrs Atkinson of Cambridge was the architect of Mrs Dunn's new house. It was quite small, but very
picturesque, in Kate Greenaway style. A square of gravel near the front door has still a clipped privet
hedge all round, and the elm trees near the entrance gate are pollarded.

Some of the grass fields which Charles Jennings hired were made into a garden, with straight walks.
There are some good walnut trees in it.

In 1900 Mrs Dunn went to live in the new house with her sister Miss Bowen, but she died shortly
afterwards, the sudden death of her son Arthur had been a great shock to her: his widow did not want
the house so after her mother-in-law's death she sold it to Co!. T. Wood, R.A., who married Mildred
Wale in 1909, and he hired more of the surrounding fields to make tennis and croquet lawns, and more
kitchen gardens. He also built a dining room with bedroom over it in 1909, on the north side of the
front door, and some more bedrooms over the kitchens, and made a pantry and coal sheds. Mr
.Atkinson designed these additions very well, the work was done by W. Marshall and E. Walker and
'Sons. Also a verandah opening into the withdrawing room.

Subsequently a larder and servants' room were added on the west, also was more kitchen garden taken
from Litchfield's adjoining strip.

In 1913 a motor garage was built near the front gate, and Albert Carter learned to drive the motor. He
also has charge of the flower garden and valets Colonel Wood. The vegetable garden is cultivated by
James Andrews, a son of John the lame man who was gardener to Mrs Dunn. Beyond the walnut trees
are lawns for croquet and tennis.

DESCRIPTION OF HIGH STREET COTTAGES (continued from above)
(Built in 1870 and 1900)

In cottage No. live James Dickerson, a thatcher, and his wife, formerly Mary Anne Wright, with
sons Victor, a hurdle maker, Bertie, chauffeur to Capt. Thornton, Mabel, servant to Miss Wale, Elsie
and Agnes at school, and James Dennis, a baby. Dickerson hires the orchard near the Great Northern
Railway crossing, on the road to Hauxton.

These three cottages were built by John Everett, the church clerk, and they belong to Mrs W. Marshal!.

In 1912 Mabel Dickerson went to live with Mrs Doscaster (mother of Mrs Thornton) to be between-
maid.

I think Everett built some of the next row, and a man named Bowtell built the others. His daughter,
Miss Bowtel!, lives in one of them. They are built of white brick with tiled roofs, and stand further

 

back from the road behind flower gardens, enclosed by iron palings, facing due south. They are
somewhat shaded in summer by the trees in Kirby Lodge garden across the road. By the fence of Kirby
Lodge is a wide strip of grass where the cottage children play. The vegetable gardens and sheds are
behind on the north side of the row, and are bounded by the grass fields of King's Farm. There are
covered archways between the houses from the road to the gardens.

In the first two cottages live Mr and Mrs Rogers, with Violet, who is a dressmaker, and a married
daughter, Gladys, and her husband Bertram Goodwin. Their other living children are Martha, Edwin,
Ernest and Llewellyn. Rogers is gardener to Hamer Towgood Esq., he is one of the oldest families of
Shelford Parva, and there are a good many branches of this family for Rogers' father had twenty-two
children.

In the third cottage live Henry Larkin and his wife, formerly Charlotte Harding, with children Winnie,
Nina, Madge and Vivian and Alec, who is the eldest and has gone to work in Canada. Next to them
lives Miss BowteII (who is now in Newfoundland as matron of an orphanage). She used to take care of
motherless children and find places for them. This cottage is her own and during her absence is let.

In the fifth cottage live Mr and Mrs (Nelly George) Robert Elbourn. They have a married daughter
named Elizabeth. Hancock lives with them and an orphan boy, also an orphan girl named Dolly was
there, but she died in 1913.

In the sixth cottage live Mr and Mrs WaIter Dockerill, and their youngest son, Fred, who was milkman
to Fordham and left his service in 1912. Their two daughters, EIIen and Amy, are cook and housemaid
to Colonel and Mrs Wood, and there are other daughters and a married son. There are many people of
this name in Shelford Parva. Arthur Carter is now the boy who cries round the milk cans.

In No. 7 lives Hockliffe, groom to Mrs Thompson of Kirby Lodge, with his wife and daughter.

In No. 8 lives the old soldier, Ellum.

In No. 9 live Mr and Mrs Harvey, his family have been in Shelford a long time; Lizzie Harvey is a
niece of Mrs Harvey.

In the last cottage near the wall of King's Farm gardens lives widow Bames, John Barnes died in 1911.
They have several daughters, Alice, Emrna (dead), Lizzie (dead), Edith married Thomas William Light,
Elizabeth, also sons named Thomas, William and Sidney. Mrs Bames was a servant at Gog Magog
House, when the Duke of Leeds lived there.

KIRBY LODGE

This house was once a small one, and probably built by Howard, the farmer who lived in it. The next
person living there was a Mr Beach, who built the conservatories, and was fond of gardening. After
him came an eccentric man named Preston, who could not bear the slightest noise; cocks and dogs died
mysteriously. He built himself a sound-proof and pitch dark bedroom on the ground floor and blocked
up most of the windows; and he let the garden become a wilderness. He died in this house and was
buried on the north side of the church. Then came a Mrs Haines, a widow, who opened all the
windows again, she also died there, and was buried on the north side of the church. After that Lord
William Osbourne, and his wife (nee Headly) lived there a short time, they had a son and daughter,
who after his death lived in Spain with their mother. Then came a man, and his wife, called
"Gentleman" Smith, because he spent money in a showy way and went bankrupt. However, he built
some good cottages on the Hauxton and Newton Roads.

In 1874 Kirby Lodge was bought by John Dunn Esq. His wife, Mary Bowen, was a very nice-looking
woman, who sang beautifully. He was a coach for Cambridge University, and a clever mathematician.
He always had pupils who lived and worked in the house where Walker, the carpenter, lives now. His
son, Arthur Blakiston Dunn was also very clever, and charming; he became a successful school-master,
and married a Miss MaIcolmson; he died suddenly from heart disease in 1902, leaving her with three
small children. The Arthur Dunn Football Cup was established in his memory; he was buried on the
north side of Al Saints Church at Shelford Parva near his parents. There is also a brass plate to his

young. Another daughter named Florence married W. Donkin Esq. of Keble College, Oxford, and she
died in the year 1877. Mr Donkin was a first rate photographer, and he climbed some high mountains
to take photos of glaciers. He lost his life in an avalanche; neither he nor his guides were ever found,
only his camera was picked up, and brought to London to be sold with his photos. The Rev. Dr Brown,
DD, who came to live in Shelford for a short time, went to London and bought the camera, to take
photos in Shelford Parva, where it was recognised by Mr Donkin's wife's relations.

In 1885 Hilda Dunn married Fred C.O. BagnaIl Esq. who had been a pupil of her father's. Their
children are named Hilda, Frederick, May and Meryck. Later on Ethel Dunn married Vandeleur Bright
Smith Esq., another pupil. They have one son and two daughters named John, Barbara and Joan.

Mr Dunn was a conservative, and did much to interest voters. In 1895 his young friend, Raymond
Greene, was to be introduced to the Shelfords as a Conservative candidate; there was a meeting at the
British Schoolroom in Shelford Magna, and Mr Dunn made a speech introducing his candidate friend
then he sat down and fell back in his chair suddenly in an apoplectic fit, and died in a few minutes. His
two daughters, and sons-in-law, were there to support him, but the meeting, of course, dispersed.
Raymond Greene was subsequently elected as Unionist Member.

Mrs Dunn could not bear to remain at Kirby Lodge, so she sold the house to a Mr Abbott in 1896 and
retired into one of Miss Bowtell's cottages on the opposite side of the road and her sister, Miss Bowen,
came to live with her while she (Mrs Dunn) was building a new house, just beyond and to the east of
her old house, Kirby Lodge, on land bought from the Misses Wale.

Mr Abbott soon sold the house to the two Miss Schribers, who spent a good deal of money on repairs
and improvements, but did not stay very long.

Mr Dunn had made a large garden behind his house, in the fields which were farmed for some time by
his son-in-law, V. Bright Smith Esq. and Litchfield now hires part of it for a garden from the Misses
Wale.

(Written 1914)

Then follows photo of Kirby Lodge Entrance Gates with the caption:

Mrs Howard Thompson has many beautiful Japanese curios and she also had some valuable old silver
which unfortunately was stolen when she was away from home - in the same year several other
burglaries were perpetrated in and around Cambridge and many bicycles were stolen.

Several grey half Persian cats also belong to Mrs Thompson and a pony named Jinnie. An amiable dog
was born during the Boer War and was named Bobs in memory of General Lord Roberts.

In 1916 Kirby Lodge belongs to Mrs H. Thompson.

The text follows:

Eventually Lieutenant Colonel Howard Stanley Thompson R.M.L.I. bought' Kirby Lodge and lived
there with his wife and children, Bertie and Winnie. He enlarged the east side of the house by a large
sitting room and bedroom above, and made a new staircase and entrance hall, the dark cupboard where
Mr Preston used to sleep was made into an organ chamber, and Colonel Thompson played the
instrument upon the keyboard in the dining room. He died in August 1903 and is buried on the north
side of Shelford Parva church near to his friend Lieutenant Colonel Ernest Edward Pyme, R.M.L.I.,
who died suddenly when on a visit to Mrs Thompson in August 1904.

Herbert Stanley Thompson went to Hong Kong with his regiment, the Royal Artillery, and in 1909 he
married Miss Rickman from Southsea, their first child was born in 1912. He came home on leave from
Hong Kong just as War was declared with Germany, 1914, with his wife and baby, and had great
difficulty in crossing from Calais to Dover when they lost all their luggage excepting the baby's
clothes, but after some time when he had already got an entirely new kit and was sent out to the Front,
the luggage turned up safely and intact!

Winnie Thompson met Cpt Tyrill while staying with her brother and married him in 1914 just after
declaration of war with Germany. He came home from Hong Kong on leave to marry her, and their
banns were twice announced at Little Shelford church; then war was declared and he was immediately

appointed to some military camp in England so that he had to be married in a hurry by special licence.
In 1915 he returned to England badly wounded in his legs - but he is now convalescent.

WHITE'S FARM

A tenant named Rider also lived in this house for a time, none of them remained long here.

So called because there is so much white chalk in the land about this farm. There is a grass field with
big elm trees facing Elbourne's and Butler's houses. The trees stand upon White's Farm and the farm
house is opposite King's Farm. It is built of clay bats with a thatched roof, and white-washed. It is a
good large-roomed house, inhabited by Elias Townsend and his wife, nee Litchfield, who came to live

there when they married ,in 1912.

There is a brick and tiled cottage near the farmyard gate  and a strip of flower garden bear the black 

wooden paling of Kirby Lodge. A road goes through the yard and through the fields to the west, and
there are large tiled bams on the west and south side of the yard. A vegetable garden goes round the
west end of Kirby Lodge garden and joins the kitchen garden of Low Brooms. There are good yellow
plum trees here, and a wall with fruit trees on it. Housden was the last farmer to live here; and since
Litchfield died the farming has been carried on by his two sons. This house and farm land belong to
the Misses Wale and Mrs T. Wood.

Edward Austin married the sister of Mrs Sparkes and in 19U they emigrated to Canada with two
children named Arthur and Florrie, and they lived a short time in the cottage near the farm house. He
was once coachman to Mr Magoris, the Parish Doctor, and he understands motors.

MRS COOPER'S SCHOOL

The small house (in which the Steams now live) at the end of Camping Close, near the Congregational
Chapel, was once inhabited by Mr and Mrs James Cooper and their children John, a daughter who
emigrated to Australia, another girl who married John Keeth(?Heeth) the bootmaker, and Charles who
was born deaf and dumb but learned to talk and understand other people, he worked under his father
who was head gardener at Old Shelford Hall, and subsequently was house boy in the new house. He
called himself "Chubber", and a sword "Old-cut-your-head-off'; he helped to clean silver and copper
and rang the house bells very punctually at 8 a.m. and 1 p.m. In the autumn the gleaners made use of
the 8 o'clock bell as a signal to commence gleaning, so that each person should have an equal chance,
these two bells hang over the kitchen of Shelford Hall between two chimneys, they were then useful to
the whole village, now they are not much used and people set their clocks by the railway trains, the
flour mill buzzer or the Church school bell. Another of "Charley Cooper's" duties was to pump water
into the upstairs cistern which supplied the big bath and the kitchen boiler. Shelford Hall was let to
some friends who brought their own servants, but "Chubber" refused to leave so he had to be hired
with the house, and the tenants found him very useful and amusing. He kept a watch over everything
and scolded anyone he thought was careless or mischievous. He continued to work at the Hall until, as
he would have described it, he was "put down under old stone" near his father and mother. He left
neither wife nor child.

Mrs F. Cooper superintended a girls' school for Miss N.P. Wale. Mrs Lewis George still living at
Hauxton was one of the girls trained at the school and she gave me the following information. There
were always thirteen little girls who came to learn needlework and reading with Mrs Cooper, from 9
a.m. to 12 p.m. and again from 2 p.m. to 4 p.m. They made frocks and undergarments with materials
given by Miss Wale, who also at Whitsuntide gave each girl a frock made of stout blue cotton with a
white or yellow sprig upon it, and white capes over their shoulders and new straw bonnet with blue
ribbon trimming and strings. On Sunday they went to service with Miss Minnie Wale to Shelford
Parva or Shelford Magna, turn about, and the young men used to call out, "Look, here come the Little
Shelford girls with their new clothes on." They also went to Old Shelford Hall to Bible classes in the
nursery to be taught by the young ladies, or Mr Henry John Wale who was subsequently a clergyman.
Also twice a week they went to learn writing, and as each girl attained the age of 13 or 14, Lady Wale
found her a place as servant and provided extra clothes, two garments only of each kind having been
made under the supervision of Mrs Cooper, who kept a board for marking good conduct and
punctuality, and once a year the board was taken to Lady Wale who gave tea on the lawn and prizes to
the most deserving.

After the death of Sir Charles Wale, his widow and two daughters went to Brighton, and the Rector's
wife, Mrs James Law, carried on the supervision of the school for a short time until Mrs Cooper gave
up teaching. She was a pretty, neat-looking little woman, dressed in a brown stuff gown and white
apron with a tight-fitting white cap tied under her chin and a goffered frill all round her face. She had
never since her marriage been further than Cambridge and never so far in any other direction.

After the Coopers had gone down under their "Memorial Stone", their cottage became two dwellings,
the larger one near the road was inhabited by Mr and Mrs Brand and daughter, Elizabeth, who lived till
1910, when after a long absence from Shelford she returned and whilst staying at the Plough Public
House, died there.

(Written 1916)

There is no longer any need for schools to be supported by private charity because in every parish there
is a good school for both boys and girls under the management of the County Council where all
children have free education until they can pass the highest standard and are wanted for some useful
employment. There are evening classes which they may attend to learn cooking, dressmaking, laundry,
carpenter's work, etc., also other useful handicrafts. At the age of 14 most of the girls get situations as
domestic servants, and some continue their education at the County School in Cambridge (but in 1917
every girl was employed in some kind of war work, very few as servants).

The population of Shelford Parva in 1915 is 441, a great many men have joined the Army since the war
commenced with Germany in August 1914 and some are in the Navy; a list of their names is given on
the first page of this description of High Street

THE ROLL OF HONOUR

This is on the notice board near the Jubilee Pump at this end of High Street where it joins Church
Street. And a notice written in English, French and Flemish gives information to me-wishing to enlist.

KING'S FARM

The origin of the name of this house is uncertain.

It was bought by Thomas Wale Esq. and given to Miss M.P. Wale, and when she died she left it to her
niece Isabella Wale, who married Doctor Sherlock Willis and had one daughter and seven sons. The
small building seen on the right of this illustration was a dove house in 1851 and in 1915 a garden
room.

Mrs Sherlock Willis was a daughter of Sir Charles Wale, and her only daughter, Isabella, married John
Frederick Eaden Esq. Mrs Willis sold the house to her brother Col R.G. Wale and he sold it to Mr
Eaden when the latter married Isabella Willis. Therefore it, with all the fields round King's Farm
between High Street and the Whittlesford Road, belongs to the Eadens, and also the orchard, and Ivy
Cottage and garden. In 1908 the Eadens went to live in Shelford Hall, and let King's Farm to Capt. and
Mrs Thornton who have two small children. He is the Military Instructor to the University of
Cambridge. He keeps a number of dogs, chows (Chinese dogs) and Airedales, and they produce
chairdales, yellow Pico is the oldest of the chows; they have killed several small dogs, and they are
troublesome poachers. The Officers Training Corps did great credit to Major Thornton during the war
with Germany in 1915.

This house has been let to various people at different times: Arthur Cockshott Esq., a Fellow of Trinity
College, Cambridge, lived there for some years, 13(?) to 18, with his two sisters, Henrietta and Fanny.
He afterwards became a House Master at Eton. There are many fine old acacia trees round the house,
and some large horse-chestnuts and two fine Scotch firs, also a beautiful crab-apple tree and a small
orchard of good apples. Two very deep wells were sunk by J.F. Eaden Esq. to tap the pure water down
below the blue clay strata. The Thornton's chauffeur B. Dickerson having enlisted Mrs Thornton took
entire charge of her motor.

Mr Eaden enlarged the house according to the advice of the architect, Frederick Lees, and made the
front entrance on the north side instead of the south, and moved the stables and built new ones. After
these alterations the garden was more suitable for the pastoral plays which Mrs Eaden organises in
summer time. The dove house also was converted into a bedroom and sitting-room; the drawing-room
was converted into the kitchen. Bow windows, a verandah and conservatory were added to the sitting-
room facing south east. He also made a tennis court, and a hockey ground in the field, and a beautiful
rose garden. He planted flowering shrubs about and roses on the house, and built a hot house in the
kitchen garden. Mansfield, who was his gardener at Westfields, having died, he was succeeded by a
man named Bames, no relation to the other Bames mentioned before. He came from Essex, and his
wife had been lady's maid in the Cecil family at Hatfield. He made himself very useful to the parish of
Shelford Parva. He had a strong voice and sang regularly in the choir, he was also a bell-ringer. His
sons are named Edward (married) and Royce; he has also a married daughter. For three years he was
gardener to Mr Eaden at Shelford Hall and lived in the Lodge at the entrance corner. He left in 1911
and is succeeded by a couple named Wiffen, who have children, Nelly and George. Another man
named Stead was gardener to Capt. Thomton, he died in 1913. The house where Elbourne lives
belongs to Mr Eaden.

On the west and north a black wooden fence encloses King's Farm garden from the road. A little path
leads to two small cottages, also belonging to Mr Eaden, inhabited by a blind woman named Miss
Speller (who is Slster To1Ai-s Butler, the baker's wife) and Mrs James Prior, a widow who was once
cook at the Rectory to the Rev. J.C. Law. The old Mrs Shearing who lived there for many years fell
into her fire and died from the burns at about 90 years of age.

Mr Carr, the Rector, helped Miss Speller to get 10/- a week from the Blind Pension Society. The
Shearings once lived in one of these cottages, and old Granny Shearing was burned to death when she
was over 90 years of age, by falling into her fire. Her son, Sam, married an Irish woman who deserted
him, they had one son who is married and lives in Shelford Magna to this day.

ELBOURNE'S HOUSE (written by FLW 1912-16)

The house next to King's Farm also belongs to IF. Eaden Esq. At one time Walker, the carpenter,
lived in this house and had his yard at the back. It has a raised garden on the west or front side; in it
now lives Elbourne, the blacksmith, who is also Churchwarden and Village Constable. His wife was
Alice Cooke; they have five children, Charlemagne, an engineer who learned his work with Mr
Maynard at Whittles ford; Edna, who is a dressmaker; Gertrude, who is in service; MaIcolm, just left
school; and Margaret, still at school.

Then is written; Samuel Shearing m. a sister of Joe Prior. Their son George Shearing m. Kate Webster
and they had 10 children.

BUTLER'S PREMISES

Joining Elbourne's house is the shop and house belonging to Charles Butler, the baker. The front door
opens into the Chapel yard and the stable yard and bake-houses are behind the house. Mrs Butler was
Miss Speller, their sons, Henry and William, are bakers, and so is her daughter Edith; they have another
daughter, Annie, and Edith has a bake-shop at Shelford Magna and is helped by a cousin named Doris
Butler.

Robert Butler is a builder and lives in one of the houses which he helped to build in the Cherry Hinton
Road at Shelford Magna. He married a Miss Annie Butler married Jiggles, the chauffeur of Lady

Portarlington. They have two children. Henry Butler married Miss ? and they live at

Shelford Magna.

Behind these premises is a thatched cottage belonging to the Wale property inhabited by Mr and Mrs
WiIliam Ellum (nee Gillingham). There is a good garden with a hedge round, making a square corner
in the Camping Close, behind the Congregational Chapel, to the north. On the south side of the

Chapel is Stearn's house and yard and Mrs Stearn's wash house and hen-house. It is separated from the
Camping Close by a fence: there is a private gateway at the corner, and leading across that field to
Miss Wale's studio and Ivy Cottage is a footpath which comes out on the Whittlesford Road, nearly
opposite the entrance to Shelford Hall.

The Ellum family is one of the oldest of Shelford Magna and connected to many others. W. Ellum's
soldier brother came to Shelford in 1911. He has retired on a pension and is very fond of preaching
and singing.

STEARN'S COTTAGE

Families named Cooper, Brand and Kett lived in Steam's cottage before he bought it from Robinson,
the Shelford Magna baker, about 1900. It is really two dwellings, a two-roomed cottage at the back of
the large one, which is near the road, and in which once lived a lonely man named Johnny Merry
whose wife was in Fulboum lunatic asylum. He was called "Old Cherry" because his cheeks were so
red.

Mr and Mrs Steam's (nee Geeps) children are William, a carpenter; Herbert, a gardener (1916 a
soldier), and Conny, at school. William married Ellen Ellis in 1915.

A hedge separates this end of the Camping Close from the road, and at the further corner stands a fine
elm and a Scotch fir tree, over the picturesque thatched cottages belonging to Mrs J. Wisbey (nee
Everett), wife of John Wisbey, the carter. The two other thatched cottages on the south of Wisbey's
yard belong to them also.

There follows a Roll of Service 1915 for the Parish of Little Shelford listing the names and regiments
of men from the village who were fighting WWI.

THE GARDEN FIELDS

Here is a postcard of Church Street, Little Shelford alongside which FW has written:

The cottages called "Mount View Terrace". The Jubilee Pump, Elbourne's forge and house.

The festivities connected with the annual village feast were celebrated at this Public House (The Prince
Regent). There was dancing in the evening and a fair in the daytime, and the stalls and booths were
placed on each side of Church Street.

The Pump which stands at the cross roads at the top of Church Street was placed there in 1908 to
commemorate the First Jubilee of Queen Victoria. The well is bored down about 60 feet to reach the
pure water lying in the blue clay below the strata of white chalk, near the Pump stands the public notice
board.

There are a cart gate and a hand gate near the Pump across the cart road which passes through the
allotment gardens, they extend and spread for about a square mile towards the Obelisk Hill and
bounded by the Newton Road on the north west. The old people often say they are "Going up the May
Pole" when they pass through these gates because the village recreation grounds were once there, and it
was in 1880 that Col. R.G. Wale made the first allotment gardens on either side of this road.

The Obelisk, in memory of Gregory Wale, on the top of the Hill was restored in 1909 by the Wale
family. William Marshall made a strong concrete foundation in place of the frail brick base which
required constant renewing because rabbits made burrows in it: W. Marshall also bought a portion of
the garden-fields and built 8 cottages in groups of 4 in a row along the cart road behind the
Blacksmith's Forge which makes a picturesque ending to Church Street, where it turns sharply to the
west round the Inn Alehouse called "The Prince Regent" which belongs to Whitmore, a brewer at
Royston. It is managed by Mrs Lewin and her husband who is a job gardener; their only son, George,
joined the Territorials in 1914. There is good accommodation both for people and horses at this Inn; it
was here that Thomas Austin lived and died. His son, Joe Austin, the bricklayer, lived and died in the
white thatched cottage in the angle of the road to Hauxton.

Another cottage joins this one to the "Prince Regent" and in 1914 it is inhabited by the Maskell family.

Florence Austin still lives in her father's cottage and his son, Joe, who married Caroline Prior, lives in
the cottage on the opposite side of Church Street where it joins High Street at right angles round his
cottage, making a rather dangerous corner. Once when Mrs Joe Payne lived there, a man training some
young horses ran the pole of his break through the wall and mixed up the jam and pickles in a

cupboard, and ever after Mrs Joe Payne was "all of a tremble". So the family moved to a quieter
abode.

Old Susan, the beloved servant of Miss M.P. Wale, lived and died in that cottage, and next door was an
old Russian woman and her son, named Hagger; she had been servant to Mrs Thomas Wale who
brought her from Russia; there are descendants of these Haggers in Great Shelford and other places to
this day. Now that cottage is occupied by widow Tredgitt, whose husband was a Crimean hero and had
a medal and a broken nose. Old Godfrey, the blind man, lived with them nay years after his wife died;
he died in 1907 and Tredgitt in 1908. She died in 1916.

There follows a drawing showing the cottages referred to above looking from Hauxton Road to the
Church Street junction with the caption:

These cottages belong to Mr G. Austin - and the distant ones to Mrs J. Wisbey - W. Watson lives here
- Mount View Terrace.

A two-roomed cottage called "The Bird-cage" is inhabited by a deaf and dumb man in the yard behind
no. 1 of the row - Widow Cox of Hauxton lives there. In no. 2 lived Mr and Mrs Moss Covil!; she died
in 1914 - her maiden name was Pilgrim - the only daughter Sarah now keeps house for her father. The
eldest son is named Moss, he married in 1914. The second son William enlisted. No.
3 cottage is inhabited by Mr and Mrs Albert Godfrey - Annie Stainforth was her maiden name, from
the north; they have one young boy named George and a baby girl born in 1915. They had also a baby
girl named Josephine who burned herself to death by playing with matches. Godfrey is one of the
oldest Shelford families. Nos. 4 and 5 are the last of the cottages on this die of the road, they are
inhabited by Mr and Mrs Sutton who are gypsies and both hawkers: their children are named Rosie
and Charlie. Beyond this point the arable fields of the Manor Farm are bounded by a hedge of
blackthorn and a belt of trees as far as the railway crossing on Hauxton Road.

FROM CHURCH STREET TO THE JUNCTION OF ROADS TO NEWTON & HAUXTON

On the side of the road beyond Watson's garden live George Easy and his wife, Hannah, nee Loker.
They have children named George, Alice, Florrie and Reginald. He was coachman to Arthur Gall who
lets out carriages and lives in the Newton Road. Mrs Easy's father, Loker, lives with them and has the
Old Age Pension of 5/- a week; he was a navvy in his younger days.

Easy's cottage joins another, now inhabited by Mr and Mrs Burrell and brother; Mrs Catley lived there
before. There is only a small yard with sheds behind these houses which are rough-cast and tiled; they
were built by the father of William C. Marshall,

No. 3 cottage of this row is inhabited by Mrs Stead, the widow of Captain Thornton's gardener who
died in 1912. They changed houses with William Marshall in 1909. Stead was gardener at Shelford
Hall for some years with the Rev. F. Littlejohn, and before that with Mr Carter, the Rector of Duxford.

William C. Marshall lived for a great many years in No. 3 and most of his children were born there.
All these cottages and many others were built by his father, John. Mrs William C. Marshall was a
Peveritt; they have now gone to live at "Swiss Cottage" in the Terrace, where she lived as a child with
her father who died in 

At the end of the strip of garden belonging to No. 3, and in the bend of the road to Newton, there is a
large and picturesque thatched cottage, restored and improved by Frederick Marshal! in 1911-12. He
also put a low cement wall all along the edge of the road. His workshop is at the end of this building;
his mother, Mrs Thomas Marshall, lived and died here. He has lately married a widow named Currell
with three children.

A little further along the Newton Road are four more cottages, some of which were built by Thomas
Marshall in 1894 and others in 1907 by his son. In them live:

No. 1 Mr & Mrs Peters, formerly Ada Tabor; no children.
No. 2 Mr & Mrs Freeman; strangers.

No. 3 Mrs George Webb (nee Elbourn) widow to the tailor who died in 1902, with her daughter,
Katherine. She had several other children: Henry, George, John, Arthur, Jane, Nelly, Fanny and Kate.
No.4 Smith, gardener to M.F.O. Bagnall Esq. at the Red House further on, and subsequently gardener
at Little Shelford Rectory. Mr. Smith's first wife was Susan Godfrey, who died in 1901 leaving

children Agnes, Harry, Lily, Wilfrid, Daisy and Claude. His second wife was Eliza Purkis from
Balsham, nee Elbourn, a descendant of Richard Elbourn who lived at the Elm Cottage, Shelford Parva;
no relation to the blacksmith Elbourne.

These cottages have tiny flower gardens within iron palings near the road and long strips of vegetable
gardens joining the garden fields which are at the back of these cottages towards the south.

NEW GARDEN FIELD COTTAGES CALLED "MOUNT VIEW TERRACE"

In 1912 Marshal! built four more five-roomed cottages in a line with the others. They are inhabited by:

No. I Ellis and wife and children.

No. 2 Mr & Mrs Cracknal!, sister to Mrs Freeman
No. 3

No.4 Mr & Mrs Thomas Marshall, son of the builder.
No. 5 Mr & Mrs Owen Cambridge

No. 6 Mr & Mrs Alexander Freeman with daughter, Jane, who is a dressmaker.
No. 7 Mr & Mrs James Andrews.

No. 8 Strangers, named Negus.

The inhabitants of these cottages are constantly changing. The land on which they are built was bought
by Marshal! from Mrs Wood and the Misses Wale in 1908. William C. Marshal! died in 1913 and his
pedigree is as fol!ows:

Daniel Marshall -

Son, Thomas m. A. Meinard

William Charles m. A. Peveritt; their children are:

William John (m. Jane Nottingham); Sarah E.A. (m. E. Allan); Helena A. (m. F. Collis); Edward
Charles (m. Maud Harrison); Edith A.; Mildred; Arthur Thomas (m. A. Cambridge); Ruth; Eva.

Mrs William C. Marshal! (widow) lives in her cottage in the Terrace in 1916.

TEXT NOW RETURNS TO HAUXTON ROAD

There fol!ows a drawing of the view from Manor Farm of the Hauxton Road - fields bounded by
railway to the north showing' The Rectory grounds, Blacksmith's corner, Marshall's corner, Austin's
premises, Mansfield's cottage'.

Beyond these cottages on the right hand side of the road is a field hedge and them a belt of trees with a
brook behind them which has passed under the road, and goes under the railway to join the Granta at
Hauxton. Its source is on the Sainfoin Estate. The surface water drains of High Street run in pipes to
this brook, and joins it near the gate and footpath which crosses the large arable field lying to the east
of the Hauxton Road and filling the space between the meadows of Manor Farm as depicted above

The river forms the eastern parish boundary between the two Shelfords, and the north west limit is
along the further hedge of the first field across the railway which now belongs to the Great Eastern
system and was formerly a branch line of the Great Northern. The crossing gates are On the bI2~.
system, so also are the small side-gates for bicycles; turn-stiles were used before bicycles became
·common. There is a glass signal-box near the gate, and a tiny bungalow for the gate man to live in,
with only three rooms, but a large family of the name of Westwood once lived there. They were
transferred to the Great Eastern and Hills Road gate crossing about the year 1870, and both man and
wife ended their lives at Shelford Magna and a family named Smart lived there for a long time.

Their successor at Hauxton crossing was named Wood; he was a clever bicycle repairer, he built
kennels in the garden of his bungalow and also sold dogs.

He was succeeded by a man named Lacy with a wife, who is a particularly energetic and useful
woman, one of their daughters married in 1912.

Behind the gate-bungalow are open fields, and to the south near the road lies the orchard and farmyard
of Dickerson, and the brook already mentioned forms his south boundary before passing under the

road, and on the opposite side of it is a grass field belonging to Arthur Gall which surrounds the
gardens at the back of four cottages built by "Gentleman" Smith.

They stand at the edge of the road and have small front gardens protected by iron palings, they now
belong to Mr Clay, and his horsekeeper inhabits one of them. Goat, the carpenter lives in another, and
strangers of the name of Brown next to him, and at the end of the row near the willow tree lives widow
Mansfield, nee Pratt, her husband, Henry Mansfield, die in June 1914 and is buried at the west end of
All Saints Church. He had been gardener at the Rectory for 46 years and bell-ringer for 50 years, and
sexton until 1913 when he became too feeble to do that work. When he was a boy he had the care of
the black sheep belonging to Col. R.G. Wale and went with him as groom when the Cambridgeshire
Militia was being trained at Ely every month of May.

The red may tree was planted by him in the churchyard, so also was the great weeping willow tree in
memory of Josh Dare, whose tombstone is under its branches.

H. Mansfield has left a great number of children and grandchildren.

There follows the Mansfield/Pratt family tree.

(Written 1914) 

The unused brewery which is in the corner of the Hauxton Road was built by Arthur Austin who died
in 1908 - his wife, Harriett, was a Robinson from Over, died in 1914, and left the family property to
her eldest surviving son, GranviIle.

There is a good building behind the hedge and trees which hide it from the road, named "West End
House", and a large garden and good stable premises are behind it and the brewery. The house was
built by Daniel Austin in 1818. Two thatched cottages once stood on the road near the brewery and
were inhabited by families named Loker and Dare.

,There are many Austin families living in Great or Little Shelford more or less related to each
/ other. The Arthur Austins have a complete pedigree of their branch of the family both before and after
the time of their ancestor John Austin who was a Yeoman of Great Shelford and made his will in 1619
leaving his property to his wife in trust for his young son.

Arthur Austin's family are: Blanch (died young); Gertrude (m. Cockerton); Sidney (died India); Emily
(m. ElIis); Mildred (m. Whitechurch); GranviIle (m. Fordham); Hilda (m. Lockhart); Ida; Stanley (Rev.
- ordained and Lieut. In 1915).

Woodville Lodge was built by "Gentleman" Smith when he lived at Kirby Lodge. There are good
stables where Mr Arthur Gall keeps carriages for hire.

 

Mrs A. Gall was a Gamer. Strangers often come to lodge with them. Mr and Mrs Grew come very
often, and an American of the name of Johnson lodged there for several years and made a beautiful
small rock-garden on the west side of the house. There is a good orchard to the north, and a hedge and
evergreen trees at the edge of the road on the south. D,uri!lgthe"-""SDuth~4fricCll1_2{a,r ~rJohnson.
naturalised himself an Englishman, and enlisted and fought all through the war; he returned to lodge
with the Galls in very bad health. However, he eventually recovered and left Shelford in 1906. He was
the first person in Shelford who drove a motor car; they were a novelty in 1900 but quickly superceded
carriages drawn by horses.

Beyond Woodville premises are market gardens farmed by Mr Bagnall and his son, Frederick, and
further on are arable fields bounded on the north by the railway.

Loker and had many children, the only one now living in Little Shelford is the
daughter who married George Easy; he was coachman to Arthur Gall until motor cars took the place of
horses. Loker commenced his Old Age Pension in 1909 and he lives with the Easys whose children are
named Alice; George; Florence; Reginald.

There follows the Gall pedigree.

THE BRIGHTSMITH'S HOUSE

Just beyond Marshall's cottages are the stable-yard and garden of Vandeleur Bright Smith Esq. and a
small brick and red-tiled house which he bought in from the Rev. T. Soden who married
Eleanor Finch. In 1894 he bought it from Col. R.G. Wale who many years before bought it from his
brother, C B. Wale Esq.

A great many additions have been made since it was first built by Williams, the carpenter, who lived
there. Mr Bright Smith added a large drawing room and a conservatory. There is a high hedge along
this garden, and beyond a field which belongs to Mr Bright Smith who bought it from Mr Arthur Gall.
It was the last freehold property in Shelford Parva. He also farms some land at Hauxton; he married
Miss Ethel Dunn in 1897 and they have three children, Jack, Barbara and Joan.

The next field belonged to Arthur Austin and he had a foundry there and invented things, he sold the
field to G.F.C. Bagnall Esq.

(Written 1914)

THE RED HOUSE

Beyond this grass field is the Red House, built for Mr BagnalI in 1890-2. The architect was a Mr
Pilkington. While this house was being built the Bagnalls lived in Cintra Lodge in Church Street. She
was Hilda Dunn; they have children, Frederick, Meyrick, Hilda and May. In the neighbourhood they
are well-known as clever amateur musicians and actors, and Mr BagnalI is also a very successful
cultivator of mushrooms and asparagus, which he grows in the allotment fields beyond his house.
These garden fields extend for some distance along the Newton Road. There is a large flower garden
all round the house and a plantation of young trees near the road.

The boundary of the Shelford Parva parish is behind the Obelisk Hill, so named because there is a
memorial to Gregory Wale Esq. on its summit. There is a chalk-pit in this hill, belonging to Harold
Hurrell Esq.

There are no more houses on the Newton Road beyond "The Red House" until the corner where it joins
the main road to Cambridge, there on the right hand are some cottages.

Rogers, the gamekeeper, and his wife, formerly Elizabeth George, live at the corner with their only son,
Albert, who is consumptive and cannot work. He is able, however, to make jig-saw puzzles which he
sells to the gentry around.

Further back towards Shelford are a small farm and two more cottages, where Fred Rogers and wife are
living with three children: Frank, May and George.

The people in the other cottage are named Oatmeal. They are strangers who have not been here long.

It is about half-a-mile back to Marshall's corner. The arable fields are a narrow strip between the road
and railway, some of them are in Harston parish and are Wale property.

A gypsy named Mrs Shaw died in a caravan cart which had camped on the grass by the side of the
Newton Road and her pretty children ran about decorated with poppies and with broken steel crinolines
over their clothes. A great number of gypsies came to the funeral of this woman when she was buried
in All Saints Churchyard.

(Written 1914)

There follows a drawing of the Obelisk.

This Obelisk was set up on St Margaret's Mount (called by the country folks "Maggot's Mount") by
lames Church Esquire to Gregory Wale of Shelford as a public testimony of his regard for the Memory
of so worthy a Gentleman. It bears this Inscription:

To the Memory of Gregory Wale, Esquire,
Justice of the Peace for this County
Conservator of the River Cam.

He lived

 

An Advocate for Liberty,
A good Subject,

An Agreeable Companion,
A faithful Friend,

 

An Hospitable Neighbour,
And in all parts of Life

A useful member of Society.

 

He dyed June ye 5, 1739, in ye 71 st year of his age, universally lamented, and was buried in the Parish
Church of Little Shelford.

 

The aforesaid Gregory Wale was born September 26, 1668; married Margaret, daughter of Ezekiel
Sparke, Esquire, of Risby Hall, Suffolk, and had issue, 1. Thomas, his heir; 2. Margaret, married Alien
Hurrell, Esquire; 3. Penelope, died in infancy. Margaret, his wife, died at Shelford, 1702. He married
secondly Eliza, daughter of Captain Thomas Hitch of Melbourn one of the Covenant, and "Preacher of
the Word", who was nothing loath to contract an alliance with such a worshipful gentleman as Gregory
Wale. The issue of this marriage was a son, Hitch Wale, born 1711, who married Mary Mascey. He
died young leaving a daughter, Margaret Wale, "a most charming Woman", and the "Toast" of
Cambridge. She married the Reverend Michael Tyson of St. Bennet's College. (From "History of
ofShelford" by L.S. Wale)

 

There follows a photo, showing a man sitting in the church(?) with the caption:

This photo is taken from the Portrait of John Everett painted by F.L. Wale; he was clerk at Little
Shelford for 40 years. The window partly showing above was painted by Louisa Wale in memory of
her father, The Rev. Malcolm Wale who was Rector of Sunninghill for 40 years; the brass inscription
was placed under the window by his other daughters, Charlotte, Mary, Caroline.

 

JOHN EVERETT, CHURCH CLERK AT SHELFORD PARVA

 

In the days when most of the congregation of All Saints' Church were unable to read, it was necessary
to have one person to lead the responses to the prayers, and John Everett performed this office until the
year 1895, when he died.

 

His portrait was painted by Miss F.L. Wale and is reproduced on the opposite page.

 

He was also Sexton until he was knocked down by a bicycle three years before his death, his leg was
then so much injured that he could no longer dig, neither could he do Postman's work for the letters
were collected and delivered four times a day.

 

His youngest son, Robert, did the postman's work and the eldest daughter, Alice Wisbey, was
Postmistress.

 

H. Mansfield became Sexton.

 

The Post Office was in their cottage which is the large thatched one standing in the corner of Camping
Close, near the Blacksmith's Corner, the other two thatched cottages and the yard were bought by John
Everett from Dr Prince and also two cottages opposite Kirby Lodge. He built a row of new cottages
further along the High Street, all these belong to his daughter, Alice (Mrs John Wisbey).

 

John Everett was born at Foxton, Cambridgeshire. He married Jane Austin of Shelford Parva, and
lived here for forty years. Their children were:

 

Abiatha, living in America;

Ellen, married to Taylor of Harston;
Emily, living in service at Meldreth;
Alice, wife of John Wisbey.

 

1.

The children of Alice and John Wisbey are William, who has been groom to J.F. Eaden Esq. for many
years; he is a very energetic person, very much interested in bee-keeping, and wood-carving which he
exhibits and sells; and Laura, housemaid at Shelford Hall.

John Wisbey is a carter and cultivates an allotment field on the Newton Road and another piece
opposite his house.

The second wife of John Everett was Mary Clarke who was parlour maid at Shelford Hall for some
years; they had one son, named Robert. In 1892 he married Evelyn James who was cook at King's

Farm, after that he went to work on the railway and died soon afterwards.

Jane Austin, the first wife of John Everett, was first cousin to Jane Austin who married Thomas Wisbey
of Shelford Magna, and John Wisbey is their son. The face that these two cousins had the same name
(Jane Austin) and their children marrying each other, has caused much confusion.

A Russian woman named Hagger lived in one of Everett's cottages; she came from Riga in Russia as
servant to the Russian wife of Thomas Wale Esq.; her son started a grocer" shop at Great Shelford and
was Postmaster there in 1895; he married and had children, one of his sons married a Miss Clamp from
Shelford Parva Post Office, they have gone to live elsewhere.

(Written 1913 and 1915)

THE BLACKSMITH'S CORNER

In 1916 Edward Elbourne is the blacksmith who works at the top of High Street, and his mother lives
in the house behind the forge, where his father, Charles Elbourne, died in 1908, but this photograph
which was taken before this date shows him walking down Church Street when he was 68 years of age,
accompanied by his little grandson Charlemagne, then 5 years and 8 months old. In 1914 he enlisted to
fight the Germans.

Charles Elboume was a very good horse-shoer. He treasures the hoof of a dun coloured pony named
Minna which he had shoed for 30 years upon whom all Col. Wale's children had learned to ride.

The Elbourne family is amongst the oldest inhabitants of Little Shelford. Their ancestors were here at
the same time as the De Frevilles who were Lords of the Manor. At one time they had a blacksmith's
forge on the Manor Farm behind the present Rectory garden; for they were Armourers to Sir John de
Freville in 1308.

Thomas Elboume m. Sarah, a sister of Laddy Austin.
Charles m. Maria Haylock.

Sidney (m. Polly Pearle); Florence; Agnes (m. Mr Wilson); Cissie; Edward (m. Alice Cook) - their
children Charlemagne, Edna, Gertie, Ma1colm, Margaret.

There is a good garden behind the Elboume's house, and the small cottage adjoining is inhabited by a
deaf man named Joshua Dare who is a labourer. His father, John Dare, married Eliza Elbourn,
daughter of Richard Elbourn of Elm Farm. John Dare had two brothers, Arthur and William, whose
son, Edward Dare, married Emily the daughter of Martha Brazier and they went to the African Gold
Mines. There was also a Josh Dare who married one of the daughters of Whybro the carpenter who
was also church clerk; he led the responses at all the services and raised the hymns at funerals. He
could sing any hymn that the mourners chose without accompaniment.

A comic scene once happened in a neighbouring village church. The clerk there began to raise the
hymn before the sermon, but he stopped to apologise saying, "Beg pardon, ladies and gentlemen, I
pitched it too high". Then he tried again and stopped and repeated, "Beg pardon, ladies and gentlemen,
this is too low." He began again but the vicar had hurried up into the pulpit and, banging him on the
head with his sermon commenced to read his text in so loud a voice that he drowned the clerk, and so
won the race.

There is a narrow path between Josh Dare's cottage, the wash houses, and the house near the road
where William Watson lives; al! these buildings are whitewashed and have red tile roofs. They belong
to Mrs Lester, widow of the farmer of the Glebe land who once lived at Frog Hall. A shoemaker
named Howe once lived in this house. WiIIiam Watson who was a shoemaker at one time and also a
postman, came to live in Little Shelford and married Sarah Payne. They have four children who have
all succeeded well in their undertakings. The eldest son, WilIiam, is now an Officer in the regular
army; he enlisted as a Private during the Boer War and became a Sergeant Major. In 1915 he was
given a commission. He married Louisa Butler from Ireland and has sons and daughters. The second
son, James, married Beatrice Oswald and has sons, one of whom was killed fighting in France.
Frederick, the third son, married a much-valued housekeeper named Jessie Chandler. Emily, their
daughter, married a ship's carpenter in the Royal Navy; another daughter died young, she was called
Tilly and was a very pretty child.

At the west end of Watson's garden is a cart road leading from the village street to the premises of
Frederick Marshal!, the builder. A long time ago two thatched cottages stood by the side of this road;
they were inhabited by old Wibdy and his wife and old John Elbourne, but in 1916 they have quite
disappeared.

There follows the Austin pedigree.

BENONI OR INGLESIDE

Is the name (given by Miss Gaul) to the Finch's house, next to the Post Office. She rented it in 1906
and sub-let it (when she went to Johannesburg, Africa) to Mr and Mrs Perry Robinson, whose first
child was born there, and christened Bradstreet, for his godfather is an American of that name. He
came to visit the Perry Robinsons when they were at Ivy Cottage in 1908.

In the yard of the big barn almost touching Benoni on the east side is another white brick house, also
built by Mr King; there the post office people live, and they keep a grocer's shop. There are high
wooden gates opening into the yard near the barn, behind the shop, which since 1908 is kept by Mrs
Miles who is sister-in-law to the last Post Master, Mr Clamp; his daughter married a son of Post Master
Hagger of Great Shelford. Charles Gee was Post Master there in 1908; Mrs Charles Gee died suddenly
in 1914 leaving one son and two daughters (Junior) and subsequently he died in the same year, and in
1915 Miss Hyde is post mistress.

All the Post Office advantages can now be had at Shelford Parva, since 1908, excepting telegrams
which come within one mile from Great Shelford (Magna). The letters come in at seven and five
o'clock, and go out at 8 a.m., 12.15 p.m. and 7.45 p.m, they are collected and delivered by William
Watson, and Farrington, who live at Great Shelford. Ben Pumphrey took the place of Watson in 1910.
Since 1914 the Post Office officials have a holiday on Thursday afternoon, and all the other shops in
the Shelfords and in Cambridge are also closed.

Benoni was built by the Mr King who built the shop next door. It is a square block of white bricks with
slate roof, two storeys of good square rooms it is a cold and dark house, because all the best rooms face
north and the square garden at the back is full of tall trees and lilacs, therefore very little sun ever
shines upon the house; only the kitchen faces south. The garden is fenced off from the Camping Close
on the south, and divided on the west by a high wall from William Wisbey's Yard, a narrow garden
with bushes and a fence divides the house from the road, and from the small gate a paved path leads up
to the front door; also there is a high gate, in the highest part of the tarred wood fence, and a path
leading to the kitchen, round the west side of the house through the garden. A large lilac tree in the
corner near the shop was broken by snow in April 1908 and then entirely removed. The kitchen garden
belonging to Benoni is opposite the house, across Church Street, between Caguga Cottage and
Christopher Gall's house. Some people named Nash lived several years in Benoni just before Miss
Gaul hired it.

There follows a drawing of Church Street captioned:

The cottage where Webb lived dated from 1500 AD; it stood behind this black tarred one which is on
W. side of Chequers Pub.

 

In 1909 a recreation room was brought from Whittlesford Military Hospital and erected on the site of
these cottages and named "Freda Room"; a larger building will soon be added to it and called "Victory
Hall".

The second cottage was inhabited by Mr and Mrs Harris Jennings and their son, George, who went to
be a policeman at Bury in 1910, and was married in 1911. About that time Harris Jennings returned to
his former habitation namely the thatched cottage near Ivy Cottage. George Jennings married in 1911.

In Cottage No. I lived Mr and Mrs Freeman and only daughter who married Rayment.

People of the names of Brazier, Gifford, Dare and Pumphrey have lived in Gall's Cottages at various
times; the last named person was a maker of bicycles, and now makes motor cars and drives one on
hire when required; his garage is in Station Road, Great Shelford. This illustration shows the
appearance of these cottages in 1915 - and the old thatched cottage before 1905, also Gall's factory
chimney.

There is a wide strip of garden between the above-mentioned cottages and the ale house called "The
Chequers", and in the east corner of the garden once stood two black wooden cottages joined together,
which had deep thatched roofs, attached to the north end to the thatched cottage where the ale was sold
by Charles Mansfield. At the south end the gable of these cottages was quite at the edge of the road,
and they formed the west side of the ale house yard.

In one cottage lived Mr and Mrs Wibdy. He was called "Old Daddy Foggie" and she was called "a
nice old gurl". She had a tea stall on her doorstep, there was a well of good water in the little garden in
front of her house, and she was always picturesquely dressed in a white muslin mob-cap with a black
ribbon round her head, a print gown and a blue-checked apron, with patterns upon her feet so called
because the circular irons made marks in the mud of the yard and street which were made of gravel and
mended with flint stones.

In the other cottage lived a Mrs Payne who is depicted sitting near her door.

In 1905 these buildings became past restoration and were removed; and the road has been improved
with tar and stones rolled into it.

There were three similar cottages at the other (east) end of the ale house and in them lived Laddy
Austin, the shoemaker, and his wife, who was a washerwoman; they had two attractive daughters, one
of whom married Elbourne, the blacksmith; their neighbour named Johnson kept a great many donkeys
who were stabled in the big bam across the road, one of them bit him so his face was always tied up. It
was Viels, who lived in the third little cottage, whose doorstep was below the level of the road.

These buildings and the Chequers ale house were all burned down, so also was the big black bam
behind them belonging to the wheelwright, Godfrey, whose yard and house stood where Primrose Villa
now stands. Thomas Austin rebuilt the ale house and put up a painted sign on a post, and it has since
been called The Chequers Public House. It is a square block of white bricks with a slate roof, there is
only a tiny strip of back yard to it, and a wooden passage shed between it and the fence of Rose
Cottage, but the interior is roomy and convenient.

Henry Mansfield, the son of Charles, managed the Public House for many years, subsequently the
County Council took away the licence because after his death there was not enough custom to make the
house pay its way. It is now more like a private Inn.

CAGUGA COTTAGE

So named by Miss E.C. Cross who bought it from William Gall in 1896; she let the cottage several
times, once to a Mr Newman who kept dogs and horses, and subsequently to E.P. Robinson and wife,
and others. She was educated at Newnham College, Cambridge, and was a teacher at Baltimore
University in the States. Edward Whybro, the carpenter, built this cottage and was the first person to
live in it.

The entrance to Whybro's yard behind the cottage was under a wooden building which touched the
black barn of the Prince Regent Public House; it was a storing-loft. Miss Cross pulled it down and
filled the gap with a high wooden gate in line with the cottage and made the carpenter's yard into a
garden, and built outhouses and a conservatory; she also erected a high paling to separate her garden
from the garden belonging to Miss Finch. On the east side of that bit of ground stands the picturesque
house where the Gall family were all born, it is thatched and has a gable-end standing on the edge of
the footpath, the rest of the building at right angles to the gable stands rather back from the road with a
narrow garden full of lilies of the valley, and various trees overhanging the house, a low black slat
fence divides these gardens from the road. The entrance gate to Gall's yard is in line with the gable,
the yard is paved with cobble stones, and there are many outhouses where ropes and sacks are stored,
for the Galls are rope-makers also.

Mrs William Gall's mother lived in a cottage behind the Chequers Public House where she had a
school for c1tildren, and an oven for baking bread; she died of lock-jaw. Subsequently Mrs Webb, the

  tailor's wife, lived there until thecottage waspujled down in 1905.      

                       . .", •.

Christopher Gall made a large new store-shed in which he kindly allowed the Charity Jumble Sales to
be held in the years 1905 and 1908. The rope-walk runs at the back of these buildings, and the gardens
I have just described, in a line parallel with the main street. There are a row of rustling poplar trees
shading the rope-walk and beyond that are ploughed fields belonging to the Manor Farm. William Gall
used to make asphalt and disinfecting fluids in his yard: He built a very tall brick chimney there but 
the smoke and the odours from the asphalt manufacture were so distressing to the whole parish that it

was bought by J.F. Eaden Esquire and Charles Clay Esquire in the year 1895. William Gall then set up
works in Stapleford near the railway bridge and his brother, Christopher, continued the rope-walk
business in Shelford. The east wall of Gall's yard is formed by the backs of two cottages whose doors 

  and windows are turned away to the east.                                                                   

(Written 1909)

The house next door to The Chequers is called Rose Cottage. It was built by Whybro the carpenter, but
then it was burned down and rebuilt by Thomas Austin. There is a large garden at the back well
stocked with fruit trees by the second Mrs Charles Gee, whose maiden name was Ann Collins, who has
been nurse to all the children and grand-children of Col. R.G. Wale at Shelford Hall; she married in
1888.

The Charles Gees came to live in Rose Cottage on January 5th 1870. He was a painter and plumber.
He erected a stable and loft of wood at the end of the garden and put up a porch over the front door. He
died in , and his widow died five years later; they are buried under the yew tree at the east
end of the Church, near his first wife who had been cook to Sir Charles Wale at the Old Shelford house.
Her children were Eliza, who married Edward Cole; and Charles who built many houses in Shelford
Parva and managed the Post Office.

Mrs Dawson's mother lived and died in Rose Cottage, the mother of Frank Litchfield was her servant.
Mrs Wysham was nurse to the children of Edward Prest who married Meta Papillon of Crowhurst in
Kent. She was daughter of Mr and Mrs Thomas Rider, who rented White Farm; their other children
were named Thomas, Peter, George, Joseph, Cornwall is, William, Sarah Jane, Mary Ann.

The second Mrs Charles Gee died in 1906 and left the Cottage to Miss Frederica Wale, who sold it to
Charles Clay Esquire in 1907, and his bailiff, Mr Josephs, went to live in it. In 1914 another bailiff
named Stephens lives there.

(Written 1914)

CONCERNING THE RECTOR & FAMILY

The Rev. J.E. Law married Miss Blanche Simpson, and they had two daughters, Ethel and Eleanor.
Mrs Law died in 1886, and in 1887 Eleanor married John Ratcliffe Cousins and they have a son and
two daughters, Richard, Ethel and Heather. In 1888 Mr Law married Miss Florence Georgina
Lawrence of Harston; they had no children. The second Mrs Law was musical, and during her time the
choir singing was very much improved and the men and boys put into surplices; she played the small

 

organ which is placed opposite the vestry door, and Mrs Dunn who was a well-known amateur singer
helped to train the choir; they were well supported by one of the choir men named Sidney Rogers who
had a beautiful baritone voice. Two of his brothers also sang in the choir, and there were several other
enthusiastic men and boys who voluntarily gave their services, so that the choir at that time was one of
the best in the neighbourhood. Then Mrs Law left Shelford, and Mrs Dunn died, an organist from
Sawston named Mr Beagle controlled the choir, and it remained up to a high standard until Sidney
Rogers left Shelford in 1914.

In 1886 the Rev. J.E. Law employed a curate named Rev. F.W. Whitehead who had other work in
Cambridge but came to preach at Shelford Parva twice every Sunday.

Mrs Chas Law, a widow, often came to stay with her brother-in-law with two sons, Charles and Ernest
who is now a well known professional singer.

Miss Agnes Simpson, sister of Mrs lE. Law, also came sometimes, accompanied with pets of various
kinds, for she devoted her life to birds, cats, dogs and horses in rescuing them from miserable
circumstances, and once she arrived with a parrot who used such bad language that he could not be
kept in the Rectory drawing room.

Samuel Rogers m. Susan Harvey; had 22 children.
One of them, William Rogers m. May Anne Upshard.

Their children Martha; Nora; Rose; Violet (m. Fordham); Addle; Gladys (m. Goodwin); Harold;
Sidney (m. Joiner); Ernest; Rupert; Llewellyn; Edwin.

FW then notes: Rogers, Gamekeeper m. Elizabeth George (one son Alfred); the 22nd child, Millie,
married Brunning (Sanitary Inspector).

PRIMROSE VILLA (formerly Wheelwright's Yard)

A low paling and wall separates the garden of Rose Cottage and Primrose Villa. In 1909, Mrs
Marking, a widow, lived there with two daughters; one married a man named Chater, an accountant at
Bournemouth, she had a son in 1908. In 1914 two Miss Bentons, district nurses, came to live there.

The garden of Primrose ViIIa is about a quarter of an acre and the Villa stands well back from the road.
There is a conservatory with good black grapes growing in it planted there by Mr John Riches when he
bought the ground from the Willis family and built the Villa.

At the same time he bought also two cottages adjoining called Providence Place, so named by a Herb
Doctor who once lived there. Edward Godfrey the wheelwright had his yard where Primrose Villa now
stands. Eventually Charles Jennings bought all this property and in 1914 it still belongs to his children.

(Written 1909; 1914, 1916)

There follows the Godfrey pedigree.

Edward Godfrey had a big black thatched bam in his yard which was burned down at the same time as
Rose Cottage. And he never got over it.

During the war with Germany Mr Bright Smith and Mr Stephen were appointed "Special Constables",
one of their duties was to see that no bright lights were showing from any of the houses which might
attract enemy aircraft, for on several nights Zeppelin ships passed over the Shelfords without doing any
damage up to the present time July 1916.

Next to Providence Place is a grass field belonging to the Church House, a high white brick wall hides
the field from the road. It was built by Mr Whitechurch when he bought the Villa from a Mrs Francis
who was a daughter of Whybro.

A nice thick privet hedge used to grow where the wall now is, and the Cottage was quite a small
modest place covered by ivy and creepers and shaded by evergreen bushes from the road. Mr
Whitechurch refaced it with white brick and put a bow window on each side of the door and made a
carriage sweep in front with two gates into the road. He had two handsome young daughters who

organ which is placed opposite the vestry door, and Mrs Dunn who was a well-known amateur singer
helped to train the choir; they were well supported by one of the choir men named Sidney Rogers who
had a beautiful baritone voice. Two of his brothers also sang in the choir, and there were several other
enthusiastic men and boys who voluntarily gave their services, so that the choir at that time was one of
the best in the neighbourhood. Then Mrs Law left Shelford, and Mrs Dunn died, an organist from
Sawston named Mr Beagle controlled the choir, and it remained up to a high standard until Sidney
Rogers left Shelford in 1914.

In 1886 _!he Rev. J.E. Law employed a curate named Rev. F.W. Whitehead who had other work in
Cambridge but came to preach at Shelford Parva twice every Sunday.

Mrs Ch as Law, a widow, often came to stay with her brother-in-law with two sons, Charles and Ernest
who is now a well known professional singer.

Miss Agnes Simpson, sister of Mrs J.E. Law, also came sometimes, accompanied with pets of various
kinds, for she devoted her life to birds, cats, dogs and horses in rescuing them from miserable
circumstances, and once she arrived with a parrot who used such bad language that he could not be
kept in the Rectory drawing room.

Samuel Rogers m. Susan Harvey; had 22 children.
One of them, William Rogers m. May Anne Upshard.

Their children Martha; Nora; Rose; Violet (m. Fordham); Addie; Gladys (m. Goodwin); Harold;
Sidney (m. Joiner); Ernest; Rupert; Llewellyn; Edwin.

FW then notes: Rogers, Gamekeeper m. Elizabeth George (one son Alfred); the 22nd child, Millie,
married Brunning (Sanitary Inspector).

PRIMROSE VILLA (formerly Wheelwright's Yard)

A low paling and wall separates the garden of Rose Cottage and Primrose Villa. In 1909, Mrs
Marking, a widow, lived there with two daughters; one married a man named Chater, an accountant at
Bournemouth, she had a son in 1908. In 1914 two Miss Bentons, district nurses, came to live there.

The garden of Primrose Villa is about a quarter of an acre and the Villa stands well back from the road.
There is a conservatory with good black grapes growing in it planted there by Mr John Riches when he
bought the ground from the Willis family and built the Villa.

At the same time he bought also two cottages adjoining called Providence Place, so named by a Herb
Doctor who once lived there. Edward Godfrey the wheelwright had his yard where Primrose Villa now
stands. Eventually Charles Jennings bought all this property and in 1914 it still belongs to his children.

(Written 1909, 1914, 1916)

There follows the Godfrey pedigree.

Edward Godfrey had a big black thatched barn in his yard which was burned down at the same time as
Rose Cottage. And he never got over it.

During the war with Germany Mr Bright Smith and Mr Step hen were appointed "Special Constables",
one of their duties was to see that no bright lights were showing from any of the houses which might
attract enemy aircraft, for on several nights Zeppelin ships passed over the Shelfords without doing any
damage up to the present time July 1916.

Next to Providence Place as a grass field belonging to the Church House, a high white brick wall hides
the field from the road. It was built by Mr Whitechurch when he bought the Villa from a Mrs Francis
who was a daughter of Whybro.

A nice thick privet hedge used to grow where the wall now is, and the Cottage was quite a small
modest place covered by ivy and creepers and shaded by evergreen bushes from the road. Mr
Whitechurch refaced it with white brick and put a bow window on each side of the door and made a
carriage sweep in front with two gates into the road. He had two handsome young daughters who

married, one to Captain Kennedy and the other to a Mr Wilson, and the son, Percy Whitechurch,
married Mildred Austin. Mr Whitechurch sold this house to Mr M.W. Mowlam with wife and
children, and mother, living with them.

Mr Mowlam added rooms at the back of the house and sunk a deep well, he ala cut down a fine elm
tree at the back of the garden, seen from the road.

An old Mrs Whitechurch, and a niece of the same name, lived in the house for a short time.

(Written 1914)

Mr & Mrs Hughes and her son and two daughters also once lived there, until Mr Hughes died after a
long and tedious illness. She was a daughter of Major Pemberton of Newton, Cambs.

A Mrs & Miss Perkins connected with the University and the County also hired the house for a time,
and in more remote times a Dr'C)akes lived there with a family. He was the father of the Provost of
King's College in Cambridge, who lived to extreme old age. The Provost had two golden-haired
daughter who drove about in a magnificent yellow coach which was often seen in Little Shelford.

THE AUTUMN MANOEUVRES

About the 11 th July 1912 the troops began to arrive; the Engineers and Sappers were encamped at
Newton in a field belonging to Harold Hurrell Esq. and later on a large number of cavalry regiments
were camped in his park for there was good grass and a copious stream of fresh water which lasted well
all the time of the manoeuvres, and the soil being gravelly the ground here and at Shelford was good
for camping upon, and the rain prevented the roads from being dusty; the sun was hidden by a layer of
thick white clouds all over the sky, and there was no wind to wreck the aeroplanes. A great many
passed over Shelford flying about 200 feet high, and there were no accidents. A constant stream of
horses passed the Lodge corner going to water at the shallows in the Granta at the Great Shelford
Bridge, and troops of cavalry, infantry and artillery came by - with long trains of commissariat and
ambulance wagons; many of these bivouacked in the Hall park near the stone diggings, and on the 4th
September the "Scots Greys" had a rest for about 2 hours in the Camping Close. F.L. Wale and the
other people living round the field boiled their kettles for them, and gave them tea and apples; it was
then 10 o'clock in the morning, and they had eaten nothing since 6.30 p.m. the day before. The
inhabitants of the Shelfords lived out of doors watching the manoeuvres while they lasted, and felt dull
when they were over.

These families are mentioned on this page because each of them has some particular connection with
All Saints' Church - Reginald, William and Bertie Taylor had good voices and sang very regularly in
the church choir. William enlisted in 1914 and died 1915 fighting the Germans in France. Some of
their cousins have also sung in the choir. A Mr Pettit gives valuable help with his fine bass volce.

The Ellums are connected with the Pettits and Taylors through the GiIlinghams who are descended
from a Rector of that name who lived at Little Shelford Manor House.

There follows the pedigree of the Taylor and Pettit families.

CINTRA LODGE

The George Dawsons (their daughter Mrs Dyer Saunders) retired into this house when he became an
invalid and gave up farming; she sold the village shop to Mrs Dean of Rose Cottage who had two sons.
Mr Dawson died in Cintra Lodge and Mrs Dawson then went to live with her daughters at

after which the house was let to various people.

Mr & Mrs BagnalI lived there in 1885 while their house on the Newton Road was being built; they
went to live there in 1889, i.e. at the Red House.

A Captain and Mrs Barrett with several young daughters lived at Cintra Lodge while he was recruiting
for the Marines. He was very religious and held meetings for prayer and Bible reading.

After him came Dr Brown D.D. and his wife and daughters, one of them was married to the Rev. 1.
Keys in All Saints' Church. Mrs Brown died in and was buried On the north side of the
Church. Dr Brown subsequently lived and died in Norfolk when staying with the Keys.

Then Mr Whitechurch lived there many years with an invalid wife. He made many improvements and
died in 1907, and is buried in Shelford Parva Churchyard. Their son, Percy, married Mildred Austin,
and one daughter married a Captain Kennedy, and the other daughter married a Mr Wilson; their father
has left Shelford and married a second wife.

In 1908 Mr Hart, Tutor and Librarian of St John's College, Cambridge, came to live in Cintra Lodge
and his landlord, Mr Lockhart, built several new rooms and improved the house in many ways. In
1910 the Harts went to live at Holt in Norfolk and some people named Rutter hired the house until
1914; since it has been standing empty.

A white-washed wall separates the narrow strip of garden from the road, and a fence separates it from
the Camping Close on the south. It is bounded at the west end by a huge tarred-wood barn owned by
Mr Bright Smith.

A high white gate into a yard fills the space between the barn and the Post Office.

There follows the pedigree of the Giffard, Prior and Ellum families.

In September 1914 the house next to this which is called Cintra Lodge was lent the parish for the use of
some refugees from Antwerp who arrived three days before they were expected and a baby was born
the same night. The mother was named Mrs Brockhart(?). Mr Brockhart(?) was a guard civic at
Antwerp. She had three other children who could walk - their grandmother Mrs Cook(?) was crippled
with rheumatism and arrived in a bathchair accompanied by her daughter Miss Cook(?). In June 1915
they left Little Shelford and went to live in another part of England in a house which they hired for
themselves. Both in Gt and Lt Shelford the refugees were supported by private charity till 1916.

There follows a drawing of The Three Horse Shoes (the above is a caption to this drawing).

(Written 1916)

THE THREE HORSE SHOES

This Public House stood by the side of Church Road, on slightly raised ground at the west end of the
wall which encloses the garden belonging to Mr and Mrs Lofts. It belonged to the brewer Headly of
Great Shelford, and only his beer might be sold there, and it was pathetic to see new sets of tenants
succeeding each other at the Three Horse Shoes, and finding very little custom, because the house was
superfluous, there being five other Public Houses in Shelford Parva, namely The Chequers
[Checkers], The Prince Regent, the Waggon & Horses, The Plough and The Prince WiIliam. All these
Public Houses were more conveniently situated, and therefore had more regular customers for the beer
they sold.

In 1907 the County Council took away the licence of The Three Horse Shoes, and it was bought by Mr
Lockhart, the Sub-Librarian of St John's College, Cambridge, who married Hilda, a daughter of Arthur
Austin of West House, and he pulled it down in July 1906 and built a new red brick habitation on the
same ground, but further back from the road, and gave 16 feet of ground to the garden of Cintra Lodge
next door which property he had also bought, from Mr Whitechurch in 1907, who had bought it from
Mrs G. Dawson in 1897.

The windows of the new red brick house overlooked Mr Lofts' garden, so a wooden screen was erected
on the top of the wall near the windows.

The last people who lived in the Three Horse Shoes were a Mr and Mrs Aspbury, and a fox terrier; the
man, and the dog, died there, and the woman remained till the house was pulled down and then went to
Great Shelford. A widow named Howard lived for years at the Three Horse Shoes, and later in life she
married Thomas Austin, who held the Prince Regent Public House; she had three sons.

There was a large yard at the back of the Three Horse Shoes, and stables and sheds round the yard
which was separated from the field called the Camping Close by a low fence of wood.

Upon the road and touching the fence of Cintra Lodge was a small white-brick building of one storey
high, used as a shop by various people for short periods. Once a butcher occupied it, then a sculptor
who made a portrait bust of John Dunn Esq., then a bicycle maker named Varty, from Cambridge,
came when the machines first became fashionable, and after him a youth named Gilbert Miles, who
subsequently went to help his mother at the Post Office.

Once during "Feast Time" a 'Round-about' was lodged in the yard of the Three Horse Shoes, which
played the same violently loud tunes for hours together, while children and grown-ups whirled round
and round upon the wooden horses or ostriches. A Dr Brown, D.D., who then resided at Cintra Lodge,
was driven out of his house during the performance. On the grass near his garden wall there were also
established stalls for sweets, and coconuts, and there were other places of amusement along the road.
In June 1914 the 'Round-about' and accompanying tents had their rejoicings in the grass field near
White Farm. These Feasts are the remnant of very large Fairs which were held all over the country
before the time of railways, when village people bought most of their clothes and other necessaries for
the whole year. The Fair in Little Shelford was patronised by all the inhabitants of Shelford Parva.
The Rector, Mr Finch, walked arm in arm through it with Lady Wale, and went to see the theatrical
performance, while their children bought dolls and sweets at the stalls, and rode in the swinging boats.
There was dancing in the Public Houses in the evening.

There follows a drawing dated March 1918 and captioned 'West end of Evening School or Studio
Cottage'

The fence in the foreground divides the Studio garden from a railed off corner of the Camping Close,
which was once a gravel tennis court, the gravel was subsequently put on the paths which had been
made of clinkers from Mr Hamer Towgood's paper mill at Sawston in 1878.

This view shows how the new room was added in 1862 to one of the two adjoining cottages, built by
Williams the carpenter - and the Tudor shaped bow window was brought from the "Old House" to
enlarge the two small rooms, which were made into one room and used as a Reading room for men,
while the boys were taught by John Riches (a gardener) in the new room, a removable wooden partition
was put between the two rooms, which were often used together for "Penny Readings". An audience
of a hundred people could be crowded in. Colonel R.G. Wale supplied books and writing materials,
lamps and firing, he also gave lectures on various subjects. After a geography lesson, with a globe, a
man said, "Well Kunnel, you won't never make me believe as how the world goes round, for I never
seed your trees in no place but where they are now." Mr and Mrs Nun were caretakers. The second
view of the cottage at the foot of this page was taken from the wall, near the Church.

The large north window, in the gable end, over the double north door, was made by Edward Walker
(carpenter) for Miss F.L. Wale about 1893, when she painted portraits in the "Evening School Rooms".
She continues to use the rooms for a Studio to this day (1914).

From about 1885 to 1908, technical work was taught there, instead of reading and writing - Mrs Eaden
gave lessons in wood carving - Miss M. Wale taught bent iron work - Miss F.L. Wale gave lessons in
drawing, and basket work - Miss Fredericka Wale organised various entertainments - Theatricals,
Concerts, Dances, Jumble Sales, Cooking classes, School Teas, Cricket luncheons. Parish Meetings
took place there. All this continued until technical instruction was given by County Council
arrangement, in the School and Institute at Shelford Magna. But the rooms were used after that for
Sunday School, 42 boys and 40 girls assembled there, morning and afternoon, until 1909 - since then
the Sunday School has been held in the Church.

"The Camping Close anciently called Angel Close of 5 acres by estimation - Did belong to the King's
Farm - When T. Wale purchased same 1770 - he made an exchange: took the Camping Close to his
own use, and in lieu thereof - He gave and turned over to King's Farm - Carter's Close of 4 acres
lately Gough and late Impson's 1 Acre of land in the close behind the Gt. Barn at King's Farm -"
Copied from Terrier of Thomas Wale.

On Epiphany Sunday in 1918 Major Vernon Harcourt de Butts Powell was laid to rest on the North
Side of All Saints' Church, at Little Shelford, near his G.father - Colonel R.G. Wale, whose father
General Ssir Charles Wale reposes in the family vault behind the iron railings. Major Powel! was the
eldest son of the late Harcourt Powell, Vicar of Wollaston in Northamptonshire, and Cecil Henrietta
Wale, 3rd daughter of Colonel Wale. He was born in 1886 and educated at Chomllely House
Eastbourne, then at Highgate College, and Keble College, Oxford, where he received an honour degree.
He then became second master at Appleby School in Oakville, Toronto, and upon the outbreak of war
with Germany he obtained a commission in Canadian Field Artillery, and was promoted Captain of the
13th C.F.A. At the battle of the Somme he was wounded and received the Military Cross for
conspicuous gallantry. In September 1917 he became Major of the 53rd Battery, and in October he
burned his hands severely with cordite in extinguishing a fire among the live shells in his gun pit, but
he did not relinquish his military duties. On December 7th he was badly wounded by an explosion and
sent to England, where he died on Jan. 2nd from the effects of shell shock, and was buried with military
honours on the 6th Jan. 1918. The old boys of Appleby School are erecting a new school house to his
memory.

ROYAL TELEGRAM

The King and Queen deeply regret the loss you and the Army have sustained by the death of Major
H.V. de B. Powell M.C. in the service of his country. Their Majesties truly sympathise with you in
your sorrow.

Buckingham Palace. Jan. 15th.

The Brigadier General W.O.F. Dodds,

Commanding the 5th Division Canadian Artillery kindly wrote to the Major's mother to say how sorry
he was to lose so gallant and efficient a Battery Commander, and that all the Battery would feel his
untimely death very keenly. Evidently he was valued and loved by all his Battery for letters have come
from Lieutenant-Colonel Henson and Captain Englin and many Gunners expressing a wish to raise a
Memorial to his memory, and his mother has replied that she would like the memorial to be something
for wounded soldiers at Toronto or Oakville, where he spent the happiest years of his life. She is
giving a memorial present to St Thomas's Church, Coventry, for she has been living in that parish since
1913, when her youngest son Edward Blennerhassett Selwyn Powell was apprenticed to the Coventry
Ordnance Works. He has worked there very steadily for four years and was sent to the North Sea Man
of War ships as a prentice fitter for several months in 1916.

Her second son Robert Desmond Fitzgerald Powell was also educated at Cholemley House Eastbourne,
then at Highgate School, and was apprenticed to the Great Northern Railway at Doncaster. He went to
Mexico to work in Oil Mines and remained there 3 years. He was well paid but went through many
dangers and fevers. However, he returned to England in good health in 1917 as engineer on an oil tank
for the Mexican Oil Company, and now in Jan. 191 he has just started on his 3r Oil R.N. Transport
Voyage.

Their only sister Norah Cecil Wale Powell is a shorthand-typist under Sir Auckland Geddes at The
Windsor Hotel, Westminster.

Two youths, Henry and Frederick Carrow who are fighting in France since 1915 are the sons of the
Colonel Carrow who is commanding the Ambulance Transport Corps at the front, and their mother
Alice is daughter of the late Charles Brent Wale Esq. brother of Co!. R.G. Wale.

Frederika the youngest daughter of Co!. RG. Wale died from influenza in July 1918. She is now
resting in Kensington Cemetery, Hanwell: because she was employed as the night Superintendent of
the T.M.C.A. with American Expeditionary Forces (American Y.M.C.A.). They sent a wreath of laurel
leaves, to which was attached a ribbon, woven in red and white stripes and white stars on a blue ground
and accompanied by the following inscription: "With deepest sympathy from the Staff of Eagle Hut
London. In loving appreciation of Miss Wale's unselfish service."

There follows a drawing of the north side of All Saints' Church.

This path leads to the new ground. Annine Willis was buried in December 1916 near his mother and
brother.

The three painted windows behind the rose tree and the vault within iron railings, also the oval tablets
on the wall and 2 flat stones on grass mounds are all Wale memorials.

The 4 wooden crosses are in memory of his [? Armine' s] mother and brother and other members of the
Willis family. The Finch family vault is under the chancel window.

The most ancient grave stones are on the South side of the church. And a tomb within iron railings is
near the church tower, it is to the memory of Mr Piper who lived for a short time at the Manor House -
"Think what his character will be at the Great day

And reader also think what yours will be"

THE LETICE CHARITY FUND

There is a wooden board hanging in the belfry upon which is recorded the history of this charity -
Letice Martin stood upon Heydon Hill and bequeathed a sum of money to the deserving poor of every
parish of which she could see the church spire. This charity money is distributed once a year in Little
Shelford, and in 1915 it was worth about Three Pounds and Ten Shillings.

The bees which fed in the lime trees all died in 1913 and new ones had to be imported from Belgium.

THE PAYNES OF LITTLE SHELFORD

Are descended from a farmer of this name who lived at Morden in Cambs.
There follows the family tree.

Joseph Payne and his 9 brothers and sisters were born and brought up in a small thatched cottage in the
Pound Yard which was one of a group - his married life was spent in other parts of the village - and he
came back to live in the only remaining thatched cottage when he was 89 years old and died there in
1916.

Benjamin Payne died in 1895 aged 82 at WiIliam Jackson's cottage in the Terrace.

This portrait of Miss Elizabeth Finch [some pages previously] shows the kind of room in which she sat,
Iookin out of the window, while she worked at Tatting. The wall behind her is covered by a full-
length oil portrait of her grandfather, and a large square oil painting representing the Manor House,
built by Palavicini in the time of Queen Elizabeth, but this latter cannot be seen in the above picture.

There were several other large portraits on the other walls of the room, and on each side of the fireplace
were glass cupboards full of odd bits of china, dessert and dinner sets, used by the Finch family when
they lived at the Rectory. One whole set of valuable dessert china was broken one evening when the
table was being moved nearer to the fire. The shape and pattern can be seen in the designs below, of
the china commonly used by the Finch and Wale families.

All the pictures and china were inherited by Mr George Finch's children, at the death of Miss Elizabeth
in 1813; she survived all her brothers and sisters, and died in the old house at the age of 82, and is
buried on the north side of the church behind the willow tree near the grave of the Rev. J.E. Law. The
vault where all the old Finches were buried is against the vestry, on the north of the church, and the
chapel, in perpendicular style, is on the south side of the church, full of tablets and brasses to the
memory of Ingles and Finches.

Miss Harriet Finch was a pretty little person with pink cheeks and grey curls bunched at her temples;
she could play the guitar, having had lessons from Herr Bruni, who was leader of the bank of the King
of Sardinia, and he stayed in Cambridge with Mr Sidlake Gray.

Elizabeth and Harriet Finch were as useful as curates to their father, the Rev. C. Finch, and they held a
large bazaar in Cambridge to make money towards building a school at Shelford Magna, in which they
helped to teach on week-days as well as on Sundays. The children paid one penny a week, and
two pence if they learned to write. A resident master and mistress were appointed, who were Mr and
Mrs Hopkins.

After their father's death, Harriet and Elizabeth became governesses until they returned to live with
their brother, Henry, in their brother George's house. They all died there.

The youngest sister, Eleanor Finch, married the Rev. J.1. Soden of Rislangle, Eye, Suffolk; their son
John is a clergyman. Hermione married Mr William Lach, and their other daughter is named

IsabeIla Finch married the Rev. Charles Grain of Shelford Magna and had six daughters, the eldest,
Louisa, died at Shelford Magna in ; Mildred is a professional musician; Alice, a Roman
Catholic, is not married; their other daughters are Mrs Donavan and Mrs Garrett.

Mrs Finch died at the Major Farm, and her son, the Rev. Charles Finch, was Rector of Shelford Parva
and he also preached at Shelford Magna. He lived in the Rectory at Shelford Parva with his wife, nee
Lavinia Crow, and nine children. The eldest son, Capt. Ray Finch, went with his regiment to Australia
and married his Colonel's daughter, Miss Anne Harriet Wilson. William was a Scholar of Corpus
Christi College, Cambridge, and a magistrate at Lolong, he married another Miss Wilson named
Elizabeth and had nine children. Edward married another sister, Lavinia Wilson, they had no children.
Henry, the second son, inherited the Manor property and the advousen of the living, but he sold it all to
Mr Law of Cambridge and died a bachelor in the house which belonged to his youngest brother,
George Ingle Finch, who married Bessie Soden and had three children, Henry, Ellen Lavinia and
Catherine. They still own the house called Ingleside.

The Rev. C. Finch marked M.P. upon each new sermon that he preached because Miss M.P. Wale
would "pass remarks" if he happened to read one of them a second time.

(Written 1914)

Previous to the year 1851 there was a musician's gallery at the west end of the Church, across the arch
of the belfry tower, where all kinds of instruments were played - a flute, a violin and a shawm were
used, and old Jim Austin turned the handle of the barrel-organ. And often the clerk Whybro sang the
funeral hymns without music.

The balustrade of the gallery was in bars of wood like the square openings in the arches of the chancel.
Over each of these square openings was a text of scripture and on the south was written:

"0 that thee were wise that they understood this that they would consider their latter end." Deut.
XXXII.29.

On the north side:

"What doth the Lord require of thee but to do justly, and to have mercy, and to walk humbly with thy
God." Micah VI.8.

When the Rood Loft was removed from above the Chancel arch, the musician's gallery was also taken
away, and a harmonium replaced the barrel-organ and other instruments of music, until the Rector, J.E.
Law, provided a chamber organ in the Chancel, and subsequently a choir of men and boys dressed in
white surplices.

The organ was played by various amateurs until an organist and choir master was found, namely Mr
Beagle from Sawston, to whom was paid the salary of £12 a year, and who very kindly bicycled over
on Wednesday evenings to choir practice and stayed in Shelford all Sunday to play the organ at the
morning service and alternate afternoon or evening services.

For the last few years during Advent and Lent the Rector, E.T.S. Carr, has provided a special preacher
on Wednesday evenings. The present Bishop of Ely, Dr Chase, has often preached from this pulpit.

Our choir boys have gone to Great Shelford, because they are paid there, and six school girls have
efficiently taken their place. Mrs Bagnall and Violet Morley help the girls, and they are well supported
by several men with good voices, namely George Pettit, Ben DockeriIl, WiIliam Steam and?

(Written 1914)

 

A PEAL OF FIVE BELLS

Have the following inscriptions engraved upon three of them:

On the 4th Bell Cristofer Woodgate C.W. 1701 - ON 3RD Ricardus Holdfield me fecit and Henry
Wryesle Earl of Southampton 1612.

The weight of the bells is then given.

Here is written a list of the men who ring these bells in 1916: Robert Elbourn - James Austin -
Benjamin Pumphrey - William Jackson - ? Dean - Sidney Pearl.

The woodwork to support the bells had to be renewed before the bells could be rehung in 1895.

"The Autobiography of the smallest bell" was written by Edna Elbourne, the Blacksmith's daughter,
who was a school girl in 1918:

"In 1840 I happened with a sad disaster, a tinker in the village came one night and knocked off my
crown in order to be revenged on the Rector. The services of the village blacksmith were required to fit
me up with bolts so that I could help to call the people to the Sunday service. In 1897 I was recast at
Whitechapel, London, and was again hung in my familiar corner. Through the window I could often
see funeral mourners coming slowly up the path and also gay bridal parties." 

The most ancient portions of the Church (apparently of the original building) are -. ~ recently opened
"N0rIllandoorway and window in the North wall of the Nave. The Chancel was built by Sir John de
-Freville in 1308, whose portrait and that of his wife were formerly placed in the East Window, and his
Canopied Monument, with legible inscription, exists in fair preservation on the North Wall of the
Chancel. The present Nave was partly rebuilt when the De Freville Chantry and the Tower were
constructed about 1450. The Chancel was altered at the same time. The decorated masonry of 1308 in
the Window being perished, a five light East Window, in the Perpendicular Style with rich stained
glass, was substituted in 1450: a description and sketch to be found in Cole's MSS, bust before it fell
to ruin. This Church suffered much damage during the Great Rebellion in the year 1760. The eastern
portion being greatly dilapidated, was rebuilt in the fashion of that period. Several Brasses and
Monumental Slabs (described in Cole's and Baker's MSS) were destroyed. The East Window having
fallen out, a wooden one was inserted in brickwork, and a door from a large house at Newton was
placed in the South Wall and removed at the Restoration in 1879.

Upon the restoration of the Church, the Chancel was repaired on the original foundations. In taking
down the walls portions of stone coffin and fragments of the work of 1080 and 1300 were found;
some of these have been worked up and now exposed to view. The original encaustic tiles, which were
found perfect, are inserted in the pavement within the railings in the form of a Cross. In 1854 the
Church was re-seated and the old square Pews removed, the present Chancel Arch constructed, and the
Pulpit placed to the east of the large North window close to the Arch. The Crusader's effigy was
removed from the centre of the Chancel and placed under the Canopy on the North wall. The Brasses
were taken from the Nave into the De Freville Chantry.

To complete the Restoration the Church was closed for nine months and re-opened by the Bishop of
Ely, April 24, 1879.

The Oak Seats were given by Colonel R.G. Wale, and the East Window by the late Incumbent, the Rev.
1. Law, who also restored the De Freville arms behind the Choir seats. The large North Window was
filled with stained glass, designed and executed by Colonel Wale's daughter (Mrs Powell), C.H.W.,
and three other Memorial Windows were given to the Church by other members of the family, two on
the North, and one on the South of the Nave.

Little Shelford, "All Saints". This small Church contains much that is curious and interesting. In the
Chancel is a Monument with recumbent effigy of a Crusader, supposed to be that of an ancestor of the
De Frevilles, Lords of the Manor, and apparently of the date of the First Crusade (1096-1097), The
Armorial bearings of that family denote a participation in the Sieges of Ni ea ea, Antioch, and Jerusalem.

In the North wall of the Chancel is a beautiful Canopied Monument of late decorated date to Sir John
de Freville, with an inscription in Norman French. Near it is another Monumental Arch of pure early
decorated mouldings (probably an "Easter Tomb"). A doorway has been opened into a small
perpendicular Sacristy. The Chancel contains several Monumental Slabs. Two to Purbeck Marble

Over the front door porch of the Rectory flourishes a beautiful Wisteria. Mr Law was a natural
scientist, and had good collections of geological specimens and butterflies etc. The telescope which he
used for examining the moon and stars is still on the top of the summerhouse, and the garden remains
as he planned it, and the same gardener is there; Henry Mansfield is his name. There is a fme
Wellingtonia fir tree. The lawn is perfectly kept. A belt of Firs, Bird Cherry and Plane trees, shuts off
the churchyard, and near the gate is a remarkably thick well-cut box hedge. The hot houses and kitchen
garden are on the north side of the Rectory, also a fowl run, and the stable-yard and kitchen entrance
are at the west end, and a small gate leads into the churchyard near the vestry.

There follows a map of Church Street/Camping Close/High Street showing properties and their owners.

THE OLD CHURCH HOUSE

A family named Barry also once lived here and a Mr and Mrs Hughes, two daughters and one son; they
were connected with the Pembertons of Newton. A Mrs and Miss Perkins, and Miss Barnes also lived
there, and a family named Oakes(?Okes), the father and mother of Doctor Oakes the Provost of King's
College, Cambridge. He was an M.D. in good practice. Church House was eventually bought by Mr
Whitechurch who added two bow windows and two entrance gates and stables etc.

This is the last house on the North side of Church Street. It is divided from the Church Yard by a high
white brick wall. The house opposite to the South is named in 1914 Fern Cottage. It was bought by
Mr Lofts in 1908 from a commercial traveller named Brown, who put the front windows in the sitting
rooms. Just before his time a Mrs and Miss Waltham lived there and once John Howe's father lived
there. Mr and Mrs Chas. Lofts have other house property in Shelford Magna and Duxford. He says he
is not related to the late Seward Lofts of Shelford Parva. The garden is a long narrow strip behind a
brick wall on the road side and a high paling on the Camping Close side: it reaches as far as the new
red house which has just been built on the site of the old Three Horse Shoes Public House. A good

\ stable built of tarred wood, with a tiled roof, stands under a group of Elm trees in the Camping Close.

Mr Lofts drove a handsome dun coloured pony in a small dog cart, but in 1909 she died of old age; he
. has also some very nice dogs. There were more barns and outhouses at the back when Barker and
Holmes the horse dealers lived there. Other people have lived in this house. Holmes went t live in
Trumpington and died there.

THE MAUSOLEUM

Thomas Wale, son of Gregory Wale, whose memorial obelisk stands on the hill near Newton, and other
Wales, were buried in a Mausoleum in the corner of the Camping Close anciently called Angel Close
opposite the Church, but in March 1845 the Reverend Malcolm Wale, Grandson of Thomas, moved all
the coffins into a vault on the North side of the Church. For in those days unprotected graves were
opened, and the bodies stolen - therefore watchers had to sit all night in the church porch with loaded
guns for two months after funerals to protect the graves from body snatchers. Elbourne and Butler
usually performed this gruesome duty.

The post box in the brick corner of the flint stone wall was put there in 1900, the signpost was just over
it at that time, but in 1909 it was discovered that motors which came from Cambridge could not see it,
so it was moved several yards up the Whittlesford Road, and in February 1909 J.F. Eaden Esquire had
three danger warnings put up near the corner, on the three roads, namely to Shelford Magna, or
Cambridge North East, to Whittlesford East, and Church Street West. There is a triangle of grass at the
meeting of these three roads, where a stone cross once stood - about the year 1851 the top of the cross
had fallen down, and the stones had disappeared, so either the Reverend M. Wale, or the Little Shelford
Rector, removed the base of the cross into the Churchyard, on the South side of the church near the
footpath, and a new top was placed upon it, at the time of the Restoration of the Church by the architect
Roe of Cambridge in 1879.

The grave-yard is to be enlarged beyond the North wall in 1914.

The first telephone wires from Shelford Magna were placed at Shelford Hall and across the Camping
Close in 1908, right away to the "Westfields".

once bore highly decorated brass Crosses and surrounded by lettering. There is also a well preserved
Brass, representing an ecclesiastic, his hands joined in prayer: the inscription is wanting.

The Arms of de Freville were also restored bye?) This window was filled in at the restoration of the
chancel by Rev. J.E. Law. [This appears to refer to the following]

In the North wall a square headed Window, blocked up and partly covered for many years with a
passage from the Scriptures in old English characters. The East Wind-ow is modem. On the South side
are five small windows filled with old stained glass: near them is a doorway with steps descending into
the Chancel. On the eastern side of this doorway is "The Lepers' Window".

The Roofs of both Nave and Chancel are cradle-shaped; the first has tie-beams, and both have once
been very handsome. There are three Arches in the Chancel wall. Near the northernmost one is a
narrow door opening upon the staircase in the wall leading to the Rood-Loft. Part of the Rood-Screen
lies in the Sacristy. There is much carved woodwork in the Chancel which seems to have been brought
from some other Church.

In the Nave are two fine Monumental Brasses of the De FreviIIes, in front of the Manorial seat. The
Chapel is on a higher level than the Nave, and is entered by steps under a four-centred Arch with rich
and deep continuous mouldings. The South Window has five lights and very good tracery and the
Eastern Window (formerly repaired with wood) were once filled with Stained Glass. A very elaborate
Niche, a small Piscina, a large bracket, and Hagioscope remain in 1914.

The Nave has two large perpendicular windows, and two of late decorated style. In the Tower, a good
West window, a continuously moulded Belfry Arch, on the South Jamb, a decorated octagonal Font on
a stem with four engaged Shafts. A small wooden Spire covered with lead appears to be the original
termination. There is a small South Porch, and the lower portion of the Village Cross was removed
into the Churchyard opposite the De Frevilles' Chapel.

THE RECTORY

List of Rectors of Little Shelford from Notices of Churches in Cambridgeshire by Arthur George
Mill, 1880.

Thomas de Eytor, 1337; Robert Cokk nes. WaIter Knight, 1393; John Cate M.A., 1445; Richard Roche
D.D., 1473; Thomas Wardell M.A., 1494; Thomas Hynde; Robert Swinborne, 1539; John Dale B.D.,
1557; George Fuller; Roger Lund, 1571; John Sheffield, 1580-1582; Michael Curel; George
Wilboume, 1625; John Heath, 1627; Gilbert Wigmore, 1642; Richard Manning, 1674; Roger
Gillingham, 1709; Henry Pemberton, 1756; Thomas Hirst, 1758; Samuel Ingle, 1788; Martin Hogg,
1794; Henry Finch, 1806; William Law, 1849; James Edward Law, 1852.

And the Rev. Edwin Thomas Septimus Carr, 1891, who is still here in 1916.

The Old Parsonage, Little Shelford, as in the picture below, was taken down in the year 1859, and on
the same site is now built the new Rectory belonging to Mr James Law, Rector, who passed the
advouson to St Catherine's College at Cambridge.

There follows a photo of the old Rectory "taken by Mr Jefcott about 1856".

There is no record of the date of the building of this old house, where the new Rectory now stands.
When the above photograph was taken it was inhabited by Mr Law's Curate, the Rev. Frederick
Metcalf, with his wife and ten children. She was one of the Hurrells of Cambridgeshire. They left
Shelford Parva about 1858.

There follows a sketch of the new Rectory.

This Rectory was built by the Rev. James Edmund Law, and he moved into it from the Manor House in
September 1859. His father had bought the living with farms, and the Manor House from the Rev.
Henry Finch. Subsequently Rev. J.E. Law sold the Rectory to St Catherine's College with the Glebe
Farm, and the Manor House to Mr WilIiam Walton, fellow of Trinity Hall. Mr Law died in 1896 and is
buried with his wife on the north side of the church under a handsome white marble stone. He was
succeeded by the Rev. E.T.S. Carr, Bursar of St Catherine's College (died 1929).

A Lord Nelson was injured by a carriage accident at this corner when he was quite a young man; he
was nursed by the Mrs Giffard of Great Shelford who died in 1914.

OLD SHELFORD HOUSE

There follows a sketch entitled 'Shelford House 1640 to 1852, copied from a sketch in the possession
of Louisa Wale'.

Captions: 'The coach from Cambridge to London stopped at this corner to pick up passengers'.

'The Manor trees give shelter from North wind - The Wale trees from the East - and no protection
from the West.'

A model of this house was made to scale by Col. Wale before a part of it was pulled down; it may now
be seen at Studio Cottage in 1920.

Thomas Wale Esquire of Lachford was the first Possessor of Shelford. Only son of Robert Wale
Esquire of Harston Hall, and Anne his wife, born 1642. He died at Shelford, 1679, and was succeeded
by Gregory Wale of Radwinter and Harston Hall, his eldest surviving son.

Gregory Wale removed from Harston Hall to Shelford in 1701. His first wife, Margaret, died at
Shelford House in 1702, and his daughter, Penelope, the same year. He married his second wife, Eliza,
in 1710. Gregory Wale was succeeded by Thomas, his eldest son, in 1739. The House at Shelford was
settled on Mary Wale (widow of Hitch Wale, his half brother) for her life, and Thomas Wale, retiring
from his Ship Building at Riga, preferred Shelford to Harston Hall as a residence, and so made an
arrangement to rent the House of his sister-in-law for the yearly sum of Thirty Pounds and took up his
abode in the Old House, 1765. In his retirement he developed a taste for Farming and Gardening, and
laid out the grounds and planted the Shrubberies which extended from the House to the River and
thence by a turf walk to the Mill, and northwards down the river-side past the Carp Pond to the Bridge
at the end of the Garden Wall.

The original extent of the property is shown in the Map, and the views taken of the Old House
(previous to 1852) give a fair idea of the dwellings of the Gentry at the period of the Restoration of
Charles H.

The most ancient portion of the House, the South Front, with its small recessed windows and large
chimney, was of the fifteenth Century. The Northern and Western portions were known by their
construction to be of the Tudor period, and the most modem under the North-West Gable, 166 . This
is now converted into an Entrance Lodge where part of the Garden Wall is replaced by Iron Railings
and Gates. "The Plaisance" with its smooth Lawn, the Sun Dial, and turf steps ascending to the
Terrace, and the covered way which connected the Drawing Room outer door with another in the
Garden Wall, remain to this day, 1914.

There follows a sketch of 'Courtyard of Old Shelford House in 1850'.

On the lawn near the sundial once flourished a cherry tree, near enough to the upper window of the
house for the children to be able to pick the cherries; there was also a beautiful acacia tree near the road
wall, and it had a seat round its stem; there were a number of laburnum trees, with groups of pink soap-
wort growing under them. A bank with a path on it bounded the lawn to the south and beyond were
grass fields and plantations, and the home farm. On the bank was a bower of roses with steps leading
up to it, the steps and part of the wall are still there, so also is the sundial, standing in the middle of the
lawn.

The accompanying illustrations show the alterations made when the new garden was laid out; a very
large walnut tree stood near the shrubbery path, it had an enormous branch, supported by a strong post,
covered with ivy, and arching over the path, so it appeared to have two stems. Another large walnut
tree was blown down about 1852, and as it was in good condition the wood was used to make a
chimney piece in the drawing room of the new house, the carving was done by Rattee & Kett in
Cambridge.

THE OLD WALNUT TREE

The plantation path is still in the same place, it commenced under the walnut tree and passed along
behind the modem artificial bank, where the summer house stands and ran for a quarter of a mile
parallel with the public road to Whittlesford separated from it by a tarred-wood paling (which was
gradually replaced by a brick wall) which ended in a rose garden with box borders and evergreen
shrubs, and here a gate opened into the road, from this garden the path turned sharply East, and passed
across the park through iron gates to the summer house near the waterfall where Lady Wale had
another rose garden at the base of a beautiful cedar tree which was blown down by a gale from the
West in 1895; one block of its stem forms a table in the garden of Ivy Cottage.

Near the summer house is a bridge across the stream from Whittles ford which forms three islands as it
passes through the meadows and woods. The island near the wood is called Ceylon because of its
shape, and at the pointed end is a waterfall, which dammed up the stream to make it flow down the
park into the carp pond in the kitchen garden of Shelford Hall, and near the waterfall was once a cart
bridge leading to the meadows over the stream, now there is only a foot bridge and path to the mill
overflow. The path still proceeds along the bank of the river to the kitchen garden, divided from the
park and orchard by iron railings, passing the Perch Hole described in a previous page.

(Written 1913)

There follows a sketch of the old walnut tree with the caption: 'The natural undergrowths of these
plantations is ivy which festoons the trees, and cow parsley, lesser celandine and blue, red and white
sweet violets grow everywhere. The aconites, snowdrop and primroses have been planted. '

On the following page are two sketch roundels of Shelford Hall with the following text:

This bird's-eye view is copied from an unfinished design made by Colonel Robert Gregory Wale. A
road leads from the stable yard to the main road behind the evergreen trees which are planted on
artificial mounds here, also near the house and at each end of the lawn. The young Pinsato pine tree on
the turf near the white lilac bush was cut down in 1913 and roses planted in its place.

Col. R.G. Wale was the 2nd son of Sir Charles Wale by his 3rd wife Henrietta Brent, he inherited a
portion of this estate and he bought other portions from his own elder brother Charles Brent Wale and
their stepbrother the Rev. Malcolm Wale, son of Sir Charles by his 1 sr wife L Sherard. Col. Wale built
the modem house with his wife's money when he married Fanny Anna West, because her uncle and
guardian Sir William ffolkes, thought the Old House was too dilapidated for her to live in. Her only
son Robert ffolkes Wale, died without heirs, therefore his three sisters F.L.W., M.W. and F.W. are the
present owners of the Little Shelford Hall estate, and they have let the Hall and park, and shooting, to
their half cousin Mrs IF. Eaden who is the granddaughter of Sir Chas. Wale and his 2nd wife. Col.
Wale's other daughters received their portions when they married. Cecil m. Rev. Harcourt Powell -
eldest son Capt. in Canadian Artillery 1914,2 other sons engineers, one daughter. Georgie m. Rev.
A.C. Jennings - two sons connected with Army in 1912-14-15, one daughter married -. Anna (died
1891) m. H.R. Willis who is brother of Mrs Eaden. Their only child Mildred Mary died aged 24, April
1908.

This view of Old Shelford House is also copied from a watercolour painting by Col. R.G. Wale who
also made a model to scale of the whole building before the South and East portions were removed.

THE PEDIGREE OF WALE OF SHELFORD PARVA CO. CAMBRIDGE

Their first Coat of Arms was the same as that of Bald win, Earl of Flanders (of whom WaIter and Hugh
de WaIIe were kinsmen), "Or, a Lion Rampant Sable." The first Lord of Walle and his son Simon
joined the First Crusade, 1096, with Duke Robert of Normandy, son of WiIIiam the Conqueror. They
were both present at the Sieges of Nicaea, Antioch and Jerusalem, after which date they bore for their
device, ""r, Three Crescents Gules,""and this Coat was borne by their descendants of the Baronial
House.

Simon de Walle, of the Younger House, joined Frederick of Suabia (son of the Emperor Frederick
Barbarossa) in the Third Crusade, circa (I 192). His Arms were "Argent, a Pale Sable", and his conduct
during the Crusade was so heroic that a "Fess Sable" was added to his Coat, denoting a great
achievement, thus forming what is termed in Heraldry, "Argent, a Plain Sable". Subsequently Sir
Thomas Wale at the Siege of Ralaveroch, temp. Edward I, 1261 combined the first and the latter

devices on his Shield, which is blazoned on the Roll of the Siege thus: "Argent, on a Plain Sable, five
Lioncels Rampant Or," and this Coat has been borne by the Family ever since. Facsimilie of original
entry on the Siege role ofRalaveroch. Brit. M. Hurleian MS. 1200. The Armorial bearings of the Irish
House were the same as those of Flanders with a change of tinctures, "Azure, a Lion Rampant Or," and
afterwards, "Or, on a field Azure, five Lioncels Rampant Argent."

It appears that the Regicide Colonel Whalley assumed the Wale Arms, 1649, without right thereto, for
the Heraldic devices of WhaIIey, or Waleys, were in 12l3, "Ermine, a Bend Azure," and another,
"Ermine, six Mullets Or." This Family is essentially distinct from the Wales of Northamptonshire,
Essex and Cambridgeshire, and is of Welsh origin.

("Patronymic a Britannica", "Folkes of Shields", Bodleian Library, Oxford)

The history of Wale of Little Shelford, Cambridgeshire, is continued on the following pages. In 1916
the two representatives of this family are Dr Malcolm Wale M.D., son of Rev. Henry 1. Wale, and
Charles Whately Wale, son of Rev. Frederick Wale, son of Charles Brent Wale Esq. and Henrietta
Whately.

SEQUEL TO THE PEDIGREE OF WALE OF SHELFORD PARVA

The Chief Rooms in the older portions of the Mansion were panelled with Oak throughout, and those
of later date had deep wainscoting. The ceilings were crossed by large projecting beams. The huge
Fire Place in the South Room was filled in with an Elizabethan Chimney-piece (now in the Library of
the modem house). There were six staircases, and the Lobby at the top of the principal one was hung
round with Portraits of the Family, beginning with Gregory Wale, painted (circa 1672) represented as a
Child feeding a Goldfinch, and eight others ending with one of Thomas Sherard Wale, who died in
Surinam in his twenty-seventh year, 1821.

In the Dining Room were Portraits of King George III and Queen Charlotte (presented to Lieutenant
General Wale when appointed Governor of Martinique, 1912(?l812». The house was full of spacious
cupboards and closets in all the recesses of the walls; one in the pantry, having an iron door, was found
to be the receptacle of the Family Archives, discovered in 1852 in a mouldering condition and scarcely
legible. From these records the Rev. Henry John Wale composed the book called "Grandfather's
Pocket Book," a few copies only were printed and are in the possession of the Misses Wale.

The large Kitchen was furnished with a "Boot Jack" and appliances for roasting huge joints. There was
a deep window seat in the thickness of the wall. The Meat Larder filled "like a Butcher's Shop",
testified to good living and hospitality, as did the Brew House at the end of the North Wing whence
came the famous Ale our ancestors delighted in. The entrance to the Cellerage was by a door under the
chief staircase.

K.C.B. in 1814, General Sir Charles Wale came to reside permanently at Shelford in 1815 with his
third wife. A friend and neighbour of the General told the writer hereof, that she well remembered the
home-coming of Sir Charles and his bride (whose maiden name was Henrietta Brent, the daughter of a
Somersetshire clergyman). He was driving a Curricle, and Lady Wale was sitting beside him dressed
in a black velvet Redingote and a Ruben's hat adorned with white plumes, and very long gauntlet
gloves. When they arrived at the House, little "Bell" (who was then six years old, and who afterwards
became Mrs Sherlock Willis) ran out to greet her Father and Step-mother.

Sir Charles and Lady Wale had six sons and four daughters, the second son, Robert Gregory Wale
(Captain in the 33rd Foot Regiment) succeeded to the Shelford Estate and he then retired from the
Army. He married Fanny Anna West, only daughter and heiress of Sir Edward West (Lord Chief
Justice of Bombay) and Lucretia ffolkes, and they built the new house and came to live there in 1852.

Lucretia ffolkes was the second daughter of Sir Martin ffolkes, Bart. of Hillington and Congham in
Norfolk. Her mother was Fanny, daughter of Sir John Turner, and their son Sir WiIliam J.H. Browne
ffolkes married Charlotte Philippa Browne. Their eldest son, Martin, was killed by lightning when
fishing in the Lake of HiIlington Park. He had married Minnie Wale, daughter of General Sir Charles
Wale, K.C.B., and their son WiIliam Hovell Browne fflkes, K.C.V.O., succeeded his grandfather, and
married Emily Elwes, daughter of Robert Elwes Esq. of Congham House, Norfolk. They had one
daughter named Dorothy who inherited the Hillington Estate, but the Congham Estate now belongs to

 

Sir Everard William ffolkes who is the eldest son of the late Rev. Henry ffolkes, Rector of Hillington
who was the third son of Sir William l.H. Browne ffolkes.

Sir Everard married Syble Maul, and their only son, William Rupert Compton ffolkes who was 2nd
Lieut. In 1 st Battalion K.R.R.C. was killed in France in 1917 aged only 19.

LINEAL DESCENDANTS OF GEN. SIR CHAS. WALE, K.CB.

Col. Of the 33rd "Duke of Willington's Regt." By his second wife, IsabelIa Johnson (Lynne) one
daughter (IsabeIla Martha) who married Sherlock Willis: had seven sons and a daughter, IsabelIa
Margaret m. J.F. Eaden.

1.      Major Sherlock Vignoles, 1 st Royals, served in the Crimea and India; French and English medals
and Turkish order, the Madrigal Star. He retired as Captain to Cambridgeshire Militia, and
subsequently retired as Major. Married Marion Richardson, by whom he had two sons, one of
them Amyas served in the Great War 1915-16 with the Middlesex Regiment.

2.      Capt. Chas. Whateley Willis, 33rd "Duke of Wellington's Regiment" served in the Crimea in 1855.
(Same medals as his eldest brother; India 1857, P. Staff College 1865.

3.      John Armine, Capt. in Cambs Militia under his uncle, Col. R.G. Wale's command. Retired in
1868.

4.      Horace George, Capt., served in R.H.A. Indian Frontier (North East & North West), Medal &
clasps, Malta & Woolwich, retired 1878, and married Emily Ramsay, by whom he had five sons
and two daughters:

5.      Sherlock George Ramsay (Barty), R.F. & H.A. Served in West Indies, India & Great War in
France 1914-15-16, and Greece.

6.      Horace lames, "29th Lancers" T.A. Served in Ashanti, Medal, India. Died a Captain in 1910.

7.      Gerald Charles Wale, R.F.A. Exchanged to "31 st D.C.O. Lancers", Indian North West Frontier.

Served in Egypt 1914-15. Severely wounded, lost right arm. D.S.O. mentioned in Despatches
1915, North West Frontier 1916.

4.      Hugh Duberly, Capt. R.A.M.C. Served in Great War 1915-16. In Flanders, France, with the
R.F.A.

5.      Second daughter, Hilda Mabel, served in S.R.F. Hospital. Servia & Corfu - 1914-15-16.

6.      Cecil Sherlock Wale Willis (5th son of the daughter of Sir Charles), Royal Navy. Served in
Russian War 1854, and in the Baltic Pacific Station and Indian Ocean. Retired as a Commander in
1875.

HISTORY OF WALE OF SHELFORD

The Founder of this family in England was "Walter Flandrensis" who was enfeoffed by William the
Conqueror in Lands and Manors in the Counties of Northampton and Bedford, comprising the Barony
of De Wahull, about thirty Knights' fees. The descendants of the Lords of Wahull were divided into
three branches: first, the Baronial Barony which ended in an heiress, who married Sir Richard
Chetwode who claimed the Barony in right of his wife, but declined a new patent from lames I as
derogatory to the dignity - one of the most ancient in England, dating from 1066.

The Younger House was transplanted to Ireland upon the Conquest of that Country by Earl Strongbow.
The Founders were William and Henry de Wale, whose descendants were established in Ireland until
the end of the 17th Century, when they followed James II into exile in France, and were created Counts
of the Holy Roman Empire by Louis XV. This branch is now represented by Comtes Edwsard de Wall
and Arthur Armand de Wall (who died in 1914), and is succeeded by his only son, le Vicomte Patrice
de Wall.

The youngest son of the First Lord ofWahuli, Richard Fitz Wale, was Ancestor of the Wales of Eydon
and Cottesbroke, Northamptonshire; and of afford d' Arcy, Rutland; Radwinter and Bardfield, Essex;
also Earl's Colne and Thaxted, in the same County; as well as of Harston Hall and Shelford,
Cambridgeshire. They were settled in Northamptonshire until the Wars of the Roses, when they
espoused the Lancastrian cause, and their estates were confiscated y the Yorkshire faction. After the
Accession of Henry VII, they were established in Essex. Thomas Wale the Elder died in extreme old
age. His Name and Arms appear in the Battle Roll of Agincourt when he served as a youthful Esquire.
His descendants remained in Essex until the end of the 18th Century.

passed into the family of Carwardine in right of Mrs Anne Holgate Wale, only surviving daughter of
John Wale of Col ne Priory, son of Judge Wale, Gentleman of the Bedchamber to William Ill. This is
the Mrs Carwardine whom Romney painted with her child.

For further information see "History of Wales of Shelford" by Louisa S. Wale who died in 1908.

THE MILITARY DESCENDANTS OF GENERAL SIR CHARLES WALE, K.C.B. UP TO
DECEMBER 1916

Colonel R.G. Wale was the second son of General Sir Charles Wale, K.C.B., and his third wife,
Henrietta Brent. He was born in Old Shelford House and educated at Sandhurst where he gained the
First Prize for military drawings. He became Captain in his father's Regiment, the 33rd (Duke of
Wellington's Own), from which he retired with regret when duty called him to reside at Little Shelford.
For some years he commanded the Cambridgeshire Militia, and also the Cambridge University
Volunteers. He retired from the Cambridgeshire Militia as Honorary Colonel, and was given a
presentation silver bowl and silver inkstand. At his death in 1892 a brass memorial to his memory was
placed under the Militia Memorial Window in Ely Cathedral. He continued to command the University
Volunteers for some years and presented a Challenge Cup to their Rifle Corps. His only son, Robert
ffoIkes Wale, was Captain in the Cambridgeshire Militia until he died in 1894.

Two of Colonel Wale's married daughters' sons joined the Army in 1914:

1.      Vernon Harcourt de Butte PoweIl was a Master at Appleby School, Toronto, Canada, and received
a Commission, first in a Cavalry Regiment and then in the 13th Canadian Royal Artillery, and he is
fighting the Germans in France in July 1916. He was educated at Mr Patterson's School at
Eastbourne, then at Highgate, and at Keble College, Oxford, where he took a B.A. degree. In
October 1916 he obtained the Military Cross and was wounded. In 1917 he returned to fight as
Major in the 53rd Batt. Can. Art. 4th division.

2.      Richard William Jennings, L.L.B. Cantab. M.A. Died of wounds in France July 3rd 1916 after 14
months fighting in France. He had been mentioned in Despatches and recommended for D.S.O.
The Commanding Officer and several private soldiers wrote kind letters to his parents about him.
He was born at King's Stanley Rectory, Glos. In 1889. Was educated at Bradfield and Jesus
College, Cambridge, and took his Honour Degree in Law Tripos in 1900, and was entered on Roll
of Solicitors in 1914, and then enlisted in the Worcestershire Regiment, and got a Commission
shortly after. His elder brother, Dr Arthur Richard Jennings, M.R.C.S., L.R.C.P., L.M.S.A.,
though not a soldier was with the Red Crescent Ambulance in the Balkan War, and connected with
the Red Cross in Serbia in 1914-15. He was born at King's Stanley Rectory, educated at Bradfield
and Jesus College, Cambridge, and St Bartholomew's Hospital, London. He took his Degree in
1907 and went to Mesopotamia in 1917. Pte T.G. Turrell of the Worcesters was awarded the V.c.
medal because he brought in Lieut. Jennings when he was badly wounded, and defended a
dangerous position when they were cut off from friends.

The third son of Sir Charles Wale was Captain in the Indian Army. His name was Frederick Wale. He
was killed at Lucknow in 1858 while charging at the head of his own Regiment (the I" Sikh Irregular
Cavalry) raised by himself, and known as "Wale's Horse". General Sir Dighton Probyn succeeded to
the Command of this crack Regiment, now styled "11th King Edward's Own Lancers". Captain
Frederick Wale married Adelaide Prest, and their eldest daughter, Adelaide, married Reginald C.B.
Willis; they have one son and five daughters. The son, Captain Frederick Wale Willis, born in 1882
was commissioned to Royal Garrison Artillery in 1901 and served in France from 1914 and in
Mesopotamia in 1916. The second daughter of Captain Frederick Wale married Colonel R.G.S.
Marshall, R.A.

The sixth son of Sir Charles Wale, the Rev. Henry John Wale, was Captain in the Scots Greys, and
went through the Crime an War, but was soon invalided home. His speckled charger ended its days in
Shelford Hall Park. Captain Wale retired from the Army and was ordained and became Rector of
Folkesworth near Peterborough. He published two books, the first called "Sword and surplice", the

other "My Grandfather's Pocket Book" which was compiled from the notes in the pocket book of
Thomas Wale, and gives a very interesting account of Little Shelford between 1765 and 1795. He
married Caroline Prest, and had one son and four daughters.

The third daughter of Sir Charles, named Augusta, married Dr Richard Dill, M.D. Their eldest son, Dr
John Gordon Dill, M.D. attached to the Norfolk Yeomanry married Molly Martin, and their eldest son,
Captain John Gordon Dill of the 5th Irish Lancers was severely wounded at the Battle of Mons. He
married Ithne Murray. The second son, Richard Gordon Dill, was Second Lieutenant in Sussex
Yeomanry, from which he has been promoted to the 1 st Life Guards. (Note: Copied from "Bames'
History" - "Sir Thomas Wale who died in 1332 in Gascony was highly distinguished in wars in the
reign of Edward III and was one of the Knights of the Garter at the institution of that noble order, and
rendered this family illustrious _".

THE POUND YARD

Under a sketch of The Pound Yard and Lime Cottage it reads:

This pond was removed about 1859(7) and the Stocks before that date. The Evening School, now
called Studio Cottage, is at the end of the path. It was built by a man named WiIliams as two
dwellings, 4 rooms in each, and in 1862 Col. R.G. Wale had the cottage altered to make a reading-room
for labouring men and a school-room for boys, a large new room was added to the North and the
windows, doors, fire-places etc., came from the Old Tudor House (The Lodge) which was partly pulled
down in 1850. A large sitting room, with a bedroom above, was also added to Lime Cottage on the
north and a porch and bow window to enlarge the old building which was two cottages of four rooms
each. Two large families of children named Brazier and Payne were brought up in these small rooms,
they emigrated to Canada with Dr Mackay, the Bishop of Rupert's Lane, where they have been very
successful. There were several other wretched over-crowded hovels in this yard which Col. Wale
removed, keeping only those worth repairing. He bought this property about 1850; wages for labourers
were then only 11 shillings a week, so Shelford House sent one good meat dinner ready cooked, every
day to each family in turn for many years.

There follows a sketch with this caption:

This view shows the meeting of Church Street with the road to Whittlesford and also the road from
Cambridge which sweeps round the Lodge corner. The private road to the Manor House and Farm
joins these principle roads here. The entrance to the Camping Close on the left and to Shelford Hall on
the right.

There follows a sketch map - Ground Plan of Ivy Cottage before the fire. The garden paths remain in
the same places as in 1803(7)

On this map of Little Shelford is seen represented Ivy Cottage, which in 1803 belonged to Mary
Pemberton, daughter of Thomas Wale.

In the above ground plan of the Cottage and garden you will see that it was, and is, situated quite near
to the Whittlesford Road, surrounded by a garden on the north and west sides, and that No. 19 was a
strip of Orchard leading to the property of M.P. Wale, her sister.

            In 18   ?     Col. R.G. Wale and his three daughters went to live there, having let Shelford House for a

time. Col. Wale died there in 1892(?) and his daughters continued to live there until 1908.

The ground plan of Ivy Cottage remained unaltered from 1803 till 189 , when a fire took place; a large
beam in the floor of the south bedroom caught fire in the chimney, and the whole floor of the room and
the north walls round the chimney were burned, also the roof of the little shed in the yard called "The
Glory Hole."

The old roof over the bedroom was not burned, neither was the gable end over the conservatory,
therefore the outside south walls are the same as they were in 1803, so also is all the east front which is
covered with thick ivy, the strong stems of which support the walls. The only change has been the
enlarging of the bedroom window in the gable facing south.

A new sitting room, with bedroom over, was built on the north side, into the back yard; a new tloor was
made to the bedroom, and a new brick chimney built, also a new staircase was made instead of the very
awkward old spiral one. The work was done by Chuck, the builder who lives at Barley, for Mrs J.F.
Eaden, to whom the Cottage has belonged since 1891.

At the time of the fire, three daughters of Col. Wale rented the Cottage, but only Miss Frederika was at
home. She managed to save everything of value, including a portrait of Mrs Pemberton painted by
Romney. The fire was extinguished by men throwing pails of water over the tlames, there being no fire
engine nearer than Sawston.

There was a deep well of water in the yard, and since 1905 the pump from the well is enclosed in the
scullery. The sheds in the yard include a coach house, and stabling for two horses; the stable is now
used for bicycles.

By the side of the garden gate opening on the road is an iron mile stone with "50 miles to London" and
"5 miles to Cambridge" written on it. As you come along the road to Cambridge, Ivy Cottage is hidden
by a thatched cottage which juts out into the road, upon it is a board with "Little Shelford" inscribed
thereon. But coming along the road from Whittlesford and London there is a picturesque view of it.

Ivy Cottage and the thatched Cottage belong to Mrs J.F. Eaden.

(Written 1914)

IVY COTTAGE

All the South and West walls of Ivy Cottage are covered with yellow Japonica roses and honeysuckle;
on the West side are a group of lilac trees, and a good many more were cut down when the new rooms
were added after the fire. Many alterations have lately been made in the garden, but the lawn and the
gravel paths remain curved in the same direction in which they were originally planned by Sir Chas.
Wale. There are two Cedars of Lebanon about 40 feet high on the lawn, 2 large birth trees under the
elms which grow in the field adjoining, and there is a thick growth of elm trees covered with ivy, and
lilac, syringa and snowberry bushes grow beneath them where the ground is thickly covered with ivy.
In the spring cherry trees spring up above the ivy and make a cloud of white under the trees. The
original clunch wall still separates this garden from the Old Pound Yard garden which belongs to the
Wale family. The strip of grass called "The Orchard" which leads to King's Farm has been closed
since Capt. Thornton came to live there; he has a ritle-butt in the field adjoining and the path now leads
to a small gate opening into the Camping Close.

Mary, known as Pretty Polly (Mrs Pemberton) was sister to Sir Chas. Wale, K.C.B. She has two
daughters living with her at Ivy Cottage, one of them married Capt. Vignoles, and Elizabeth Amy
married Archdeacon H.E. Y orke of Wimpole, Cambs. His youngest son, Campbell Alexander Yorke,
is rector of Fowlmere, near Royston. The portrait of "Pretty Pally" (Mrs Pem.) painted by Romney,
was nearly burnt and very much blistered during the fire at Ivy Cottage; but an artist named Walker
was able to make a very good copy of it, which is now at Shelford Hall.

Miss Margaretta Phillippina Wale also lived at Ivy Cottage for some years. Miss M.P. Wale cried
herself nearly blind with sorrow for the death ofMr Brundish, a fellow of King's College, to whom she
was engaged to be married. She was called Auntie 'Wale' by her niece, Isabella Martha Wale (Mrs
Sherlock Willis) who lived with her at Ivy Cottage, while her father, General Sir Chas. Wale was away
governing the Islands of Martinique and Guaduelope. It was Isabella M. Wale who put up the
memorial tablet to her aunt, and erected the cross on the grave of Susan, the faithful servant of M.P.
Wale, near the entrance gate at the East end of All Saints' Church. The Map will show you how much
property in Shelford Parva belonged to M.P. Wale, the field round the Obelisk, in memory of Gregory
Wale, belonged to her, it was subsequently sold to Mr William Hurrell of Newton.

The Obelisk Hill is sometimes called St Margaret's Mount, and also Maggot's Mount, which is
possibly a corruption of the French name Magot, an abbreviation of Margaretta.

After Miss M.P. Wale's retirement to "The Mausoleum", the place was let to various strangers, of more
or less notoriety; Miss Finch said that she went to a dance in a tent on the lawn when Colonel Mears

lived there; two Miss Blows who lived there were thought very odd because they had an At Home day;
and people of the name of Twiss later came to live there, the ladies wore red cloaks, and their brother a
light drab suit. Their sister, Mrs Jenkins, caused great excitement by eloping with her own husband,
from whom she was constantly being separated, her sisters tried to prevent her from returning to him,
and one day she told the servants she was going out to buy a turkey and her sisters thinking it odd, for it
was the Summer, followed her down the village when they were told that Mrs lenkins had been seen
driving with a gentleman in a dog-cart, who turned out to be her husband, who kept her a little while
and then returned her to her sisters. She died in Shelford Magna, over 100 years of age. Mr Gunning
also lived here, he had been Squire Bedell at Cambridge University and was related to the i<l!Il.Q!-l~
Misses Gunnings of Hemingford; he had a very pretty daughter who married a Mr Marriot, also 3 sons,
Henry, Edward and Frederick. Mrs Gunning was a ThurnaIl of Royston,  she died here so also did Mr

Cunning at the age of 96. Mary Carter of Shelford Parva was his faithful servant to the last, ana old
Grandmother Prior of The Terrace-also helped to nurse him and sit up with him at nights. After Mr
Gunning died some of his possessions were sold, a beautiful tea service of ancient design, in white
china, decorated with a green pattern, is now in the possession of Mrs T. Wood.

Since then many people have lived there for short or long periods; the Perry Robinsons, with one son
named Bradstreet, were there for 3 years; Mrs and Miss and the Rev. Marrnaduke Warner for one
summer; Mrs Sandberg and 2 daughters for about 2 years, and they sub-let to Americans named
Griswold and Umbstaetter in 1913.

At the Whittles ford Road end of the Terrace stands a fine Elm tree, and there is a good square white-
brick and tiled roof house in the opposite corner, inside a black wood paling. Edward Walker, the
carpenter, lives there. His timber yard is on the north side of the house, and he hires the field behind
the Terrace, which goes back as far as Litchfield's garden.

loseph, the eldest son, and Percy, the second son, re both married and they live with their father and
help him with his work. There is also a married daughter in London, the youngest son, Cyril, died in
1903.

This house belongs to G.F.O. Bagnall Esq. and was built about the year 1838 by a Mr Burgess, who
also built some of the Terrace Cottages. At one time it belonged to Col. R.G. Wale, who sold it, with a
field, to 1. Dunn Esq. in 1884, a Cambridge Coach, who taught his pupils there.

Mrs Dean once lived in this house with sons Arthur and Herbert. She bought the village shop from
Dawson, but soon left it.

Beyond Walker's yard and garden are the grass fields belonging to J.F. Eaden Esq. They are raised
above the road, and large Elm and Beech trees are in the hedge and overhang the road. On the opposite •...
side are the plantations of Shelford Hall, the trees overhanging a white-brick wall, this wall reaches to
the Church corner, and half-way is a high wooden door in the wall called the Cricket Gate; opposite

        this is an iron gate into the grass fields of King's Farm, and a little further on is               Cottage.

There is a remarkably tall Larch tree near the green slat fence, and two laburnum trees, also 2 Pollarded
Limes near the large double gate, and the small gates in the fence, thick Laurel and Box bushes grow
near the kitchen window, and a hedge of Box and Lilac and Elder trees separate the garden from the
Cottage garden next door. There is also a fine beech tree in the corner of the grass, which is railed off
from the field, the making of this railing was superintended by Col. R.G. Wale during the last week of
his life: he died at Ivy Cottage at 11 o'clock on Easter Sunday morning in the year 1892 aged 72 years.

At Ivy Cottage also died his fourth daughter, Anna Charlotte, in August 1891; she had married her
cousin, Henry Robert Willis Esq., leaving one daughter, Mildred Mary Willis, who died in 1908 at
Belfast, and is buried near her mother on the North side of Shelford Parva Church.

The roses on the pergola, South of the Cottage, are cuttings from the rose bush over the family vault in
the Churchyard, the original cutting of which came from a bush at Congham Lodge at Hillington in
Norfolk.

,~ A thatched Cottage jutting out beyond the garden hides the end of the Whittlesford Road, but after
.;~ passing round this cottage there is a good view of the Church and Rectory.

Shelford Hall and Old Shelford House and grounds are enclosed within the white brick wall on the
right hand side of the road, which was "built by James Austin of Little Shelford for Col. R.G. Wale to
replace the ancient black-tarred wooden paling.

(Written 1919)

THE TERRACE

A photograph has the following captions:

Joe Payne; Ben Payne; Hepsiba Andrews, Grandmother Prior at the door of cottage no. 3 with a Prior
grandchild.

Grandfather Fred. Pettit was ill for many years before he died and latterly he was always in bed on the
top of the stairs where the only thing he could see through the small window was a young pear tree. He
died in 1903.

A man named Rider was a bootmaker and his wife lived a short time in one of these cottages. He told
such dreadful stories that people were afraid to go to bed; he bewitched the bees of Mrs prior, she tried
to hive them eleven times and only succeeded when she threatened to burn them.

Cottages

l.                 In the first lives Mrs Hones (nee Prior) a widow, whose husband was killed by his master at
Trumpington when the rabbits were being shot in the corn. She and her daughter Hilda work
at Towgood's paper mills, and her eldest son Silas Prior, and the youngest son, William
Hones, live with her.

2.                In the second cottage live Ben DockeriIl and his wife, daughter of Henry Prior, with young
children. John Jennings lived there before he moved to the house lately called the King

               William public House.                                                                                                    '

3.                The third cottage is inhabited by F. Pearl and his wife (nee Payne) with children Fred, Hilda,
May, Sidney and Robert. Fortunately Mrs Pearl is a good cook and has been employed at the
Rectory, and King's Farm; for her husband is too ill to work.

4.                The Sparkes family have the fIfth(?) cottage. Their children are Ralph, Bessie, Sybil and
Kathleen. Their eldest boy was killed by a kick from a mare when he pulled the tail of her
foal in the Camping Close. Sparkes had a bad fall and hurt his back when he was about 22
years old soon after his marriage.

5.                Mrs Sparkes half-brother, Ben Pumphrey, lives next door, in the house where widow Andrew
lived with her daughter Daisy, who died in 1908. She was no relation to the other Andrews of
Shelford Parva. Her youngest son, John, is still working in Shelford. Ralph Sparkes has gone
to live with an uncle in Canada.

The rent of these five cottages is two shillings a week. They are joined together and face the South
East. They have four rooms each, and outhouses in a row at the end of them, and there are small
fenced-in flower gardens between them and the path. The cottages are built of clay-bats and some have
thatched roofs and some tiles. Hall Farm stack yard is seen across the main road.

The names of North field and Prior are connected with the fourth cottage.

About a hundred yards from them is a more modem and picturesque cottage, adapted from two old
ones by W.e. MarshaIl, the builder who lives there and owns all the Terrace cottages. They belonged
to his father-in-law, Peveritt, who bought them from Col. R.G. Wale in 1890. There is an iron paling
round the garden and in it is an apple tree planted by Grandmother Prior from a pip, she was the most
remarkably energetic woman in the parish, and lived in part of this house before it was altered, but died
in another Terrace cottage. She was a clever bee-keeper and used to get ten shillings each Summer for
bees wax; a famous nurse, when she could not sleep she had a habit of counting up all the babies she
had brought into the world and all the grown-ups she had helped out of it. As a young woman, when
first married, she worked for the Gees at Frog Hall, and sometimes for a farmer, in a gang at three
pence a day; when working in the fields she would bring down all her large family with her, including

 

the baby which was put in charge of one of the older ones. She remembered the first cart-load of
potatoes, which a farmer gave his neighbours, when bread was very dear, many of them being afraid of
the strange food refused to eat them, so Mrs Prior herself secured the greater number, cooked them and
kept her family on them all through the Winter. Grandmother Prior lived to the good old age of over
eighty.

The gardens in front of these cottages are full of all kinds of flowers. Mrs John Andrews who once
lived in one of them would only grow those which are mentioned in the Bible. The rose of Sharon, and
Calvary Clover because the seed pods are like a crown of thorns - and many other plants. The vines
have white grapes and sour wine could be made from them.

(Written 1912)

A further page on the Terrace follows with two photographs captioned "These photographs were taken
by Sir Perry Robinson", and as follows:

Mrs Carter died in 1909(?) at the birth of her fifth child who also died. Her eldest daughter was old
enough to go to service and the one named Gertie(?) stayed at home to keep house for her father and
brothers. [The photograph shows] the youngest, Arthur Carter and Mrs Nunn and baby. Henry
enlisted in 1915 and was killed.

Mrs Ansel had a face very much like the poet Dante and she could recite 40 hymns from memory - in
her garden grew one fine asparagus plant, the berries of which were always kept for decorating the non-
conformist chapel at harvest thanksgiving service.

East End group of Cottages

In the first live W. Jackson and his second wife, who has one son named WilIiam. The first wife was a
Payne, and she had a son, Arthur, and a daughter who is married. Jackson is gardener to H. Towgood
Esq. They are one of the oldest of Shelford Parva families.

The second cottage is inhabited by Henry Carter, widower. His wife was Annie Austin and died
leaving four children, Florence, Gertie, Henry and Arthur.

In the third cottage live Henry Nunn and his wife with four small boys, Stanley, Godfrey, Leslie,
Leonard. He is coachman to Mr Bright Smith. He is a good worker and a fine looking man,
unfortunately he suffers from epileptic fits owing to a fall from a donkey when he was quite young.

In the fourth house live Wilkinson and his wife. Their daughter married Thomas Pettit and they live at
the Splash near Ley Grove Cottages. They all work for Mr Towgood. Wilkinson died in 1914.

The fifth cottage is sometimes inhabited by EIiza Ansel, a spinster who goes out cooking. Her father
and mother lived and died there, and before them a one-armed man named James Brand and his wife.
He lost his arm in the machinery at Dumford Mill. They had nine daughters, 8 of them died of typhoid
fever for the four roomed cottage was below the river level and often flooded three feet deep.

The last survivor, a spinster daughter named Mary Anne, was a very amusing person who by hard work
supported herself, and died with £200 in the savings bank. Her grave and her parents are at the end of
the parish church with headstones and she bequeathed to her employers the poke bonnets of her eight
departed sisters.

All these five cottages have railed-in flower gardens and face South-East; and on the other side of the
footpath is a hedge with pollard elms in it and apple trees, which shelter the cottages from the sun in
summer.

(Written 1912 and 1915)

The second photograph follows: The caption, Mrs Jackson and Edith Payne, her stepdaughter.

An old Mrs Carter who lived in one of these cottages possessed only one front tooth of extraordinary
length - she said "An zat hath not enout te dew".

Miss Brand said that her "grandfather was a kind of a local creature (preacher) but he could not speak
very plain because he had an experiment in his speech owing to having no ruffing to his mouth - and
he wouldn't have nothing cooked of a Sunday if it was never so." But Mr Ansel! like a hot Sunday
dinner and he used to carry his bit of meat all round the village to be cooked in Mr Butler's oven rather
than pass the door of his neighbour and landlord Peverett because he made remarks about breaking the
Sabbath for he was one of the preachers at the congregational chapel which is in the Camping Close.
Peverett was shepherd at the Shelford Magna Glebe Farm for many years. He owned the Terrace
Cottages.

Above a painting of Manor Farm House is this caption: The description typed below the painting is a
copy of the printed article written by E.C. Clay Esq. and published in "The Monthly Pocket Magazine"
for June 1888(7) and the water colour sketch of the Manor Farm House, painted by his sister Miss
Marion Clay at about the same date. The garden room on the south side of the house was added later,
and the lawn was levelled and fenced round and trees planted about 1910.

The farmhouse is not far from the river - a small, one-storied house, whitewashed with outside shutters
painted chocolate, and attic windows in the roof, a wooden porch before the door, and the whole front
covered with a thick growing vine, which trails round the windows, and lets its straggling tendrils fall
across them. It is very pleasant in summer to wake up early in the long mornings, and look out through
the vine leaves at the pale blue sky, and see the sun shine on the fresh elm leaves. Through the open
windows the swallows fly in and out with their sharp tweet-tweet, and overhead in the roof the young
starlings keep up an incessant clamouring. In front of the house is a grass patch, and two great elms
growing close together, so close that you can swing a hammock from bough to bough, and defy the
hottest sun. Across the grass patch you look out on to the allotment gardens, and then across hedges
and cornfields to a few cottages on the outskirts of the village, then more fields, and low chalk hills
with scanty trees upon them which stand out against the sky. To the right is a fruit and vegetable
garden, with a few standard rose bushes, and a row of elms which divide it from the meadows.
Apricots, peaches, and nectarines are trained against the wall of the cart-shed, which abuts on the
garden, and faces towards the south.

The orchard is finely sheltered from all the rough quarters. On the north is a tall, unclipped hedge, with
two large spindle bushes in it, behind this is a row of oaks, then a plantation, which belongs to the
Manor House, a paradise for birds, and, in the spring, full of snowdrops and daffodils; to the east are
the bam an farm buildings, and again, on the south side, a long clunch wall, tiled at the top, and
whitewashed, which forms one side of the stackyard.

At the corner of the wall is a pond, where moorhens build in the spring, and where, in winter, you may
see an occasional snipe. Between this and the hedge is a scattered row of chestnut trees and sycamores.
In this sheltered orchard are several aged apple trees, twisted into uncouth shapes, but still bearing good
fruit. Long-eared bats hid in their hollow trunks during the daytime. I once, out of curiosity, extracted
over forty from one tree with the help of a bent stick and a landing net. The farm labourers say that
they suck the cows' breath, and kill them when they get a chance. In the early mornings you may
sometimes see a great green woodpecker, crimson-crested, flying among the trees, but I have never
found his nest. Besides the ancient apple trees, there are damson bushes, and rows of young trees
newly planted, and of newer stocks, but the glory of the orchard are five great walnut trees which stand
together in the corner near the house, and throw a pleasant shade in summer. They are splashed twice a
year in accordance with the ancient jingle -

A woman, a whelp, and a walnut-tree,

The more you beat them the better they be.

The first splashing is of the green nuts in summer for pickling, the second in October when the fruit is
ripe. The farm boys climb into the trees with long poles, and thresh the nuts down. It is certainly great
fun, but as many of next year's buds are knocked off in the process, it is not clear how the tree is
benefited. However, the farmer assured me that when he first came to the farm, the trees bore no nuts,
so he set to one autumn, and splashed them thoroughly, and next year had a wonderful crop.

A wicket gate between the hedge and the plantation lets you into the long meadow, a splendid sight in
early summer when it is a blaze of golden buttercups. The meadow is a mile long if you follow the
pollard willows along the windings of the river, and about three quarters in a straight line from end to
end, where it narrows down and joins a plantation of larches. In June, when the buttercups have paled,
and the grass is three parts grown, the roses bloom. In the hedges, and beside the river bank, and along
the ditch which crosses the meadow, the wild briars clamber in the hawthorns and about the willow-
stems, or stand by themselves in ragged thickets, their straggling, thorny sprays made beautiful with
thousands of wild roses. When the dew is on them, there is no bud or flower that is so fresh or delicate.
There is nothing prettier, at this time, than to see a long briar trailing downwards to the water from a
slanting pollard 

THE MANOR FARM

There follows a painting of the Manor Farm.

The yard is at the back of the house, populous with turkeys, geese and poultry, ducks and guineafowl,
and resonant with all the noise of a farm. The tabby cat sunning herself on the ridge of the cowsheds is
an undoubted poacher, as her shortened tail, clipped by a mowing machine among the barley far from
the homestead, declares too surely. Now she is lazily watching the sparrows fluttering about their
ragged nests in the chinks of the barn, whose high-pitched roof, irregular with age, its red tiles
overgrown with moss and yellow lichens, shows brightly in the sunshine above the tarred woodwork of
its walls. The great doors swing uneasily on their rusted hinges, and from inside you look upwards to
the dim twilight of the roof, broken by rays of light streaming through the chinks, and crossed with
rough oaken beams. Here, from the door that opens on the orchard, the sound of the flail comes across
the meadows as they thresh out the corn that is raked up too late for the stacks after the wheat is
carried.

There is an old boat on the river built one winter in the carpenter's shop, by an American who was out
of work, on the lines of a scow. It is exactly like a small Thames punt, with a dry well in the centre,
and slightly tapering towards the ends.

In the summer you may see baby pickerel as long as your finger, but thinner and almost transparent,
lying at the mouth of the ditches, and if you throw them a worm they will show you a ludicrous picture
of their parent's savagery on a minute scale. In every reach there are jack from a quarter of a pound to
three quarters, but many of them must come to an untimely end, unless they grow very slowly or
escape through the mills. Fish of two pounds are fairly common, though four and five-pounders are

scarce, and occasionally you will find pike of eight, ten, or even twelve pounds. The millers .... cut the
weeds every year, which would otherwise choke the stream and make it difficult in &y" weather to get a
good head of water. On one occasion they gashed a pike over ten pounds with their scythes. He had
just gorged his last meal, a full-grown water-rat, and had doubtless gone to his retreat to digest his
dinner comfortably when he was thus foully murdered. A water rat, however, is a small mouthful for a
big pike.

Between the larch and ash plantations there is a slight dip in the ground; frequent floods have washed
away the soil, and left the surface stony and useless to the farmer. Three years ago this piece of land
was fenced off, and planted with oak and ash, and a fringe of spruce firs on the side away from the
river. Part of the larch plantation was felled, and the whole trenched deeply before the young trees
were put in. It was curious to see how quickly the new ground was tenanted with all kinds of weeds
and wild flowers, and how several plants which had been strangers to the farm now made their first
appearance. Where the larches had stood, a colony of muIleins spread out their great grey leaves,
covered with thick down, and, later in the year, their yellow spikes, the tallest eight feet high, were
conspicuous from half a mile away. In the first year I did not notice the mullein caterpillar among the
leaves, but in the following summer the plants were covered with them.

The undergrowth in the two plantations is very different. The larches and elms shut out the light and
the ground is drier. Here there are few flowering plants, but hazels grow freely, though they seldom
bear, and there are impenetrable blackthorn bushes and dense masses of brambles. A few elms on the
outskirts have thrown up suckers which are remarkable for the great size of their leaves - one of which
measures nine inches in length. The ground is covered with deep moss, rank grass, and chervils.

At this farm a feast was prepared to celebrate the Coronation of King Edward VII - which was
postponed but accomplished later. But nothing untoward happened to prevent great rejoicings on the
Coronation Day of King George V, June 220d 1911.

"The Garden of Cambridgeshire"

Little Shelford has been so described by the father of James Thompson, the Lieut. Governor of the
N.W. Provinces ofIndia 1843 to 1853. He was born at Lt. Shelford on 3 of May 1804.

Richard de Freville Knight once held these lands with the advowson of the Church - and a water mill.
See "Genealogical History of the FreviIle Family" by A.W. Franks (Trinity Coll., Cambridge).

Below a drawing of fields and meadows:

The sunsets here are glorious, as they always are in the unbroken sky of a flat country, and the golden
light in summer evenings makes an atmosphere of colour very different to the cool grey tints of
morning. The air is so still that you can hear every sound in the country for miles around. Sitting on
the fence by the new plantation I have heard the curfew tolling in the market town four miles away.
There is a dog barking in a distant homestead, and a cart rumbling along the dusty road. Presently it
stops at the gate and the driver dismounts to open it: you hear the gate swing to, and then the rumbling
begins again. There is someone whistling in the village. A water-rat splashes in the river; from the
elms about the Manor House comes the long-drawn hoot of the brown owl, close by the bats are
wheeling in the twilight with their piercing squeak; frogs croak in the ditch, great moths zig-zag to and
fro among the young trees, and now the drone of beetles rises in quick crescendo and then diminishes
as they whizz past in their clumsy flight. In the river bank there is the curious suck, suck of eels
feeding in the mud, and occasionally the cry of waterfowl. A hare rustles in the thick grass at the edge
of the larches, then stops still, then trots a little way beside the standing corn and stops again, and soon
trots away lightly out of sight and hearing. Presently a great white owl sweeps noiselessly along the
hedge, skirts the ash plantation and passes on its beat across the river.

The summer passes away too quickly and merges imperceptibly into autumn. The corn is cut and we
feel the coming bareness of winter. It is worth while to walk the stubbles and turnips once or twice.
There are usually four or five coveys, half-a-dozen hares and some rabbits in the hedges. There should
be more birds, but the mowers in the hay harvest have destroyed several nests with the scythes. Scores
of rats steal out of the hedges at dusk to feed on the fallen ears. As the weather gets colder they leave
the fields and go to the barns and stackyards for the winter. Flocks of fieldfares gather, and hundreds
of larks, which are snared with horsehair nooses in the snow and sold in the market or sent up to the
London shops. The wood-pigeons too have packed, starlings crowd among the sheep penned in the
clover where the barley stood. Great clouds of plover show high up over the fields, changing in size
and colour as they wheel different ways in their long flapping flight. The first frost brings out the
brightest colours in the leaves, the walnuts are splashed in the orchard, and the ground littered with
husks and broken twigs. At last the rains come and colder winds blow the dead leaves down and
scatter them over the fields. The willows change least, and keep their leaves longer than other trees,
but soon they too fall and are carried quickly down the stream which flows fast and discoloured
between its banks. Only in the eddies and against the fallen trunks they gather thickly on the surface
and gradually become sodden and settle in deep layers on the bottom. The weeds die down slowly and
all the thick vegetation in bank and wood and field shrinks and wastes away. The tough stems of
mullein and hemlock and draggled rushes stand up desolate beneath bare poles and interlacing boughs
and the deserted nests of birds conspicuous in the leafless branches."

Mr Clay in the foregoing admirable description makes no mention of the railway line which runs two
fields away; yet it has insisted on making its presence known for once or twice in hot autumn, sparks
from passing engines have ignited the stubble and started a fire which has burned many valuable farm
stacks.

The drift depicted in the above sunset sketch crosses the railroad and goes as far as the Hauxton parish
boundary line through the meadows mentioned in the first part of Mr Clay's description, called Great
Ox Eye and Little Ox Eye.

Inn Crofts is in two pieces and belongs to the Manor House property, so do also the two ancient barns in the stackyard.

There is a tiny island called "The Boot" formed by the backwater of the old Manor flour-mill. Once
upon a time the fanners of the Manor land were bound to bring their corn to be ground at the Manor
mill; a mass of old masonry near "The Boot" shows where it stood. A small meadow called "Half
Moon" is on the Shelford Magna side of the Granta.

For many years Mr Arthur Austin fanned the Manor land for Mr Clay, the father of the present owner,
who lives in London and comes to the farm-house from Saturday to Monday, or for longer times in the
summer with his wife, who was Miss Mead, and their children. The caretakers of the farm-house are
Mr and Mrs Wright, she is his second wife and is an excellent cook. Mrs Dickinson of Little Shelford
is daughter to Mr Wright by his first wife.

The private road from the Manor Farm to the public road is bounded on one side by the iron railings of
the Manor House park, and the carriage drive has iron gates opening into the road; there is also a small
iron gate from the avenue foot-path. On the opposite side of the road is a thick hedge enclosing the
Rectory garden, and a small iron gate gives access to the lawn. Near the end of the road where there is !
a high white gate and a turn-stile beside it, there is another small iron gate where the Manor House iron
fence joins the old brick wall built by Sir Horatio Palavicini in 1500, which encloses the belt of trees
overhanging the road to the bridges over the Granta, and is built of red brick and supported by
buttresses in places.

The old white brick wall on the opposite side of the road encloses the gardens of modem Shelford Hall,
and the remains of the Ancient Tudor House are in the angle of the cross roads. Thomas Babington
Macawlay was educated in this house, also the eldest son of William Wilberforce was taught there by a
schoolmaster who hired the house for several years from the Wale owner.

(Written 1914)

The following page contains sketches of what is perhaps the Manor House front door and the gardens
by the river. The text reads:

"The family of Benet are Lords of this Manor (Babraham) ever since the time of Pallivicinis, an Italian
family, who came here and settled here in Queen Mary ye Catholic's time; but were not long
possessors of it. One of the Family of ye Pallivicini built yet great house at Shelford, whose Anus are
over the Door of yet said House now belonging to ye Rev. Mr Gillingham whose Arms are likewise
blason'd and cut in marble over ye grand chimney piece of ye Hall of ye great House at Babraham, viz:

X X X Chaque OR and AZURE 5 of yet first and 4 of ye last, on a chief of ye first a Staff Sable and
this is all the Palivicini visible remains of that Family in this Parish which I can discover."

Mr GiIIingham, the present Rector, married a daughter of ye Wigmore by whose means ye Estate and
Rectory came to him, but he had lived long enough to squander both the one and the other and drove to
very bad shifts not being able to stir from home for fear of being caught for debt. He had several
children, ye eldest of whom, Gilbert, married a woman of no fortune (named Prior) of Little Shelford,
and so much disobliged his father that he would not see him. He kept ye George Alehouse in Great
Shelford for many years, and I have seen him there at Petty Sessions with Mr Stevenson, Mr
Gillingham ye father in his son's Alehouse, but he did very well there and better than ye father at home.
The daughters were all married, and some well.

There follows a sketch "The Easte~ side of Pallivicini's House"

Caption: All Saints' Church can be seen through the trees which are growing on the bank of the moat
whose reflections show in the water on S. W. of the house. On the west side a road came over a bridge
up to the steps at the front entrance door. The bridge is now covered under a very large circle of turf
surrounded by the road and the moat is filled in here and also on the North side, and all these walls and
the fountains are gone.

The ancient painting in oil colour now in the possession of Miss Finch represents this house - a small
copy of it was made in water colour by Miss F.L. Wale, and this photo is taken from it. The

perspective in the original picture is quite as exaggerated as in this photograph and it makes the house
appear too far away from the river.

The Granta stream flows from S. to N., these swans are upon it; the dam is further to N.

The Manor property of Little Shelford was for more than three centuries in the family of Freville, of
which it was purchased by Alderman J. Banks, who sold it to Sir Horacio Pallivicini soon after the year
1600; it was Pallivicini who built the Manor House as it appears in the above photograph.

The garden round the Manor House was laid out in the Italian style, with a moat all round it, and to
keep it full of water a dam was made across the river Granta.

We learn from William Dowson's Journal that towards the end of the 16th century, Sir Horatio
Pallivicini became possessed of the Manorial property of this parish. He was an Italian or Genoese,
and it is said he was employed by the Pope in the reign of Queen Mary to collect all his dues in this
country, and it is further related of him that he took advantage of the death of that Queen, the
succession of Queen Elizabeth and the protection which the great change of affairs ensuing thereupon
afforded, to convert the money to his own use, and settled at Babraham. He was naturalised by Queen
Elizabeth with whom he was a great favourite. The affair is thus alluded to in a satirical epitaph printed
in Lord Oxford's anecdotes of painting, thus:

"Here lies Horatio Palavezene

Who robbed the Pope to lend the Queen
He was a thief, a thief? Thou lyest,

For why? He robbed but Anti-Christ.

Him death with besom swept from Babram,
Into the bosum of Old Abram,

But then came Hercules with his club,
And strick him down to Belzebub."

He commanded one of the English men-of-war ships in the great battle with the Spanish Armada in
1588. The precise time of his settling at Babraham is not known. He was excommunicated for giving
the pence to Queen Elizabeth; he died at Babraham on the 6th of July 1600, and on the 7th of July in the
following year his wife (Annie) was married to Sir Oliver Cromwell, uncle to the renowned OIiver. A
short time after this event, Sir Horatio's two sons, Toby the eldest who was born at Babraham in 1593,
and another Horatio, married on the same day two daughters of Ssir Oliver; the one that married Tobias
was named Jane, she died in 1637 and was buried in Chipping Ongar Church, Essex, near the grave of
her husband's brother Horatio who died March 6th 1648 aged 36.

Sir Toby Pallivicini owned a great deal of property in villages round Shelford, but he was a spendthrift
and soon lost it all; he sold the house of Shelford Parva in 1707 to the Rev. Roger Gillingham, of
whose family it was purchased in 1745 by the Rev. William Finch, who pulled down the house erected
by Horatio Pallivicini and built the present Mansion on its site, and filled up the greater part of the
moat.

In 1800 the Rev. Henry Finch sold the whole Manor property and house to Mr Law, and his son, the
Rev. James Law was Rector of Little Shelford till he died in 1896. Before he died he sold the Manor
House to Mr William Walton, the land to Mr Clay and the Rectory to St Catherine's College,
Cambridge with the advowson and the Glebe Farm and lands.

There follows a photo of the Manor House, Little Shelford in 1916 with the captions:

There is a block of old buildings in this yard behind the Hex trees and the only remaining part of the
moat is at the end of this path behind the old yew trees.

This photo does not show the old buildings which are in the old stone paved yard on this side of this
Manor House. The kitchen garden is behind this yew hedge and is surrounded by old red brick walls in
1916.

THE MODERN MANOR HOUSE

It was Alderman Banks who sold the Manor House to Sir Toy Palavicini, and he probably pulled it
down when he built himself a new house in an Italian style and surrounded it with a moat. The present
house has a walled-in yard on either side to north and south, and there are large blocks of buildings in

each yard - this was a style of building much in vogue about the time of Inigo J ones - Miss Elizabeth
Finch remembered that her father consulted that architect when he was building the present house
which is seen in the photo at the base of this page.

Miss M. Walton's widowed mother and her aunt, Miss Morrison, came to live with her and died at the
Manor House. A Mr James and Miss James once hired it. Two ladies named Page, and also Miss
Grey, deserve to be remembered for their charitable deeds in the parish.

In 1915 a wounded Belgian captain named Frain and his young wife were guests with Miss M. Walton
for several months. At one time Miss Walton went abroad for the winter, and while she was gone a
burglar got in through a broken window, but was discovered and escaped without having time to take
anything. At another time previously when mysterious sounds were heard in the empty house two men
of the Butler family took thick sticks and bravely searched everywhere, and found a living rat caught in
a trap rushing about in a covered copper in the scullery.

A bachelor once lived at the Manor House for a short time as a tenant. He went to travel abroad
leaving some servants in charge of the house, who after a while received a letter to say that their master
was dead and his body in its coffin was going to arrive at the Manor House to be interred in Little
Shelford churchyard. At the expected time some men brought a coffin and left it in a small room near
the front door, but the little house dog was extremely angry and excited, it barked and sprang upon the
coffin so furiously and persistently that the servants were obliged to open the coffin to see if everything
was right inside, and there they discovered a live man surrounded with burglars tools, who evidently
meant to steal when all was quiet at night. The bachelor was not dead. He came home a short time
after, and he must have been very grateful to his faithful little dog.

Mr William Walton, who bought the Manor House from the Rev. J. Law, was a very clever
mathematician, and wrote a great many books on the subject. He was a Scholar of Trinity College,
Fellow of Trinity Hall and Honorary Fellow of Trinity Hall and Magdalene College, Cambridge. He
was buried in Little Shelford churchyard on the 13th June, 1901, by the side of his wife who died in
1898. They were 86 and 87 years of age respectively, and a remarkably good-looking old couple; he
had an immense white beard and flowing white hair, he walked vigorously and for a walking-stick used
a long-handled spud, for routing up weeds. He was fond of studying botany. Mrs Walton was a
gentle-mannered, beautiful old lady, with a delicate pink and white complexion. It was charming to see
the dear old people walking hand in hand, accompanied by Mrs WaIton's half-sister Miss Smedley. Mr
Walton did not like the ladies to go out of the garden without him, but one day when he was in
Cambridge the ladies rebelled, and went out alone for a walk. Alas! A bicycle came suddenly round a
corner and knocked Miss Smedley down; her arm was so much injured that they had to tell Mr Walton,
and they were never allowed to go out alone upon the roads again. He really was a protection for he
had very keen hearing and was very quick in his movements, thought he was very short-sighted and
wore gold spectacles of an immense large size. Mrs WaIton lost the sight of both eyes some time
before her death, in consequence of an unsuccessful operation for cataract. A half-brother, the Rev. Mr
Smedley, also lived with the Waltons. He suffered from palsy and low spirits. He had been Rector of
Chesterton for very many years and was much loved and respected there, but when he became old and
ill he imagined he had been a very bad man. One day his relations asked him why he thought himself
so wicked, and he said that one of the things that troubled him was his cruelty to some ducks, when a
boy; he used to tie a bit of meat to a string and throw it among a crowd of ducks and allow one of them
to swallow it, then he pulled it back out of its throat and let the same duck or another one swallow it
again, and so he caused them all to fight with one another for the honour of swallowing the meat. His
relations comforted him by saying that they thought the ducks enjoyed the scramble and that it could
not have hurt them to have the meat pulled away or they would not have fought for it.

In 1589 there was a feud between Thomas Hoghton Esq. and Baron de Walton, in which the former
was killed, and the Manor and Estate of Walton in Dale was transferred by Langton to the heir of
Hoghton; this happened to Mr W. WaIton's great grandfather. Preston, near the mouth of the Ribble,
was on part of the Estate. See in "History of Preston from A.D. 705 to 1883 of Preston in the County
of Lancaster", by Antony Hewitson.

The total area of the gardens, woodlands and paddocks surrounding the Manor House in 1916 are 16
acres 3 roods 3 perches.

A photo of the modem Manor House has these captions:

There is an avenue of lime trees on this side also and behind is an entrance through a wall into the
woods by the river where many elms got uprooted by the blizzard at the end of March 1916. Fallen
trees blocked the road near the bridges and made gaps in the walls.

Many rooks build in these lime trees and in the grove of elm trees which is behind them. There are
well preserved buildings in the yards on either side of the House which are hidden by trees in the photo.
The date of their building is not known - Inigo Jones?

In April 1916 Miss Mary C. Walton sold all this property to William Raynes Esq. of Cambridge.

A Record of Shelford Parva contents

 

A Record of Shelford Parva was written by Fanny Wale. The unpublished book in the Cambridgeshire Archives has a partial content list.

This section includes a complete list of the names featured in the little Shelford history book.

 

Contents notes

The numbers at the bottom of the pages of the original book are inaccurate. The page numbers used below take the cover of the paperback version as p1. P1 in the hardback version is the title page which includes the title, A Record of Shelford Parva, and a pencil drawing of the mill. The numbering is the same as the PDF version. (You can also find a PDF of the contents attached at the bottom of the page)

 

 

These are a number of reference points to save you counting every page.

P10 - has 5 at the bottom right and a drawing of the ruined St Mary’s Church at the top.

P21 - has 13 at the bottom and includes a yellow map of the village.

P30 - has 22 at the bottom right and has a pencil drawing of Low Brooms at the top.

P40 - has 32 at the bottom right and has photo of Hauxton Road at the top of the page.

P50 - has 41 at the bottom and includes black and white pencil drawing of a cottage half way down.

P60 - has 51 at the bottom and includes a black and white pencil drawing of the Church at the top.

P71 - has 59 at the bottom (note 59! on previous page)- and has 2 oval paintings of the old hall.

P80 - has 68 at bottom right and includes a colour painting of Ivy Cottage at the top.

 

 

Mr or Mrs has been used for the contents if no Christian name is used by Fanny Wale.

Fanny Wale usually used the husband’s name to refer to the wife too i.e. Mrs Charles Gee.

The spellings in the contents are as used by Fanny Wale in the book - they have not been corrected.

Some references include names only included on maps. I considered this to be more helpful than not.

 

A

Abbott, Mr 33

Adams, John 8

Adeane, Henry 75

Ainslie, Pte 75

Allan, Mr E 39

Allan, Edith 39

Amps, D 17

Andrew, Daisy 83

Andrew, Gwendoline 39

Andrew, Hilda 39

Andrew, James 39

Andrew, Jane 39

Andrew, John 83

Andrew, Mrs John 83

Andrew, Jonathan 39

Andrew, Maud 39

Andrew, Ralph 83

Andrew, Seth 39

Andrews, Bowey 30

Andrews, Fred 23

Andrews, Gwendoline 23

Andrews, Hepsiba 83

Andrews, James 30, 39

Andrews, John 28, 30

Andrews, Jonathan 11, 13, 28, 30

Andrews, K.F. 37

Andrews, Mary 30

Andrews, Nelson 23

Andrews, Roy 23

Ansel, Mr 84

Ansel, Mrs 84

Ansel, Eliza 84

Arnold, Mr 10

Arnold, Arthur 58

Aspbury, Mr and Mrs 55

Atkinson, Mr 30

Austin family 11, 40

Austin, Anna 29

Austin, Annie 46, 84

Austin, Arthur 34, 41, 43, 46, 55, 86

Austin, Blanch 41

Austin, Bramson 46

Austin, C 38

Austin, Daniel 21, 22, 41

Austin, Edith 46

Austin, Edward 34

Austin, Emily 41

Austin, Florrie 34, 38,

Austin, Gertrude 41

Austin, Granville 26, 29, 41, 67

Austin, Mrs Granville 29

Austin, Harriet 41

Austin, Hilda 41, 55

Austin, Ida 41

Austin, J 54, 61

Austin, James 16, 46, 61, 82

Austin, Jane 45

Austin, John 29, 41

Austin, Joseph 21, 22, 38, 46

Austin, Laddy 30, 46, 50

Austin, Mildred 41, 53, 54

Austin, Sarah 46

Austin, Sidney 41

Austin, Rev Stanley 29, 41

Austin, Thomas 21, 22, 29, 38, 50, 52, 55

 

B

Banckes, Alderman John 60, 88, 89

Bagnall family 31, 54

Bagnall, Mr 41

Bagnall, Mrs 61

Bagnall, Fred 33, 41, 43

Bagnall, G 30, 43, 82

Bagnall, Hilda 33, 43

Bagnall, May 33, 43

Bagnall, Meryck 33, 37 39, 43

Bagshawe, Pte 75

Baldwin, Earl of Flanders 73

Barker, Mr 40, 67

Barnes, Mr 35

Barnes, Mrs 32

Barnes, Miss 67

Barnes, Alice 32

Barnes, Edith 32

Barnes, Edward 35

Barnes, Elizabeth 32

Barnes, Emma 32

Barnes, John 32

Barnes, Lizzie 32

Barnes, Edward 35

Barnes, Sydney 32

Barnes, Thomas 32

Barnes, William 32

Barrett, Capt 54

Bateman, Mr 29

Barry family 67

Baynard, A 28

Baynard, Harris 28

Beach, Mr 33

Beagle, Mr 52, 61

Beals, Mr 24

Beals, George 24

Beals, Kate 24

Bendish, Capt 75

Benet family 87

Biden, Thomas 21, 22

Biden, William 21, 22

Bird, A 54

Blow, Miss 81

Bonfoy, Mr 27

Bowen, Miss Mary 31, 33

Bowey, Ranavo 39

Bowtell, Miss 32, 33

Bowtell, Mr Walter 32, 37

Boycott Miss 28

Braddick, Charles 37

Brand family 28, 36, 37

Brand, Miss 84

Brand, Elizabeth 36

Brand, James 19, 28, 84

Brand, Mary 84

Brand, Sarah 28

Brazier family 50, 79

Brazier, Emily 46

Brazier, Jim 28

Brazier, Martha 28, 46

Brazier, Mary 30

Brazier, William 29

Brent, Henrietta 72, 74, 78

Bright Smith, Barbara 33, 43

Bright Smith, Joan 33, 43

Bright Smith, Jack 43

Bright Smith, John 33

Bright Smith, Vandaleur 33, 37, 43, 53, 54, 84

Brochart, Mr and Mrs 55

Brook, James 54

Brown, Mr 40, 67

Brown, Miss 54

Brown, Rev Dr 33, 54, 55

Brown, Betsey 41

Browne, Charlotte 74

Browne, Sir Martin 76

Brundish, Mr 81

Bruni, Herr 59

Brunning, Mr 52

Burgess, Mr 11, 12, 29, 30, 82

Burrell, Mr 39

Butlar family 67, 80

Butlar, Charles 30, 34, 36, 37, 68, 84

Butlar, Dennison 11, 12

Butler family 89

Butler, Mrs 35, 37

Butler, Annie 37

Butler, Dorris 37

Butler, Edith 37

Butler, Henry 37

Butler, Robert 37

Butler, William 37

Butler, Louisa 46

Butler, Philip 21, 22

 

C

Cabourne, Lord William 33

Cambridge, A 39

Cambridge, Bert 37

Cambridge Owen 39

Cambridge, William 8

Carless, Miss 54

Carr, Rev Edwin 30, 35, 61, 65, 66

Carr, Rev Septimus 65

Carrow, Col 57

Carrow, Alice 57

Carrow, Frederick 57

Carrow, Henry 57

Carter, Mr 39

Carter, Mrs 84

Carter, Albert 31

Carter, Arthur 29, 32, 84

Carter, Edith 54

Carter, Florence 29, 46, 84

Carter, Gertie 29, 46, 84

Carter, Henry 29, 37, 46, 84

Carter, Mary 81

Carter, Richard 29

Carter-Jonas, Mr 7, 9

Carter-Jonas, Mrs 7

Carter-Jonas May 7

Carter-Jonas, Owen 7

Carwardine family 78

Carwardine, Mrs 78

Caseley, John 21, 22

Cater Mr 12

Catley, Mrs 39

Cecil family 35

Chandler, Jessie 46

Chant, Mr 40

Chapman, Annie 28

Chapman, Richard 21, 22

Chapman, William 28

Charles II, 69

Charlotte, Queen 74

Chase, Dr 61

Chater, Mr 53

Chetwode, Sir Richard 78

Chuck, Mr 80

Chuck, Annie 58

Church, James 42, 77

Churchman family 18

Clamp, Mr 48

Clamp, Miss 45

Clarke, Mary 45

Clarke, Palmer 44

Clay, Charles 40, 50, 51, 52, 60, 67, 86, 88

Clear, William 28

Cockerton, Mr 41

Cockshot, Arthur 35

Cockshot, Fanny 35

Cockshot, Henrietta 35

Cole, Edward 52

Cole, William 87

Collier, H 8

Collier, T 21, 22

Collins, Ann 52

Collis, F 39

Cook, Mrs 55

Cook, Miss 55

Cook, Rev Robert 65

Cooke, Alice 37, 46

Cooper family 37

Cooper, Charles 36

Cooper, Mrs F 36

Cooper, James 36

Cooper, John 36

Cousins, Ethel 52

Cousins Heather 52

Cousins, John Ratcliffe 52

Cousins, Richard 52

Covill, Moss 38

Covill, Sarah 38

Covill, William 38

Cox family 18

Cox, Mrs 38

Cracknall, Mr 39

Cracknell, Charles 37

Cromwell, Oliver 88

Cross, Miss E 51, 67

Crow, Lavinia 59

Cumming, C 8

Curel, Rev Michael 65

Currell, Mrs 39

 

D

Dale, Mr 40

Dale, Rev John 65

Dare Family 41, 50, 67

Dare, Arthur 46

Dare, Edward 46

Dare, John 29, 40, 46

Dare, Joshua 46

Dare, William 46

Darley, Arthur 23

Darley, Baby 23

Darley, Charlotte 23

Darley, Ernest 23, 37

Darley, Evelyn 23

Darley, George 23, 58

Darley, Gladys 23

Darley, Harriet 23

Darley, Horace 23

Darley, Mary 23

Darley, Reginald 23

Dawson, Mrs 52, 55

Dawson, George 24, 54, 67, 82

Dean, Mr 61, 90

Dean, Mrs 54, 82

Dean, Arthur 82

Dean, Bertram 23

Dean, Herbert 82

Dean, William 8, 10

De Freville family 46

Freville, Sir John de 46

Dennis, Miss 28

Dickerson family 32, 40

Dickerson, Agnes 32,

Dickerson, Bertie 32, 35, 37

Dickerson, Elsie 32,

Dickerson, James 32,

Dickerson, Mabel 32,

Dickerson, Victor 28, 32, 37

Dickinson, Mrs 86

Dickment, Capt 75

Dill, Dr John 78

Dill, Dr Richard 78

Dill, Richard 78

Dixon, Sgt 75

Dixon, Mary 39

Dockerill Mrs 32,

Dockerill, Alice 28

Dockerill, Amy 32

Dockerill, Ben 61, 83

Dockerill, Edith 28

Dockerill, Ellen 28, 32

Dockerill, Florrie

Dockerill, Fred 28, 30, 32, 37

Dockerill, Sidney 28, 37

Dockerill, Walter 28, 32

Dodds, Brig Gen W 57

Donavan, Mrs 59

Doncombe, Col 75

Donkin, W 33

Doscaster, Mrs 32,

Dowar, Miss 54

Dowson, William 88

Duke of Leeds 32

Duke, Mr 90

Dunn, Mrs 30, 31, 52

Dunn Arthur 30, 33

Dunn, Emma 33

Dunn, Ethel 33, 43

Dunn, Florence 33

Dunn, Hilda 33, 43

Dunn, John 30, 33, 55, 82

Dyne, Mr 27

 

E

Edward I 73

Edwards, Robert 21, 22

Eaden family 35, 67

Eaden, Mr and Mrs 71

Eaden, Mrs 37, 56, 70, 72

Eaden, Grace 27

Eaden, John F. 27, 34, 35, 37, 45, 50, 68, 77, 80, 82

Eaden, Margaret 27, 35, 80

Eadie, Mr 35

Easy, Alice, 39, 41

Easy, Florrie 39, 41

Easy, George 39, 41

Easy, Hannah 39

Easy, Maud 54

Easy, Reginald 39, 41

Easy, William 54

Edward III 78

Edward VII 85

Eedes, Joseph 21, 22

Eglysisas, Mrs 27

Elbourn family 29

Elbourn, Mrs 24

Elbourn, Edward 29

Elbourn, Eliza 29, 46

Elbourn, Emma 29

Elbourn, Elizabeth 29, 32

Elbourn, Esther 29

Elbourn, Henry 29

Elbourn, Joe 29

Elbourn, Mary 29

Elbourn Nelly 32

Elbourn, Richard 18, 25, 29, 32, 39, 46, 54

Elbourn, Robert 61

Elbourn, Mrs R 32,

Elbourn, Susan 29

Elbourn, William 29

Elbourne family 29

Elbourne, Mr 34, 35, 36

Elbourne, Mr 39, 50, 68

Elbourne, Mrs 29

Elbourne, Agnes 46

Elbourne, Charlemagne 37, 46

Elbourne, Charles 46

Elbourne, Cissie 46

Elbourne,  Edna 46, 61

Elbourne, Edward 37, 46

Elbourne, Florence 46

Elbourne, Gertie 37, 46

Elbourne, John 46

Elbourne, Lecester 67

Elbourne, Malcolm 37, 46

Elbourne, Margaret 37, 46

Elbourne, Sydney 46

Elbourne, Thomas 21, 22, 46

Elizabeth, Queen 59, 88

Ellis, Mr 39, 41

Ellis, Ellen 37

Ellis, Stanley 37

Ellis, Stephen 37

Ellum family 37, 54

Ellum, Agnes 54

Ellum, Annie 54

Ellum, Arthur 54

Ellum, Bertha 30, 54

Ellum, Earnest 54

Ellum, Emily 54

Ellum, Ethel 54

Ellum, Fredrick 54

Ellum, Harriet 40

Ellum, Herbert 54

Ellum, John 54

Ellum, Josiah 54

Ellum, Richard 54

Ellum, William 32, 37, 54

Elwes, Dorothy 74

Elwes, Emily 74

Elwes, Robert 74

Elwis, Mr 11, 12

Emperor Frederick Barbarossa 73

Englin, Capt 57

Evans, Mr 19

Everett family

Everett, Abiatha 45

Everett, Alice 45

Everett, Ellen 45

Everett, Emily 45

Everett, John 32, 44, 45

Everett, Robert 45

Eytor, Rev Thomas de 65

F

Faircloth, W 21, 22

Farrington family 18

Farrington, Mr 48

Fenton, Miss 53

Ferguson-Davie, Pte 75

Ferrin, Capt 27

Ferrin, Miss 27

Ffolkes, Sir Everard 74

Ffolkes, Rev Henry 74

Ffolkes, Lucretia 74

Ffolkes, Sir Martin 74

Ffolkes, Martin 74

FFolkes, Sir William 72, 74

Ffolkes, William 74

Ficklin, Dr 24, 29

Ficklin, Major 24

Finch family 48, 58, 59, 67

Finch, Miss 29, 51, 81, 88

Finch, Betty 60

Finch, Rev C 59

Finch, Catherine 59

Finch, Charles  21, 22, 59

Finch, Edward 59

Finch, Eleanor, 43, 49, 59

Finch, Elizabeth 47, 59, 89

Finch, Ellen 59

Finch, George 59

Finch, Harriet 59

Finch, Rev Henry 47, 55, 59, 65, 66

Finch, Isabella 59

Finch, Nelly 47

Finch, Capt Ray 59

Finch, Sarah 60

Finch, Rev William 21, 22, 59, 60, 88

Fitz Wale, Richard 4

Flack, H 54

Flandrensis, Walter 78

Fletcher, Alice 23

Fletcher, Annie 23

Fletcher, Henry 23, 37

Fletcher, King 23

Fordham Mr 41, 52

Fordham, Mrs 29

Fordham, Ernest 29

Fordham, Fanny 29

Fordham, John 26, 29, 32

Fortin, Stanley 27

Foster, Charles 7

Foster, Michael 2

Frain, Mr 89

Franks, A.W. 85

Francis, Mrs 53

Frederick of Suabia 73

Freeman, Mr 50

Freeman, Alexander 39

Freeman, Jane 39

Freville, de family 61, 64, 88

Freville, Clarisa de 60

Freville, Sir John de 63, 64

Freville, Margaret de 60

Freville, Richard de 85

Freville, Robert de 60

Freville, Thomas de 60

Fuller, Rev George 65

 

G

Gall Mr 54

Gall family 23, 51

Gall Alfred 41

Gall, Arthur 39, 40, 41, 43

Gall, Mrs A

Gall, Annie 41

Gall, Cecil 41

Gall, Charles 41, 67

Gall, Christopher 41, 48, 51

Gall, Cissie 41

Gall, Edward 37, 41

Gall, Henry 41

Gall, Herbert41

Gall, Jane 41

Gall, Jem 41

Gall, John 41

Gall, Rosie 41

Gall, William 10, 21, 22, 30, 41, 50, 51

Gall, Mrs William 51

Garrett, Mrs 59

Gate, Rev John 65

Gaul, Miss 48

Gaythorn, Mrs 30

Geary, Miss 10

Geddes, Sir Auckland, 57

Gee family 83

Gee, Charles 6,7,16, 48, 52

Gee, Mrs Charles 10, 52

Gee, Eliza 52

Gee, Henry 26

George III 74

George V 85

George, Albert 39

George, Elisa 39

George, Elisabeth 39, 43, 52

George, Lewis 39

George, Mrs Lewis 36

George, Thomas 39

George, Walter 39

George, William 39

Giffard, Mrs 68

Giffard, Charlotte 54

Giffard, Elizabeth 29, 54

Giffard, George 54

Giffard, Herbert 54

Giffard, John 29

Giffard, Maharla 54

Giffard, Nelly 54

Giffard, Robert 54

Giffard, Rose 54

Giffard, Stephen 54

Giffard, William 54

Gifford family 18, 50

Gifford, Allen 8

Gifford, Mrs Ester 11, 18

Gifford, Stephen 11

Gillingham family 27, 54

Gillingham, Mrs 26

Gillingham, Agnes 26, 27

Gillingham, Edward 26

Gillingham, Ellen 54

Gillingham, Freddie 26, 27

Gillingham, George 26, 27

Gillingham, Gilbert 27, 54

Gillingham, Henry 27

Gillingham, Julia 27

Gillingham, Rev Roger 11, 12, 27, 65, 87, 88

Gillingham, Mrs Roger 11, 12

Gillingham, Susan 26, 27

Goat, Mr 40

Godfrey family 39

Godfrey, Mr 50, 67

Godfrey, Agnes 53

Godfrey, Albert 38, 53

Godfrey, Ambrose 23, 53

Godfrey, B 21, 22

Godfrey, Dorothy 23, 53

Godfrey, Edward 53

Godfrey, Emily 53

Godfrey, George 38, 53

Godfrey, Jesse 53

Godfrey, John 21, 22, 37, 53

Godfrey, Josephine 38

Godfrey, Nellie 53

Godfrey, Reginald 23, 53

Godfrey, Sally 53

Godfrey, Sophie 53

Godfrey, Susan 39, 53

Goodwin, Mr 52

Goodwin, Capt 75

Goodwin, Bertram 32

Goodwin, John 37

Grain, Alice 59

Grain, Arthur 11, 12

Grain, Charles 59

Grain, Corney 7

Grain, Louisa 59

Grain, Mildred 59

Grain, Peter 7, 8, 9, 21

Granger, Mr 10, 11, 46

Gray, Rev R 21, 22

Gray, Sidlake 59

Green, Edward 21

Green, J 30

Greene, Raymond 33

Greetham, Rev George 78

Grew, Mr 41

Grey, Miss 89

Grey, Edith 58

Grey, J.D. 87

Griffiths, Pte 75

Griswold, Mr 81

Gunnell family 11, 12

Gunning, Mr 81

Gunning, Mrs 81

Gunning, Miss 81

Gurner, John 21, 22

H

Hacker, Mr 54

Hacker, Albert 29

Hacker, Alicia 29

Hacker, Connie 29

Hacker, David 29

Hacker, Dorothea 29

Hacker, Eliza 29

Hacker, Ernest 29

Hacker, Flossie 29

Hacker, Freddie 29

Hacker, Nathan 29

Hacker, Peter 29

Hacker, Pharoah 25, 29

Hager, James 39

Hagger family 38, 45

Hagger, Mr 48

Haines, Mr 28

Haines, Mrs 33

Hall, Capt Reginald 27, 30

Hall, Susan 53

Hallet family 28

Hancock family 18

Hancock, Mr 32

Hansen, Mr 24

Harding, Charlotte 32

Harding, Madge 32

Harding, Nina 32

Harding, Winnie 32

Harding, Vivian 32

Harking, Miss 53

Harradine, Albert 23

Harrington, Miss 10

Harris, Mr 30

Harris, Frances 28

Harrison, Maud 39

Hart, J 54, 67

Harvey, Dr 12

Harvey, Mr 32

Harvey, Lizzie 32

Harvey, Susan 52

Haylock, Maria 46

Headley, Mr 55

Headley, Miss 6, 11

Headley, Henry 8

Headley, William 8

Hearne, A 41

Heath, Rev John 65

Henry VII 78

Henson, Lieut Col 57

Hewitson, Antony 89

Heylock, Capt 75

Hinton, Miss 10

Hirst, Rev Thomas 65

Hitch, Eliza 42

Hitch, Capt Thomas 42, 77

Hockliffe, Mr 32

Hogg, Rev Martin 65

Hoghton, Thomas 89

Holdfield, Ricardus 61

Holmes, Mr 67

Hones, Mrs 83

Hones, Hilda 83

Hones, Prior 83

Hones, Tom 54

Hones, William 83

Honey, Mr 40

Hopkins, Mr and Mrs 59

Howard family 28

Howard, Mr 28, 33

Howard, Mrs 55

Howard Miss 11, 12

Howe, John 11, 13, 30, 46, 67

Howsden, Mr 34

Huddlestone, R 21, 22

Hudson, Mr 28

Hughes, Mr 53, 67

Hughes, Prof McKenny 25

Humphrey family 50

Humphrey, Ben 48

Humphries, Miss 27

Hurrell family 65

Hurrell, Allen 42, 77

Hurrell, D 21, 22

Hurrell, Harold 26, 43, 53

Hurrell, William 21, 22, 81

Hyde, Miss 48

Hynde, Rev Thomas 65

 

I

Ingle family 59

Ingle, Elizabeth 60

Ingle, Samuel 60,

Ingle, Rev Samuel 65

Ingle, William 60

 

J

Jackson, Mrs 84

Jackson, Arthur 84

Jackson, George 58

Jackson, William 24, 37, 58, 61, 84

James I 78

James II 78

James, Mr 89

James, Evelyn 45

Jarman, Mr 30

Jenkins, Mrs 81

Jennings, Rev A 72

Jennings, Albert 30

Jennings, Alfred 28

Jennings, Annie 30

Jennings, Dr Arthur 78

Jennings, Charles, 26, 30, 31, 32, 53, 67

Jennings, Clara 30

Jennings, Edward 30

Jennings, Fredrick 28

Jennings, George 28, 50

Jennings, Harris 50

Jennings, Joe 30

Jennings, John 21, 22, 28, 83

Jennings, Joseph 28

Jennings, Richard 78

Jennings, Sarah 19

Jennings, Thomas 28

Jennings, William 28

Jiggles, Mr 37

Jigles, Henry 37

Johnson, Mr 50

Johnson, Isabella 77

Johnson, Lawrence 41

Johnstone, Lawrence 41

Joiner, Mr 52

Joiner, Miss 28

Jonas, Marshall 7

Jones, Inigo 47, 89

Jordan, Arthur 18

Jordan, James 18

Josephs, Mr 52

 

K

Keeth, John 36

Kemp, Sarah 28

Kennedy, Capt 53, 54

Kett family 37

Kett, Jane 30

Keys, Rev J 54

Knight, Rev Walter 65

Kimpton, A 6

King, Mr 29, 48

King, “Farmer” 14

King, Thomas 19

Kinver, Henry 53

Kirby, Mr 8

Knott, John 21, 22

 

L

Lach, William 59

Lacy, Mr 40

Langton, Mr 89

Law, Mr 59, 88

Lawson, Rev Anerim 10, 11, 12

Larkin, Alexander 37

Larking, Henry 32

Larkins family28, 32

Larkins, Winnie 28

Law, Mrs Charles 52

Law, Charles 52

Law, Eleanor 52

Law, Ernest 52

Law, Ethel 52

Law, Rev J 35, 52, 59, 61, 63, 64, 65, 66, 88, 89

Law, Mrs J 36, 52

Law, Rev William 65

Lawrence, Florence 52

Leas, Frederick 35

Lecester family 23

Le Ford, Adolph 29

Lester, Mrs 46

Lewin Mrs 38

Lewin, George 24, 37, 38 54

Light Thomas 32

Lilley, Miss 54

Lilley, S 21, 22

Litchfield family 31, 67, 82

Litchfield, Mr 33

Litchfield, Annie 30

Litchfield, Elizabeth 30

Litchfield, Francis 30

Litchfield, Frank 30, 52

Litchfield, Frederick 30

Litchfield, James 30

Litchfield, Nelly 30

Litchfield, Rupert 30

Litchfield, William 30

Littledale, Capt 12

Littlejohn, Rev F 39

Living, Mrs 30

Lloyd, Mrs 26

Lockhart, Mr 29, 54, 55, 67

Lockhart, Mrs 41

Lofts, Charles 67

Lofts, Seward 11, 12, 28, 29, 55

Lofts, Shadrach 29

Loker family 41

Loker, Mr 39, 41

Lomax, Mr and Mrs 27

Louis XV 78

Lucas, Jo 12, 16

Luckhurst, Walter 53

Lund, Rev Roger 65

 

M

McAlister, Paul 11, 12

Macawley, F.W 6, 70

Macawley, Rose 7

Macawley, Thomas Babbington 86

Mackay, Dr 79

Magesy, Mary 77

Magoris, Dr W.O. 7, 34

Malcolmson, Miss 33

Manning, Rev Richard 65

Mansfield, Mr 35, 40

Mansfield, Mrs 30, 40

Mansfield, Catherine 40

Mansfield, Charles 32, 40, 50

Mansfield, Charles William 40

Mansfield, Clara 40

Mansfield, Elisa 40

Mansfield, George 27

Mansfield, Henry 40, 45, 50, 66

Mansfield, James 40

Mansfield, Jane 40

Mansfield, Jim 40

Mansfield John 40

Mansfield, Mary-Ann

Mansfield, Sarah 40

Mansfield, Susan 40

Maris family 6

Maris, Miss 29

Maris, Richard 8

Marking, Mr 28

Marriot, Mr 81

Marriot, Edward 81

Marriot, Frederick 81

Marriot, Henry 81

Marsh, Miss E 54

Marshall, Miss 54

Marshall, Mrs 83

Marshall family 32, 41

Marshall, Arthur39

Marshall, Daniel 39

Marshall, Edith, 39

Marshall, Eva 39

Marshall, Edward Charles 39

Marshall, Frederick 39, 46

Marshall, Harris 21, 22

Marshall, Helena 39

Marshall, John 39

Marshall, Mildred 39

Marshall, Col R 78

Marshall, Ruth 39

Marshall, Sarah 39

Marshall, Thomas 37, 39

Marshall, Mrs T 39

Marshall, W 10

Marshall, Mrs W 30, 32, 39

Marshall, William C 29, 38, 39

Marshall, William J 39

Martin, Cyril 54

Martin, David 2

Martin, Letice 58

Martin, Molly 78

Martin, Su 2

Marshall, Mrs 25,

Marshall W 31, 83

Mary, Queen 87, 88

Mascey, Mary 42

Maskell family 38

Maul, Syble 74

May, Delila 39

May, Jack 39

Maynard, Mr 37

Mead, Mr and Mrs 26

Mead, Miss 86

Meadows, Mr Ernest 24, 37

Meadows, Arthur 24

Meadows, Ernest 24

Meinard, A 39

Mellor, Pte 75

Merry, Johnny 37

Metcalf, Rev Frederick 65

Michel, Pier 29

Miles, Mrs 48

Miles, Gilbert 55

Mill. Arthur 65

Mitchell, Thomas 29, 63

Moore family 32,

Moore, Mrs 30

Moore, Alfred 30

Moore, Annie 28

Moore, Bertram 30

Moore, Charles 30

Moore, John 28, 30

Moore Sarah 30

Moore, Ted 30

Moore Thomas 30

Moore, William 30

Morley, Mr 27, 28

Morley, Violet 61

Morrison, Miss 89

Moss, Victor 29

Mowlam, M.W. 53, 67

Murray, Ithne 78

 

N

Nash family 48

Negus family 39

Nelson, Lord 68

Newman, Mr 50

Newnham, Charles 53

Norman, Ethel 40

Northfield family 83

Northfield, Miss 30

Northfield, Jane 41

Northfield, John 21, 22

Notingham , Jane 39

Nunn, Mr and Mrs 56, 84, 90

Nunn, Henry 84

Nunn, Godfrey 84

Nunn, Leonard 84

Nunn, Leslie 84

Nunn, Stanley 84

Nutter, Mr 19

Nutter, James 21, 22

 

O

Oakes family 67

Oakes, Dr 53, 67

Oatmeal family 43

Orpen, Rev H.J. 11

Orpen, Rev T 10, 11, 12

Oswald, Beatrice 46

Outlaw, Henry 58

Oxford, Lord 88

 

P

Page, Miss 89

Pallavicini, Annie 88

Pallavicini, Sir Horacio 16,17, 59, 86, 87, 88

Pallavicini, Jane 88

Pallavicini, Toby 88, 89

Palmer, Maurice 2

Papillon, Meia, 52

Parren, G 54

Parker, Dean 10

Patterson, Mr 78

Payne family 79

Payne, Mr 40

Payne, Mrs 50

Payne, Adelaide 58

Payne, Annie 58

Payne, Benjamin 58, 83, 84

Payne, Charles 58

Payne, Charlotte 40, 58

Payne, Dorothy40, 58

Payne, Edith 58, 84

Payne, Emily 58

Payne, Frederick 58

Payne, George 58

Payne, Isabella 58

Payne, James 58

Payne, Joseph 8, 26, 40, 58, 83

Payne, Mrs Joe 38

Payne, John 40

Payne, Kissiah 40, 58

Payne, Margaret 58

Payne, Mary 58

Payne, Nelly 58

Payne, Polly 58

Payne, Reginald 40, 58

Payne, Sarah 46, 58

Payne, Thomas 58

Payne, Winnie 40, 58

Pearce, Mr 18

Pearl, Fred 37, 83

Pearl, Hilda 83

Pearl, May 83

Pearl, Robert 83

Pearl, Sidney 83

Pearl, Tyire 58

Pearle, Polly 46

Pearson family 18

Pearson Mrs 11

Pearson Thomas 8

Pearl, Sidney 61

Peart, A.B. 24

Pemberton family 67

Pemberton, Major 53

Pemberton, Elizabeth 81

Pemberton, Christopher 21, 22

Pemberton, Rev Henry 65

Pemberton, Mary 80, 81

Pepper, Miss 54

Perkins, Miss 53, 67

Perkins, Mrs 53, 67

Peters, Mr 29, 39

Pett, Mrs 30

Pett, Thomas 30

Pettit family 32,

Pettit, Mr 23, 54

Pettit, Mrs 83

Pettit, Albert 24,  54

Pettit, Alice 30

Pettit, Arthur 54

Pettit, Beatrice 30

Pettit, Bertha 30

Pettit, Charles 54

Pettit, Clara 30

Pettit, Daisy 30

Pettit, Doris 54

Pettit, Edith 30

Pettit, Edward 54

Pettit Emily 30

Pettit Frederick 30, 54, 83

Pettit George 30, 54, 61

Pettit, Gladis 54

Petit, Grace 54

Pettit, Harriet 54

Pettit, Lillian 30, 54

Pettit, Louisa 54

Pettit, Nelly 54

Pettit, Percy 54

Pettit, Philip 54

Pettit, Stanley 54

Pettit, Thomas 54, 84

Pettit, William 54

Peveritt family 39

Peveritt, Mr 29, 83, 84

Peveritt, A 39, 53

Phillips, Mr 30

Picklin, Major 52

Piper, Mr 58

Pilkington, Mr 43

Platt-Higgins, F 24, 25, 27, 37

Pluck, Edith 23

Plumb, Horace 37

Plumb, Sydney 27

Plumb, Thomas 11, 12

Pollard, Sgt 75

Pooley, Florence 28

Pooley, John 28

Portarlington, Lady 37

Powell, Edward 4, 57

Powell, Rev Harcourt 4, 57, 63, 72

Powell, Norah 4, 57

Powell, Robert 57

Powell, Maj Vernon 4, 57, 78

Powter, Mary 54

Powter, Peter 10, 54

Pratt, Ann 40

Press, Katherine 30

Prest, Adelaide 77, 78

Prest, Caroline 78

Prest, Cornwallis 52

Prest, Edward 52

Prest, Miss F 30

Prest, George 52

Prest, Joseph 52

Prest, Mary-Ann 52

Prest, Peter 52

Prest, Sarah-Jane 52

Prest, Thomas 52

Prest, William 52

Preston, Mr 33, 34, 70

Prior family 83

Prior, Miss 27, 87

Prior, Mrs 81, 83

Prior, Ada 29, 54

Prior, Bessie 54

Prior, Caroline 38

Prior, Carry 46, 54

Prior, David 54

Prior, Elisa 54

Prior, George 54

Prior, Henry 11, 54, 83

Prior, James 54

Prior, Mrs James 35

Prior, Joe 54

Prior, Lina 39

Prior, Lissie 54

Prior, Mary 54

Prior, Rose 54

Prior, Sarah 54

Prior, Susan 54

Prince, Dr 45

Probyn, Sir Dighton 78

Pumphrey, Benjamin 61, 83

Purkiss, Eliza 39

Purkiss, James 23, 37

Purkiss, Jane 23

Purkiss, Julia 23

Purkiss, Louise 23

Purkiss, Mary 23

Purkiss, Robert 23

Pyme, Lieut Col Ernest 34

 

R

Ramsay, Dr 8, 11, 13

Ramsay, Donald 10

Ramsay, Emily 77

Ramsay, Dr John Allen 11, 12

Ramsay, Mr 12, 40

Randall, Sandcroft 27, 60

Rayment, Mr 50

Rayner, Miss 83

Rayner, A 41

Rayner, Mary 28

Rayner, Sarah 30

Raynes, William 89

Reed, Capt 75

Reed, Sarah, 21, 22

Richardson, Marion 77

Riches, Alice 28

Riches, Annie 28

Riches, Charles 28

Riches, Cissie 28

Riches, George 28

Riches, John 28, 53, 56

Riches, Nellie 28

Rickman, Miss 34

Rider, Mr and Mrs 30, 34, 83

Rider, John 30

Rider, Thomas 52

Rider, William 30

Rivett, Agness 23

Rivett, Alice 23

Rivett, Elizabeth 23

Rivett, George 23

Rivett, Harry 23

Rivett, May 23

Rivett, William 23

Rivett, Willie 23

Robert, Duke of Normandy 73

Roberts, Gen Lord

Roberts, Lieut Col 75

Robinson, Mr 30, 37, 51

Robinson, Mrs 30, 32

Robinson, Miss 29

Robinson, Bradstreet 48, 81

Robinson, Mary 30, 58

Robinson, Perry 31, 48, 81, 84

Roche, Rev Richard 65

Roe, Mr 68

Rogers family 18

Rogers, Mr 24, 32, 43

Rogers, Addie 52

Rogers, Albert 39, 43

Rogers, Alfred 52

Rogers, C 18

Rogers, Edwin 32, 52

Rogers, Mrs Ernest 11, 28, 32, 52

Rogers, Frank 43

Rogers, Fred 43

Rogers, George 43

Rogers, Gladyws 32, 52

Rogers, Harold 52

Rogers, Llewellyn 32, 37, 52

Rogers, Martha 32, 52

Rogers, May 43

Rogers, Millie 52

Rogers, Norah 52

Rogers, Rose 52

Rogers, Rupert 37, 52

Rogers, S 61

Rogers, Samuel 52

Rogers, Sidney 52

Rogers, Violet 29, 32, 52

Rogers, William 52

Rolinson, Mary 58

Romeney, Mr 78, 80, 81

Rooke, Stephen 53

Rutter family 54

Ryder, Mr Henry 26, 37

 

S

Saich, Ray 2

Samuel, Miss A 58

Sandberg, Mrs 81

Saunders, Philip 2

Saundres, Mrs Dyer 54

Scarr, Mr 10

Scarr, Miss 54

Scarr, Emma 54

Schriber, Miss 33

Shaw, Mrs 43

Shearing family 35

Shearing, George 37, 54

Shearing, Phoebe 39

Shearing, Sam 35, 37, 54

Sheffield, Rev John 65

Simpson, Agnes 52

Simpson, Blanch 52

Smart family 40

Smart, Mary 30, 39

Smedley, Miss 89

Smedley, Rev 89

Smellert, Victor 29

Smith, Mr 39, 40, 41

Smith, Mrs 25

Smith, Agnes 39

Smith, Arthur William 27

Smith, Claud 39

Smith, Daisy 39

Smith, Harry 39

Smith, Lily 39

Smith, Wilfred 27, 33, 37, 39

Smith Taylor, Bert 23

Smith Taylor, Ernest 23

Smith Taylor, Olive 23

Smith Taylor, Reginald 23

Smith Taylor, Sarah 23

Smith Taylor, William 23

Smith, Charles 10

Smith, Ezekial 53

Soden, Bessie 59

Soden, Hermione 59

Soden, Rev John 59

Soden, Rev T 43, 59

Sparke, Ezekiel 42, 77

Sparke, Margaret 42, 77

Sparkes family 83

Sparkes, Mrs 34

Sparkes, Bessie 83

Sparkes, Kathleen 83

Sparkes, Ralph 83

Sparkes, Sybil 83

Speller, Miss 35

Stacey, Thomas 8

Stainforth, Annie 38

Stallion, John 7, 8

Stanford, Annie 53

Stead, Mr 35

Stead, Mrs 39

Stephens, Mr 52, 53

Stickwood, Laura, 23

Stearn family 36, 37, 67

Stearn, Mr 58

Stearn, Conny 37

Stearn, Herbert 37

Stearn, William 37, 61

Stevenson, Mr 87

Stitchwood, Laura 53

Strongbow, Earl 78

Stubblefield, Mr 28

Stublefield, Miss 82

Sutton, Charles 38

Sutton, Geoff 28, 38

Sutton, Rosie 38

Swatman, Mrs 30

Swinborne, Rev Robert 65

 

T

Tabor, Ada 39

Teversham, Alice 23

Taylor, Mr 45

Taylor, Emma 54

Taylor, George 54

Taylor, Harold 54

Taylor, Herbert 30, 37, 54

Taylor, Isabella 54

Taylor, John, 54

Taylor, Joseph 54

Taylor, Percy 54

Taylor, Reginald 54

Taylor, Sarah 54

Taylor, William 37, 54

Tebbutt, Col Louis 37

Thompson, Herbert 34, 37

Thompson, Lieut Col Howard 34

Thompson Mrs Howard32, 33

Thompson, James 85

Thompson, William 21, 22

Thompson, Winnie 34

Thornton, Capt 32, 35, 37, 39, 81

Thornton, Mrs 32, 35

Thurnall family 81

Torel family 9

Towgood, Hamer 23, 24, 32, 56, 83, 84

Towgood, Mrs 23, 24

Towgood, S. James 24

Townsend, Pte 75

Townsend, Elias 30, 34

Tredgitt, Mrs 38

Trotman, Mr 53

Tunwell, Mr 8

Turner, Mr 40

Turner, Fanny 74

Turner, Sir John 74

Turre

Turtlebury, Arthur 10, 11, 12

Twiss family 81

Tyrill, Capt 34

Tyson, Rev Michael 42, 77

 

U

Ullsbrooke, Mr 29

Umbstaetter, Mr 81

Upshard, May 52

 

V

Vance, W 54

Vanhoule, Henry 29

Venn, John 18

Vignioles, Capt 81

 

W

Wahull, de 78

Wale, Henry de 78

Wale, William de 78

Wale, Richard Fitz 78

Wale family 17, 61, 73, 78

Wale, Adela 77

Wale, Adrigette 44

Wale, Anna 4, 72, 82

Wale, Anne 69, 78

Wale, Augusta 78

Wale, C 21, 22      

Wale, Caroline 44

Wale, Cecille Henrietta 4, 57, 63, 72

Wale, Charles 4, 11,12, 23, 24, 28, 35, 36, 52, 57, 72, 74, 77, 78, 81

Wale, Charles Brent 17, 24, 43, 72, 73, 74,

Wale, Charlot 44

Wale, Eliza 69, 77

Wale, Fanny  2, 6, 44, 45, 47, 52, 53, 56,  69, 74, 88

Wale, Frederic 74

Wale, Frederica 4, 52, 57, 80

Wale, Capt Frederick 77

Wale, Maj Fredrick 77, 78

Wale, Rev Frederick 73, 77

Wale, Mrs Frederick 73

Wale, Georgia 4, 72

Wale Gregory 3, 4, 38, 42, 43, 68, 69, 74, 77, 78, 81

Wale, Rev Henry John 4, 36, 73, 74, 78

Wale, Hitch 42, 69, 77

Wale, Isabella 69, 77, 81

Wale, John 78

Wale, Judge 78

Wale, Louisa 6, 13, 35, 42, 44, 51, 69, 71, 74, 77, 78

Wale, M.P 21, 22, 30, 80, 81

ll, Pt

Wale, Miss M. P 35, 36, 38, 56, 59, 81

Wale, Rev Malcolm 44, 68, 72, 73, 74

Wale, Margaret 42, 69, 77

Wale, Mary 4, 44, 69

Wale, Mildred 26, 31

Wale, Minnie 74

Wale, Penelope 42, 69, 77

Wale, Robert 4, 69, 72, 78

Wale, Col Robert Gregory 3,4, 24, 25, 27, 28, 29, 35, 38, 40, 43, 52, 56, 57, 63, 70, 72, 74, 75, 76, 77, 79, 80, 82, 83

Wale, Simon de 4

Wale, Thomas 3, 4, 13, 42, 45, 56, 68, 69, 73, 74, 77, 78, 80

Wale, Mrs Thomas 38

Walle, Arthue Armand 78

Walle, Le Vicomte Patrice 78

Wall, Comte Edward de 78

Walker, Mr 33, 36, 81

Walker, Mrs 82

Walker, Cyril 82

Walker Edward 31, 56, 82

Walker, Joe 25, 32, 82, 83

Walker, Percy 39, 82

Walle, Hugh de 73

Walle, Simon de 73

Walle, Walter de 73

Waltham, Mrs 67

Walton, Baron de 89

Walton, Mary 16, 89

Walton, William 66, 88, 89

Ward, Lizzie 29

Wardell, Rev Thomas 65

Warner, Rev Marmaduke 81

Watkins, Edward 30

Watson family 67

Watson, Emily 46

Watson, Frederick 46

Watson, James 46

Watson, Tilly 46

Watson, William 37, 38, 46, 48, 58

Watts family 29

Webb, Mr 50

Webb, Arthur 39

Webb, Fanny 39

Webb, George 39

Webb, Mrs George 39, 51

Webb, Henry 39

Webb, Jane 39

Webb, John 39

Webb, Jonas 7

Webb, Kate 39

Webb, Katherine 39

Webb, Nelly 39

Webb, William 29

Webster, Kate 37, 54

West, Sir Edward 74, 76

West, Fanny 72, 74, 76

West, Lucretia 76

Westwood family 40

Whalley, Col 73

Whateley, Archbishop 17, 24

Whateley, Charles 24, 73

Whateley, Frederick 24

Whateley, Henrietta 24, 73, 74

Wherry, Dr 25

Whitechurch, Mr 41, 53, 54, 55, 67

Whitechurch, Mrs 53

Whitechurch, Percy 53, 54

Whitehead, Rev F.W.52

Whitmore, Mr 7, 30, 38

Whitmore, Miss 28

Whybro Edward 30, 46, 51, 52, 53, 61

Whybro, Sarah 54

Wibdy, Mr 46, 50

Wibdy, Nelly 54

Wiffen, Mr 35

Wiffen, George 35

Wiffen, Nelly 35

Wigmore family 11, 12

Wigmore, Ann 27

Wigmore, Gilbert 27

Wigmore, Rev Gilbert 65, 87

Wilberforce, William 86

Wilbourne, Rev George 65

Wiles, Mr 28

Wilkinson family 84

Wilkinson, Anna 54

Williams, Mr 30, 43

William the Conqueror 73, 78

William III 78

Williams, Mr 56, 79

Willis family 17, 53, 58

Willis, Amyas 77

Willis, Cecil 77

Willis, Capt Charles 77

Willis, Capt Frederick 78

Willis, Gerald 77

Willis, Henry 82

Willis, Hilda 77

Willis, Horace 72, 77

Willis, Hugh 77

Willis, Isabella 27, 35, 77

Willis, Capt John 77

Willis, Mildred 72, 82

Willis, Reginald 77, 78

Willis, Dr Sherlock 35, 77

Willis, Mrs Sherlock 35, 74, 77, 81

Wilson, Mr 46, 53, 54

Wilson, Elizabeth 59

Wilson, Lavinia 59

Winston, Mr 54

Wisbey family 67

Wisbey, Mrs J 37, 38, 44, 45

Wisbey, Alice 45

Wisbey, John 24, 37, 45

Wisbey, Laura 45

Wisbey, Rachael 29

Wisbey, Thomas 45

Wisbey, William 45, 48

Wood, Col 26, 30, 31, 32

Wood, Mr 40

Wood Mrs T 26, 30, 34, 39, 81

Woodgate, Cristofer 61

Wright, Mr 54, 86

Wright, Martin 7

Wright, Mary 32,

Wrotham, Mr 24

Wryesle, Henry, Earl of Southampton 61

Wysham, Mrs 52

 

Y

Young family 18

Yiels, Mr 50

Yorke, Campbell 75, 81

Yorke, A